$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 29, 2009

Great Hotel and Location for the Money

I just used my room to sleep since I was out in the city all day - the room was clean, had a desk and free internet service. I would recommend staying here to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Jul 29, 2009

ok

friendly staff. just make sure you have room not facing VAN NESS st. hotel itself is fine. certain area outside hotel u might avoid walking by. of course there is always more than one route to hotel. And lastly, could be 10 to 15 bucks cheaper. Orbitz not always the cheapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

North Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 27, 2009

Friendly staff great value amazing locat

My first trip to San Francisco, the only thing I didn't like was the weather. it was freakishly cold. Great restaurants beautiful parks and friendly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive yourself around it's really easy to navigate this city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 27, 2009

Excellent hotel on a main road

A fine hotel very near public transport on the Van Ness. Not wise to walk to and from the Bart, but a great stay nonetheless. Easy walking distance to Chinatown as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great spots to eat in Chinatown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wrick
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2009

Stay at The OPAL for a nice experience

I was there at SFO for a conference and stayed at The Opal for 4 nights. It was a very nice experience. The price was right and so the was the staff. I stayed in a double queen bed room. It was decent enough for a single person though I thought it would have been a little small for two people. There was a huge rush of tourists in the hotel and the staff maintained the hotel very nicely. Overall a value for money Hotel and yeah they have a free breakfast every morning and there is a diner which is open till late on the 1st floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Run to a nice hotel
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 25, 2009

Not a good stay

I was expecting a four star hotel and this one is maybe a two. It's old with a room that did not provide a view. Everything in the room was old. They offered no return on our funds. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. They are plenty of nice hotel within blocks of this location. I ended up going to the Hilton up the street on my own dime. I would not stay at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at a nice hotel in this area. There are plenty of them including the Hilton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kukitina
Business
seattle,WA
Jul 23, 2009

good enough for the price such a deal!

the location is perfect!! everything is close!! I love that! all the touristic areas such as fisherman wharf(<-I love this place), downtown(hippie area haha)..banks, restaurant, pubs and so on.etc etc very close.Transportation everywhere!!wow!! taxis are super cheap, but if you want to save even more money, you can take public transportation for $2 w/transfer!! such a deal!!Don't forget to bring a sweater because San Francisco has unexpected crazy weather!..they call Indian Summer! windy windy! one day was 70ºF and the next day was 58ºF (<- I am talking about this !)..Hotel..check in at 3pm, check out at noon :P the people is so friendly and helpful! Don't be shy ask them anyquestion they will help you out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego Way
Business
San Diego
Jul 23, 2009

San Francisco Charm

Orbitz could not possibly have been better to me than they were when I checked into this hotel. The checking in process was difficult with The Opal, but the hotel was very charming and staff very polite. The maid service was fantastic! Every night my bed was turned down and had fresh sheets. My room was spotless. The only two small things are first, this hotel is an historic old building, so the elevator is VERY slow. Second, the air conditioning isn't as efficient due to small rooms and arrangement of furniture - even in the hallways the air doesn't feel on even though it is. The temp outside is around 65-70 degrees so, just open the window and let the nice SF Bay breeze cool the room. Then it's all fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous places for evening entertainment literally right next to the hotel. Just bring a friend at night because the area on one side of the street is scary and on the other is nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kukitina
Business
seattle,WA
Jul 23, 2009

good enough for the price such a deal!

the location is perfect!! everything is close!! I love that! all the touristic areas such as fisherman wharf(<-I love this place), downtown(hippie area haha)..banks, restaurant, pubs and so on.etc etc very close.Transportation everywhere!!wow!! taxis are super cheap, but if you want to save even more money, you can take public transportation for $2 w/transfer!! such a deal!!Don't forget to bring a sweater because San Francisco has unexpected crazy weather!..they call Indian Summer! windy windy! one day was 70ºF and the next day was 58ºF (<- I am talking about this !)..Hotel..check in at 3pm, check out at noon :P the people is so friendly and helpful! Don't be shy ask them anyquestion they will help you out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Las tres new city chicas
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 22, 2009

Ummm....not that bad....

Bums roam around The Opal, still that is the case for most of San Francisco. I traveled with two other ladies, we never felt anxiety about traveling around SF. BUT I would not recommend this hotel if you are traveling alone. The Opal is conveniently located around bars, and places to eat. We took several cab rides around SF and on average it cost us $10 (including tip), very convenient when splitting it among three people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take a laptop!! The Opal has free internet! You can look up things to do, including buses and bus fare....Also the folks at the front desk were extremely helpful when we asked about things to do in SF.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top