$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
719 out of 719
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete Zahut
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2013

Opal in early June

Excellent value, excellent location, excellent staff...room was clean and spacious (king-size bed, non-smoking, facing south on 4th floor)...staff was highly professional, courteous, and answered all our questions...breakfast was filling and simple (hard-boiled eggs, toast, bagels, cream cheese) and allowed us to save money for a nicer lunch...close to public transportation (including Muni buses and California/Van Ness cable car terminus a few blocks away)...EXTREMELY EASY ACCESS to FIsherman's Wharf, Civic Center/Union Square, and other locations. We were able to go to the wine hour on Wednesdays 5-6 where there were tons of cheese, crackers, and red and white wines (only a handful of people were there and the staff gave us the already opened bottles after the hour ended). As for location, it is indeed on the edge of the Tenderloin, but unlike other guests, we did not see or experience any 'unsavory characters' either during the day or at night (we stayed at Opal mid-week in early June). Absolutely plan to stay there again for our next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of cheap and filling ethnic (Thai, Indian) restaurants a few blocks east in Tenderloin (if you're willing to tolerate the sight of a few homeless people).

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gsndrs
Business
Coquille, OR
Oct 31, 2014

Adequate digs for the conference

The room and bathroom were clean, but with a bit of a "faded glory" ambience. Staff were very courteous. The breakfast was a bit disappointing for someone who wants to eat "whole foods, plant based." Adequate, but not amazing. Close to many ethnic restaurants, which I enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Venice
Business
Venice, CA
Oct 10, 2014

Definitely a solid overall choice

The positives of The Opal include the very helpful and friendly staff, the overall value proposition of the place, and the free Wi-Fi. A decent if not terribly exciting continental breakfast is also worthy of a thumbs up. While small, the room my girlfriend and I stayed in was quite clean. It was also surprisingly quiet, which was a definite plus. One unexpected positive was a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour on Wednesday afternoon. We didn't ask if that's a regular feature, but at any rate it was appreciated. The flipside is that the location might be a little edgy for some. One other relatively minor downside was that the bathroom in our room had no fan. All in all, a good choice for the budget-minded traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rangergirl5
Business
California
Oct 8, 2014

Under amenities parking was listed, however it was an additional $41 (plus $50 deposit for remote)

Sketchy block, annex room outside A/C didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Continental breakfast free offered, is dented fruit, stale bread and boiled eggs. Luckily there is a Mel's diner attached to the hotel, but they charge $12 for an omelet.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 1, 2014

Great for sensitive people

This hotel is 100% smoke and fragrance free. I was a bit nervous when I threw a stinky item in the trash. They even have no smell soap and shampoo, so if you are fragrance sensitive, this hotel is for you! I did have a temperature issue with the shower and couldn't use it. The location is wonderful! Get the free map of San Francisco and ride the city bus! there is a few near the hotel! Many conveniences are walking distance, as well as some of the best food places in town! OH, if you like fun houses as I do, you should use the stairs! I wish I though to try it earlier! The elevators are very nice, but the stairs is fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the city bus! They are very helpful to get you to the sights you want, like china town, Fisherman's wharf, the golden gate bridge, and the large park with all the great museums and gardens! There is even a trolley ride a short walk from the hotel. Nice, even at night!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerAsia
Business
SFO
Sep 26, 2014

Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with variety of tea bags. Hotel would need renovation soon to keep up with other hotels. Staffs were nice, beds were comfortable. Sofa bed was not very comfortable but it was sofa bed so no surprise there. It was quiet as well at room 123.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bar bob
Business
Pa
Sep 18, 2014

Nice hotel, terrible location

The Opal Hotel was a pretty nice hotel just was in a terrible location. The staff was nice and the hotel was clean. However it is located in what is known as the "tenderloin" district. Basically what this means is you are surrounded by drug dealers, prostitites, and homeless people. This is not an area you want to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
linzi
Business
san diego, ca
Sep 16, 2014

Decent

Great value but questionable hotel location and room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Small room

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crochetsmith
Business
Oceanside, CA
Sep 13, 2014

A Pleasant Stay

This is a nice hotel in a very good location. The room was not spacious, but the bed was very comfortable. Mel's Diner next door has good food and the hotel is in walking distance from many other good restaurants as well as from the opera house where we were headed each night. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner is literally right next door.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MARTUCH
Business
RIVERSIDE,CA
Sep 10, 2014

OK FOR 2 NIGHTS. ROOM WAS SMALL

STAFF WAS HELPFUL. I DON'T WANT TO SAY ANYTHING ELSE AND IT KEEPS BRINGING ME BACK TO "IT'S TOO SHORT"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
international nomad
Business
Belgium
Sep 10, 2014

Better than your average 3-star

This was the best deal I could find in SF, I couldn't believe how expensive every hotel was. This hotel was still a bit more than I wanted to pay for a 3-star, but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was included, and though not amazing, was plentiful. The free coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 was a nice touch, the room and lobby were always clean. The area still has a reputation for being bad, but it was gentrified sgnificantly. There are homeless everywhere in SF, but at no time did I feel unsafe. Tommy's is across the street, with great buffalo chili and other dishes, and De Afghanan, which serves excellent Afghan food, is around the corner. Polk St nearby has plenty of bars and shops. A little out of the way, but all in all I was quite happy with my experience at The Opal and I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a relatively affordable option. and FYI, the free internet connection, as opposed to the one that costs $5, was absolutely fine for all the normal facebooking and email.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's across the street is an institution with excellent meats and affordable. De Afghanan is around the corner and serves excellent Afghan food. Philz Coffee is excellent for hand brewed coffee with unique flavors and an SF native. Polk St has tons of shops and interesting businesses and bars. The area is not dangerous, despite what some people say (it was maybe 10 or 15 years ago).

Back to menu Return to top