$141 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
885 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (885)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
885 out of 885
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Fran Kid
Aniwa,WI
Nov 18, 2009

Value stay

I thought it was a very good value for the money. My room on the fourth floor facing a side street was very queit. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hanford, Ca
Nov 17, 2009

Just okay

A pleasant walk to Union Square and a great location to public transportation if going anywhere else in this great city! If you get a room on the same side of the movie house it can get noisy. Although this hotel is clean it is need of new carpet in rooms and new mattress's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bearsfn
tucson, az
Nov 17, 2009

Great experience

This hotel was in a great central location. All of the staff were extremely friendly from the maintenance staff to the desk staff. This hotel couldn't be beat for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get to know the bus routes-you don't need to waste your time with the taxis!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hanford, Ca
Nov 17, 2009

Just okay

A pleasant walk to Union Square and a great location to public transportation if going anywhere else in this great city! If you get a room on the same side of the movie house it can get noisy. Although this hotel is clean it is need of new carpet in rooms and new mattress's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bearsfn
tucson, az
Nov 17, 2009

Great experience

This hotel was in a great central location. All of the staff were extremely friendly from the maintenance staff to the desk staff. This hotel couldn't be beat for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get to know the bus routes-you don't need to waste your time with the taxis!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elenarose
Seattle
Nov 16, 2009

Clean, good location, friendly, basic

The Opal staff - at the desk, in the breakfast room,and on the floor - were consistently helpful and friendly. Being a single woman, I appreciated their tips to get around San Francisco in a safe way. The room was basic, clean, quiet. One more bedside lamp would have been perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

En route to Chinatown in the mornings, you can stop by Grace Cathedral to walk the outside labryinth and sit in the green park facing it where women are practicing their T'ai Chi and Quigong. Exhilerating on a sunny day.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elenarose
Seattle
Nov 16, 2009

Clean, good location, friendly, basic

The Opal staff - at the desk, in the breakfast room,and on the floor - were consistently helpful and friendly. Being a single woman, I appreciated their tips to get around San Francisco in a safe way. The room was basic, clean, quiet. One more bedside lamp would have been perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

En route to Chinatown in the mornings, you can stop by Grace Cathedral to walk the outside labryinth and sit in the green park facing it where women are practicing their T'ai Chi and Quigong. Exhilerating on a sunny day.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miz Marv
Markham, Ontario
Nov 12, 2009

Great Experience

I arrived on the red-eye from Honolulu about 5am. I got to the hotel about 6am with the intention of storing my bags until the 3pm check in time. I explained to the front desk clerk, I believe her name is [...], that my flight arrived very early and asked if I could store my luggage. She checked me in early, gave me an upgraded room and invited me to have complimentary breakfast. She asked what I wanted to do in San Francisco and arranged a couple of tours for me. This was my first trip to San Francisco and based on that experience alone, it won't be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miz Marv
Markham, Ontario
Nov 12, 2009

Great Experience

I arrived on the red-eye from Honolulu about 5am. I got to the hotel about 6am with the intention of storing my bags until the 3pm check in time. I explained to the front desk clerk, I believe her name is [...], that my flight arrived very early and asked if I could store my luggage. She checked me in early, gave me an upgraded room and invited me to have complimentary breakfast. She asked what I wanted to do in San Francisco and arranged a couple of tours for me. This was my first trip to San Francisco and based on that experience alone, it won't be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SanDiego
Nov 11, 2009

Great value

There are numerous bars,restaurants,banks,bakery's,movie theater,within feet of the front door. The hotel was clean and quiet, there is a baby grand piano in the front area it was nice to hear a talented guest perform one afternoon, The complimentary breakfast was a good value too. The staff was very helpful and professional.I will stay in this hotel again there is nothing really bad to say other than the neighborhood at night is a bit sketchy so just becareful. I walked everynight with a friend and we had no issues but this is not the best neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joynt is great and across the street, Mel'sDiner is attached to hotel. around the corner is Cilantro a Mexican eatery Great!, there is pizza all up and down Polk. There are numerous sushi, and Indian, Thai,all sorts of great places.

Back to menu Return to top