$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romas
Singapore
Jan 2, 2013

Eventful Family Holiday

The hotel provides complimentary breakfast of continental bakery, something which is not common for tourist hotels in America I would say. Hotel location is within walking distance to downtown Union Square and City Hall, which is very convenient for shopping and typical tourist leisure walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SF- traveller
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 10, 2010

Opal-Strong Smell

It was eeh! It was raining and we were told to park at the AMC parking lot where the price was changed overnight! We ended up paying more that what the hotel had given us. Also, the hotel has a very strong smell...I can't quite describe it...but it is strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

AMC theatre is right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Itstu
Business
atlanta,ga
May 14, 2011

San Franisco hotel

Seen a lot of San Fransico in three days, convent location easy secured hotel. Staff was plensant and very helpful .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hanford, Ca
Nov 17, 2009

Just okay

A pleasant walk to Union Square and a great location to public transportation if going anywhere else in this great city! If you get a room on the same side of the movie house it can get noisy. Although this hotel is clean it is need of new carpet in rooms and new mattress's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dissapointed in San Fran
Business
Georgia
Feb 18, 2011

Uhh, good location?

The location downtown wasn't bad. Tommy's Joynt across the street had some really good food. That was about it on wins. You could hear through the walls easily, the shower was good if you are under 5'5", the breakfast was pretty bad even for continental, lots of homeless around and parking at $27 per night is a rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street to Tommys instead of Mels downstairs. Mels was overpriced and nothing special.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dottorf83
Business
Torino, Italy
Nov 26, 2009

Very bad district, parking charge

The hotel was nice, we booked it at a very good price,less than 60$/night but...when we arrived there they told us that the parking was not free but was 30$/day more! so our good deal went to the hell, we had to pay 90$ a day for a very very bad located hotel, in the most dangerous district of San Francisco. The room was clean, the personal was quite freindly and the breakfast good. Just we were searching for a cheap hotel and this was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Singapore
Jun 7, 2009

good service bad room

Everything about the stay that i disliked is described by what i liked and disliked about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stoclton , CA
May 23, 2011

Nice place, good service, but........

The opal is a fine hotel. The immediate area gives you a lot of what you need to have fun without even traveling more than 5 blocks. There is night clubs, dance clubs, crepe lounge, good food and some shopping behind it on Polk. Feel secure, and parking is good. Having said that, our stay was terrible. Not to the fault of The opal, but 20+ 18 year old check in and cause nothing short of chaos for the entire night. I called down 3 times, and was informed the cops were coming. It took 4 hours to get control of this, including me threatening to handle it myself. They comped our room for that night and the general manager was very accommodating to make this right. None the less, we were a wreck the entire next day because we didn't get any sleep. I would stay there again but not in the back courtyard area around the parking, that is a joke out there. I gave the staff 2 stars because they were not in any way prepared or capable of handling the chaos that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Polk St. behind the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 27, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel location is excellent. It is walking distance to all the attractions. The staff was very helpful and the continental breakfast was very convenient. We were pleased until we found bed bugs. Even though this hotel is clean, they still have the infestation which is hard to get rid of. The hotel staff did their best to get us a new room (upgraded to a suite) but it was still disturbing. The area outside the hotel at night is very sketchy...we saw prostitutes only two streets down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You will walk a lot in San Francisco no matter what. This hotel was in a GREAT location, close city hall, the Painted ladies, North Beach, Lombard Street, we even walked to the Full House, house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Verdun
Sep 14, 2008

you get what you pay for

The Oval in San Francisco was inexpensive for a room in San Francisco but I understood why as soon as I opened my room. I'm not generally picky, but this room smelled bad, even if I left the door and windows open. The toilet didn't flush properly, lights were burnt out, and there was no hot water the entire 4 days I was there. Location wise, its a bit of a walk from anything interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

movie theatre within 500 ft. 20 min walk to union square or nob hill, 25 min to china town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
westchester, NY
Feb 2, 2011

good location, average hotel

this hotel is in a great location but is a non-frills, really ordinary place. rooms are old-fashioned, small tvs, noisy fan in bathrooms, no bathtubs, bed linen was not too comfortable (itchy & hard)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the hop-on, hop off bus leaves near the hotel. $35 for a 2 day pass, well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top