$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dottorf83
Business
Torino, Italy
Nov 26, 2009

Very bad district, parking charge

The hotel was nice, we booked it at a very good price,less than 60$/night but...when we arrived there they told us that the parking was not free but was 30$/day more! so our good deal went to the hell, we had to pay 90$ a day for a very very bad located hotel, in the most dangerous district of San Francisco. The room was clean, the personal was quite freindly and the breakfast good. Just we were searching for a cheap hotel and this was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Singapore
Jun 7, 2009

good service bad room

Everything about the stay that i disliked is described by what i liked and disliked about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stoclton , CA
May 23, 2011

Nice place, good service, but........

The opal is a fine hotel. The immediate area gives you a lot of what you need to have fun without even traveling more than 5 blocks. There is night clubs, dance clubs, crepe lounge, good food and some shopping behind it on Polk. Feel secure, and parking is good. Having said that, our stay was terrible. Not to the fault of The opal, but 20+ 18 year old check in and cause nothing short of chaos for the entire night. I called down 3 times, and was informed the cops were coming. It took 4 hours to get control of this, including me threatening to handle it myself. They comped our room for that night and the general manager was very accommodating to make this right. None the less, we were a wreck the entire next day because we didn't get any sleep. I would stay there again but not in the back courtyard area around the parking, that is a joke out there. I gave the staff 2 stars because they were not in any way prepared or capable of handling the chaos that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Polk St. behind the hotel

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 27, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel location is excellent. It is walking distance to all the attractions. The staff was very helpful and the continental breakfast was very convenient. We were pleased until we found bed bugs. Even though this hotel is clean, they still have the infestation which is hard to get rid of. The hotel staff did their best to get us a new room (upgraded to a suite) but it was still disturbing. The area outside the hotel at night is very sketchy...we saw prostitutes only two streets down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You will walk a lot in San Francisco no matter what. This hotel was in a GREAT location, close city hall, the Painted ladies, North Beach, Lombard Street, we even walked to the Full House, house.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Verdun
Sep 14, 2008

you get what you pay for

The Oval in San Francisco was inexpensive for a room in San Francisco but I understood why as soon as I opened my room. I'm not generally picky, but this room smelled bad, even if I left the door and windows open. The toilet didn't flush properly, lights were burnt out, and there was no hot water the entire 4 days I was there. Location wise, its a bit of a walk from anything interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

movie theatre within 500 ft. 20 min walk to union square or nob hill, 25 min to china town

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
westchester, NY
Feb 2, 2011

good location, average hotel

this hotel is in a great location but is a non-frills, really ordinary place. rooms are old-fashioned, small tvs, noisy fan in bathrooms, no bathtubs, bed linen was not too comfortable (itchy & hard)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the hop-on, hop off bus leaves near the hotel. $35 for a 2 day pass, well worth it.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 14, 2011

Only ok location, smelly room

Friendly staff Decent breakfast Smelly and ugly room Uncomfortable beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just another San Fran Tourist
Business
OR
Apr 5, 2010

Really?

We stayed on a Monday night. We ate at the diner that is attached to the hotel. The food was not good and the service was awful. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, but parking was outrageous--$25 plus a parking tax. The architecture of the building was pretty, but we quickly found out that walking around the area after dark is not such a good idea. I was glad the car was parked in the lot so I could guarantee it would be there in the morning. The hotel would be fine for a business trip stay, but I wouldn't recommend it for tourist trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 10, 2007

The room was adequate. ...

The room was adequate. The continental breakfast was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on a busy street with a cinema next door

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
JACKSONVILLE FLORIDA
May 16, 2011

NOT AS IT SEEMS

THE PICTURES ON THE SITE ARE BEAUTIFUL BUT THE INSIDE WAS LESS THAN TO BE DESIRED. THE LOBBY IS NICE BUT THE ROOMS SMELLED FOR THEY HAD SPRAYED THE ROOM THAT MORNING FOR PEST AND TRIED TO COVER THE SMELL WITH A CARPET DEODARANT ALSO THE ROOM HAD NO ACTUAL SPACE FOR OUR CLOTHES ; THE ROOM THAT WE HAD WAS SET UP FOR OLD PEOPLE THE MATTRESS WAS OF LOW QUALITY AND THE BATHROOM HAD DUCT TAPE ON THE PIPES UNDERNEATH ; THE SHOWER HAD HARDLY NO PRESSURE AND THE SHOWER HEAD ITSELF CAME TO MY CHIN AND IM 5.7..THE ALSO CHARGE YOU 33.00 A DAY TO PARK.UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR CAR ON THE STREETS OUTSIDE[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PLAN YOUR TRIP SO THAT YOU STAY IN THE ROOM AS LITTLE AS POSSIBLE. OR ELSE FIND SOME WHERE ELSE TO STAY TO ENJOY YOUR TRIP BETTER.

Back to menu Return to top