$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MARTUCH
Business
RIVERSIDE,CA
Sep 10, 2014

OK FOR 2 NIGHTS. ROOM WAS SMALL

STAFF WAS HELPFUL. I DON'T WANT TO SAY ANYTHING ELSE AND IT KEEPS BRINGING ME BACK TO "IT'S TOO SHORT"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
international nomad
Business
Belgium
Sep 10, 2014

Better than your average 3-star

This was the best deal I could find in SF, I couldn't believe how expensive every hotel was. This hotel was still a bit more than I wanted to pay for a 3-star, but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was included, and though not amazing, was plentiful. The free coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 was a nice touch, the room and lobby were always clean. The area still has a reputation for being bad, but it was gentrified sgnificantly. There are homeless everywhere in SF, but at no time did I feel unsafe. Tommy's is across the street, with great buffalo chili and other dishes, and De Afghanan, which serves excellent Afghan food, is around the corner. Polk St nearby has plenty of bars and shops. A little out of the way, but all in all I was quite happy with my experience at The Opal and I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a relatively affordable option. and FYI, the free internet connection, as opposed to the one that costs $5, was absolutely fine for all the normal facebooking and email.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's across the street is an institution with excellent meats and affordable. De Afghanan is around the corner and serves excellent Afghan food. Philz Coffee is excellent for hand brewed coffee with unique flavors and an SF native. Polk St has tons of shops and interesting businesses and bars. The area is not dangerous, despite what some people say (it was maybe 10 or 15 years ago).

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Famtrav45
Business
Stockton
Sep 9, 2014

Old refurbished charming hotel

Great hotel for the price. Room is on the smaller scale but the bathroom was very nice. Breakfast was chaotic because of overcrowding and limited. The staff was amazing and there was a gym even. The building was built in 1907 which brings tons of charm to the hotel. Location was good but be aware of your surroundings at night, as always in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ladybug262
Business
San Francisco
Sep 9, 2014

Nice night stay

My experience in this hotel was really good. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Commuter
Business
Pacific Grove, CA
Sep 8, 2014

Overnight weekend trip

We drove up for the day and stayed one night to visit Alcatraz and the Wharf area. We chose the hotel due to the very favorable price compared to other places with comparable ratings in the area. We didn't want to drive in the city. We parked our car next door for $26 vs. at the hotel for $40. This was the recommendation given by the pleasant clerk who checked us in at the desk. The bus stop was right outside the front of the hotel and took us directly to the wharf. No driving or expensive taxis. We had a room with a king size bed. Very clean, quiet enough, and with all the basic amenities. The staff was so very friendly, helpful and patient for giving out tourist information. The continental breakfast was very basic including coffee, tea, juice, bagels, sweets, fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kamilyon
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Sep 7, 2014

End of summer break

I had to switch rooms immediately because the first one was moldy smelling. Staff was great about the switch and the next one was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
craiggus
Business
vero beach, fl
Sep 7, 2014

great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rph'a mom
Business
Fla
Sep 6, 2014

San Francisco Labor Day weekend

Loved the hotel, it had interesting design elements. But, go to sleep early--about 0330 the garbage trucks move through the city and it sounds like a tornado hit. Banging metal, high torque engines. I thought it was bad weather-- looked outside, dry as a bone. Also, take a taxi after dark. Even the shopping area at Macys and Nordstrom are infested by crazy looking street folk picking through the trash, and no sane person would walk or bus from the Parrish street station to the hotel. Rough looking people. Good location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 47 bus back and forth to Fishermans Wharf.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekenders12312312
Business
fresno, ca
Sep 1, 2014

Weekend Trip

Hotel was average accommodations, breakfast was nice and plentiful though. The area is pretty sketchy, especially at night! Lots of homeless people and drug addicts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sketchy neighborhood
Business
East coast
Aug 30, 2014

eh

The hotel is not located in the best of areas. During the day it is fine buy at night the area was very full of homeless people. The hotel was clean and the room was okay but the beds were hard and very uncomfortable. I alsi had to go outside to get to my room and at night i heard every noise. My stay was fine but I don't think I would recommend it. There are other good hotels in better more convenient areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top