$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Combs
Lenoir City, TN
Apr 12, 2014

The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and strived to meet our needs. Would return again and would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Opal is centrally located the major attractions in the downtown area. Very easy to use bus, cable cars to get where you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Susan A from LA
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 7, 2014

Opal Hotel SF Review

The Opal Hotel in San Francisco was not what I am accustomed to. The hotel is older and definitely needs a more modern upgrade. The location was a distance from where the event we came in to town for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Union Square provides excellent shopping choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jemwatso
Business
Castro Valley, California
Aug 2, 2014

Not what I expected

I was hesitant to book a hotel I hadn't stayed at or knew someone that had in San Francisco. In addition, one that is in the Tenderloin (even if on the edge). But, afterwards I am glad that I tried this hotel. Rooms were nice, lobby was nice and "secured" (see below), and the hotel was quiet even in the Tenderloin. Also in a great location to take Muni or use a ride share (off major streets). Down sides: cleanliness left something to be desired, the "secured" locked door was opened by the front desk without actually speaking to you on the intercom--a feeling of more for show--and the staff at the front desk moves fairly slow so there was a wait to check-in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travel dad 14
Business
san fran, cali
Aug 2, 2014

deal gone wrong

booked room on deal last min, was giving smallest room,no fridge, no microwave, elevator was broken. Had my 1 yr old daughter with and wasn't adequately accommodated. all in all its a dated hotel. will never stay again. best thing about place is its access to Mel's diner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's Famous Diner is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whatstheretodohere
Business
Balitmore, MD
Aug 1, 2014

Nice place, even nicer price.

We found this hotel late---just a few days prior to arrival---for way less than the surrounding places. The staff was very friendly, and the hotel offered a complimentary wine and cheese sampling the night of our arrival. The amenities are few, but we were there to see the city, not the inside of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Globe.trotter
Business
Northern VA
Jul 31, 2014

Quaint Old Hotel

Upon first glance in the lobby one is greeted with Stain Glass doors off to the side and a lobby desk that looks like a concession stand from an old Theatre, but then I read the history and discovered it is an old hotel. The room was large, with a nice sitting area, but it could use a face lift. It was clean just worn. So overall an Ok place to stay, but not amazing. Things to be aware of...housekeeping arrived at 4 pm a little late as we were back and getting ready for the evening. Parking is $40+ a day, steep even from an east coast perspective.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Feder
Business
World citizen
Jul 29, 2014

Average hotel

This is a place to sleep, rooms are clean, but is too dated, the floor carpet had multiple stains and it makes look the room a bit nasty. It's really well located, 7 blocks/union square. Personal is awesome specialliy Maria, she is great. Breakfast is free and is good (eggs, beagles, bread, muffins, coffe, yogurt, juices, multiple fruits) also free wi-fi. Personally I think this is a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

De afghanan Restaurant, walkign distance, excellent middle east food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF trippers
Business
Dallas tx
Jul 22, 2014

romantic get away

we had a great stay and wonderful hotel. please be sure to plan ur arrival around 3pm no earlier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duncan from Chicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 21, 2014

Worth the Value

The rooms were small and there were some dodgy neighborhoods you wouldn't want to walk around in late at night just to the west of the hotel, but the free breakfast and Wi-Fi in the hotel were great. The hotel was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. It is also one of the most affordable hotels in the heart of San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Tommy's Joynt across the street for a great meal too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ProudPop
Business
San Francisco
Jul 18, 2014

not happy

son was really sick and waited for an hour for a plunger. silly as it seems you wait 15 minutes then another...go downstairs to find they have no idea what your talking about. i asked for a place that included parking but $41,00 later ....for the variance in price I probably could have upgraded to a better hotel for a little more money....it was ok but could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

check out day passes, or coupons...very expensive town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cherylynn
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 14, 2014

Great for our needs

We have family nearby and always stay at this hotel. Free breakfast is great. Staff is helpful and attentive. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top