$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
631 reviews
Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with... See full review

  • TravelerAsia
  • Sep 26, 2014
great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes See full review

  • craiggus
  • Sep 7, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (631)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
631 out of 631
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale
Aug 12, 2008

My review of The Opal

Luckily found this hotel, although not cheap. Parking is a real PROBLEM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey
Aug 12, 2008

very friendly and helpful

The Opal Hotel is very nice for the price. Clean room, very comfortable beds, nicely furnished and a very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A very short drive to all the best shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocklin, CA
Aug 3, 2008

Great Customer Service

Upon arrival when the Hotel Saw we had small children with us, they tried to move us to a non-smoking room. There were none availiable. So the young lady helping us instead gave us Free parking for our stay. She was very helpful and my Grand Children loved the Hotel. Yes we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Mels dinner just down from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chula Vista
Jul 7, 2008

great location

The opal was a very good hotel. The hotel does need to be remodeled. There was breakfast every morning which consisted of toast, bagel, coffee, jucies and ceral. The room was comfortable, the bathroom was very large. I liked the location and the price for the hotel. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again. Overall the hotel was good. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A restaurant is in the hotel, it was good. I ate there twice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Dirty Rooms

Front desk was not very friendly. Did not offer or asked if we wanted a second room key. The room was very dark. The carpet was old and very dirty. The sheets and blankets had mendings done once too many. They should have been replaced. After the first night, my 3 yr old son's pillow was missing. We had it placed in our bags to ensure it would not be misplaced. It was gone that evening. We had called front desk to inquire if they had found a child's pillow and neither housekeeping nor front desk was helpful. We had explained it to the manager that it was placed in our bags and it had disappeared. The pillows were hand made for my little ones and one was missing from our bags. They did nothing about it. It was nice to have the continental breakfast. Dining area was too small to accommodate all the guests (both inside and outside near front desk). We came home with hives from dirty bed sheets and blankets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Japantown is 5 blocks away. Good walk. Chinatown is easy access to by bus or 14 blocks by foot. Short cab ride to the Pier and Wharf. Mel's dinner is next door and has entrance access in hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 25, 2008

Close to the city

Compared to other options just outside of San Francisco, this is much closer and is very nice. Situated in a somewhat ghetto neighborhood, there is ideal security to the building and the decor was rather elegant. Parking costs a fortune and is very minimal, but definitely worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's Diner next door. Fun and hip for the kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Pleasant
Jun 10, 2008

Nice location and facility

We hvae visited San Francisco many times and have enjoyed staying at different places. We were very satisfied with The Opal, staff was friendly, room was clean, and hotel in a great location. Would recommend this hotel and would like to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pollick Pines
Jun 9, 2008

Clean, Easy access to public transit

We had two rooms. One of the rooms was a suite. The regular room had two double beds and a desk. It had a small bathroom. The suite had two queen beds a desk and a nice sitting area with a couch and chair. It also had a walk in closet. The bathroom was fairly small. Both rooms were very clean. They had a nice continental breakfast downstairs. There is a Mel's Dinner next store with access from the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions. Bus stop is a block away and cable car is a couple blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf is accessible by cable car or taxi. Giants Stadium is a short distance away. We took the bus to the stadium for a $1.50 one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa
May 25, 2008

good location and excellent value

Our experience at the Opal was excellent. The staff let us do an early check-in and also held a key at the desk for another member of our party. The hotel has a Max's diner downstairs, which is open very late, and a movie theater next door, as well as several bus lines just outside. The rooms were small, but comfortable, and very quiet with attractive furnishings. We will absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sonora
May 20, 2008

Great Hotel for Anniversary weekend

Within easy walking distance to Union Square. Bus stop outside of hotel also made other city ventures very convenient. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top