$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Oct 1, 2007

Good Location

This hotel would receive 4 stars for the location and quality of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 1, 2007

friendly

I think was a very goog experience because the hotel was very good located, and the staff was so friendly with us and gave us some very good recomendations por attrations and dinner. We dislike with the room cleaners because just make beds and nothing more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafe next door open 6 until 2 and there are many things delicious ?

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 18, 2007

Charming Hotel!

The Opal is a charming, beautiful old hotel! If you're looking for something that reflects San Francisco from colorful past this is the place. The stain glass windows, high ceilings, architecture is wonderful. It's very convenient to everywhere and it's just 8 short blocks - all downhill - to Union Square. We were aware that it's location wasn't the best but we felt quiet safe. I didn't think the room was too small as some other reviews indicated. The walk-in closet was very large and that bathroom was also fairly roomy. The hotel was very well kept - everything worked and it was very clean! The best part of this hotel is the friendly staff....everyone was just wonderful and helpful. It was nice to enjoy breakfast in their beautiful lobby and breakfast room. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to experience the old charm of San Francisco and true customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to shopping, Union Square, restaurants, etc. Public transporation right out the front door.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Aug 16, 2007

Good location...generally friendly staff

The Opal on Van Ness in San Francisco was, for the most part, a great experience. Room was a little small, but since we were there to do the city, it didn't bother us. Continental breakfast was not that great...would recommend heading to Mel's diner (which is actually attached to the hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

very nice, but not the best ever.

The Hotel staff was extreemly helpful and courteous. the hotel was not anything spectacular but it did remind me more of home (on the inside) The homeless people were very helpful getting us into the hotel parking lot and respected the hotel boundaries by staying outside. What can i say... minus the homeless population this hotel was the great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 3, 2007

Nice hotel for the money

The night staff was friendly. One bad thing about this hotel was the $25 parking per night. The room was okay but small. In addition, we got one that was considered to be a bigger room. (Handicapped facilities) but the only thing that was big was the bathroom, which smelled bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a movie theatre and a diner right next door. We called in the order and had our teen children pick up the order.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 28, 2007

Very good option

If the room would be larger would be better. The opal is a very good option in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The opal is well located for reataurants, shops and entreteiment

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 30, 2007

Reasonably priced

The Opal hotel was comfortable and the price was exceptional. I read other reviews prior to going so I was aware that the hotel is older and the bathrooms were rather small. While I found this to be true, it was not much of an inconvenience. We did not travel with children so the fact that the bathroom was small was of little significance. Since our plans were to experience San Francisco, we really didn't plan to use many hotel amenities such as pool, etc so I cannot comment on those. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. I was already aware of the hotel parking fee of $25.00/day. The free internet access was a pleasant surprise. Overall, I found this hotel to be a wonderful find at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 21, 2007

BEWARE OF HIDDEN COST

WE WERE TOTALLY SUPPRISE THAT WE HAD TO PAY $25 PER DAY TO PARK AT THE HOTEL. ALL OTHER HOTELS IN THE NEIGBORHOOD WERE FREE INCLUDING THE ONE NEXT DOOR. WE HAD END UP TO PAID OVER $100 FOR THE PARKING AT THE HOTEL. I THINK THAT NOT RIGHT FOR CUSTOMER TO PAY THAT MUCH FOR THE PARKING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 18, 2007

Great Location Hotel

This was a nice hotel to stay at for the money. Location could not have been better. Staff was very friendly and hospitable upon check-in and out. Rooms were a bit small, however, since we only stayed overnight, it wasn't too uncomfortable. Cozy and clean, my family and I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is next door, and is so close, you can walk from the hotel into the eating establishment via a connecting door! Great all American food with friendly staff

Back to menu Return to top