$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
709 out of 709
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Chomak
Santa Rosa
Nov 13, 2012

Great Place and not expensive either!

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was perfect for our family of 4. It had two queen beds (which is hard to find in SF) and a queen sofa sleeper in a small sitting area and a large walk in closet!. Lots of room!!!!! As others have said, it is an older hotel so don't expect modern furniture or TV, but TV reception was great. Reason I left a 4 star for cleanliness was because the pillows were sub-par on comfort and they appeared old. The pillow cases were clean though so not to worry! And the blanket in the sofa sleeper was a bit gross, so we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was great! Yogurt, bagels, toast, fruit, mufifins, hot chocolate and good coffee!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying with a car, the meters are free on Sundays. You can also park for free in a yellow zone after 6PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Famtrav45
Business
Stockton
Sep 9, 2014

Old refurbished charming hotel

Great hotel for the price. Room is on the smaller scale but the bathroom was very nice. Breakfast was chaotic because of overcrowding and limited. The staff was amazing and there was a gym even. The building was built in 1907 which brings tons of charm to the hotel. Location was good but be aware of your surroundings at night, as always in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ladybug262
Business
San Francisco
Sep 9, 2014

Nice night stay

My experience in this hotel was really good. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Commuter
Business
Pacific Grove, CA
Sep 8, 2014

Overnight weekend trip

We drove up for the day and stayed one night to visit Alcatraz and the Wharf area. We chose the hotel due to the very favorable price compared to other places with comparable ratings in the area. We didn't want to drive in the city. We parked our car next door for $26 vs. at the hotel for $40. This was the recommendation given by the pleasant clerk who checked us in at the desk. The bus stop was right outside the front of the hotel and took us directly to the wharf. No driving or expensive taxis. We had a room with a king size bed. Very clean, quiet enough, and with all the basic amenities. The staff was so very friendly, helpful and patient for giving out tourist information. The continental breakfast was very basic including coffee, tea, juice, bagels, sweets, fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kamilyon
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Sep 7, 2014

End of summer break

I had to switch rooms immediately because the first one was moldy smelling. Staff was great about the switch and the next one was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
craiggus
Business
vero beach, fl
Sep 7, 2014

great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rph'a mom
Business
Fla
Sep 6, 2014

San Francisco Labor Day weekend

Loved the hotel, it had interesting design elements. But, go to sleep early--about 0330 the garbage trucks move through the city and it sounds like a tornado hit. Banging metal, high torque engines. I thought it was bad weather-- looked outside, dry as a bone. Also, take a taxi after dark. Even the shopping area at Macys and Nordstrom are infested by crazy looking street folk picking through the trash, and no sane person would walk or bus from the Parrish street station to the hotel. Rough looking people. Good location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 47 bus back and forth to Fishermans Wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekenders12312312
Business
fresno, ca
Sep 1, 2014

Weekend Trip

Hotel was average accommodations, breakfast was nice and plentiful though. The area is pretty sketchy, especially at night! Lots of homeless people and drug addicts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sketchy neighborhood
Business
East coast
Aug 30, 2014

eh

The hotel is not located in the best of areas. During the day it is fine buy at night the area was very full of homeless people. The hotel was clean and the room was okay but the beds were hard and very uncomfortable. I alsi had to go outside to get to my room and at night i heard every noise. My stay was fine but I don't think I would recommend it. There are other good hotels in better more convenient areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fei Chang
Business
Davis, California
Aug 22, 2014

good service

They provide good services and fairly spacious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
idk2000
Business
NJ
Aug 19, 2014

Nothing fancy but very good for the price

Staff were very helpful, continental breakfast was good enough, room was clean, hotel was a short walk to Union Square and lots of other good stuff. Only complaint is the air conditioning/ vents were super loud. But a very nice hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top