$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
718 out of 718
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CB Business traveler
Business
Marblehead, MA
Jan 14, 2013

Tired, needs updating

I stayed four nights at the Opal recently. I found the hotel decor in need of updating. My room was generally clean with the decor (carpet, furniture, bed) in need of updating. It also had an unpleasant odor, similar to one after your house is fumigated. Given all this, I was disappointed in the accommodations and will not stay again at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texannyc
Business
New York, ny
Oct 8, 2013

Decent place for a little too much **

I believe that the hotel was overpriced for what it offered but the fact that there were two large medical conferences in town that weekend I'll give it a break. Compared to other places that weekend it probably was a good deal. The continental breakfast was a little light on pastry choices, bread or bagel or muffin but was adequate. Good location and easily accessible to public transit, and not too far (10-15 min walk) to Market Street. Overall I'd say it's a decent place in a good location, and if rates aren't jacked due to an extra busy convention weekend, probably a decent deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dirt man
Business
Roseville,Ca.
Jan 18, 2010

stuff

Great spot if you like staying at Grandmas house. Great place for a parking ticket $73 just to check in $25 more for their safe parking I spent more in parking than the room. Close to all the bums.and strip joints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

set up parking before hand . so you dont get hammered like me.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 15, 2010

The Good and the Bad

This hotel was not very nice at all and not in a great neighborhood. The rooms were small but the were clean. Overall had a very old run down feel. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SF- traveller
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 10, 2010

Opal-Strong Smell

It was eeh! It was raining and we were told to park at the AMC parking lot where the price was changed overnight! We ended up paying more that what the hotel had given us. Also, the hotel has a very strong smell...I can't quite describe it...but it is strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

AMC theatre is right next door.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Itstu
Business
atlanta,ga
May 14, 2011

San Franisco hotel

Seen a lot of San Fransico in three days, convent location easy secured hotel. Staff was plensant and very helpful .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hanford, Ca
Nov 17, 2009

Just okay

A pleasant walk to Union Square and a great location to public transportation if going anywhere else in this great city! If you get a room on the same side of the movie house it can get noisy. Although this hotel is clean it is need of new carpet in rooms and new mattress's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dissapointed in San Fran
Business
Georgia
Feb 18, 2011

Uhh, good location?

The location downtown wasn't bad. Tommy's Joynt across the street had some really good food. That was about it on wins. You could hear through the walls easily, the shower was good if you are under 5'5", the breakfast was pretty bad even for continental, lots of homeless around and parking at $27 per night is a rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk across the street to Tommys instead of Mels downstairs. Mels was overpriced and nothing special.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dottorf83
Business
Torino, Italy
Nov 26, 2009

Very bad district, parking charge

The hotel was nice, we booked it at a very good price,less than 60$/night but...when we arrived there they told us that the parking was not free but was 30$/day more! so our good deal went to the hell, we had to pay 90$ a day for a very very bad located hotel, in the most dangerous district of San Francisco. The room was clean, the personal was quite freindly and the breakfast good. Just we were searching for a cheap hotel and this was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Singapore
Jun 7, 2009

good service bad room

Everything about the stay that i disliked is described by what i liked and disliked about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top