$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
719 out of 719
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
talk a lot
Business
stockton
Mar 22, 2012

bueaty and the beast

when we arived they printed a voucher for our tour which was great. the beasty thing was they gave away one of our 3 rooms . they gave us another room thank fully . my sons 2 rooms were good but our room had a bleach spot on the carpet. we did not have a microwave but we could use mels diner the room also had a mold smell like a musty smell and the sheets made me itch i have algeries i figure maybe their laundry soap the contental breakfast was not so good we ate at mel julie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PB Duluth
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Grand daugthers birthday trip

Great location. Continental breakfast adequate; no microwave or cereals in breakfast room. Ask for an interior room to avoid night noise from Van Ness Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner with access through hotel

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reina216
Business
Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Good Price, A Little Sacrifice

San Francisco being the city that it is, I could not expect to get a decent price on a hotel room without a little sacrifice. The hotel was old and out-dated. Carpets were stained throughout the hallways and room. Our room was a little muggy with a slight odor, but was tolerable with the window open. Besides, most of our time was spent out and about and the room just a place to sleep. Therefore it was a clean enough place even though I typically would prefer a nicer environment. In addition, the room had no fridge which is a major negative for our family. We paid the additional price to have parking every evening. Well worth the money. The staff was very friendly and quick to respond to any requests. Being that I had two children with me (ages 2 and 4) it is nice when you do not have to wait very long when you need something. Location was great. Not very far from anything we had planned to do or see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mimi and Pappap
Business
San Fransicso CA
Aug 2, 2012

Was not what I expected

The bedroom was very small but clean although the bathroom quite large. Breakfast was horrible. We did not eat at the hotel and had to pay for our breakfast somewhere else. There was a fee to use the hotel computer and the parking fee was very high. The air conditioner blew directly on the bed and although we tried to change directions of the air, we could not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 39. Lots of places to eat and shop, fresh fruit and vegetables available for purchase. Alcatraz Island cruise available here as well as many other attractions.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
foobar98
Business
Santa Barbara
Aug 27, 2012

Not a good place to sleep

This is an average hotel with dated interior. Staff was polite and helpful and the room was clean, BUT there was a constant loud sound from some pipes that made it difficult to sleep. I wont stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SeaPete
Business
Seattle
Sep 30, 2012

Funky

We stayed one night. Room was nice and clean. Bath was small and shower curtain rod fell down under the weight of two dry towels. Parking a rental was convenient-self park and cheaper than many other downtown SF hotels. No help offered with luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Leszek1958
Business
New York City
Oct 4, 2012

September 2012

I was pretty disappointed. This hotel has to do some renovation to stick to international quality level. The breakfast was a joke!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carlooooooooo u
Business
San francisco
Oct 13, 2012

Disappointed

The exprience was really disappointed and i don't wanna talk more about it. The parking fee was $30 excl. tax. Nobody use the Gym on the G level bcuz it is really dirty and smelly. One of male front staff who has bobbed hair was NOT kind. thx

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aservat
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 26, 2012

not a great value

Hotel Provides little to nothing, very old, outdated, rooms have poor insulation from noise and the elements, some areas the smell of old is evident, for today's standards this is way outdated, for the price you are better of going with the known names

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
barbrodri
Business
Santiago, Chile
Dec 10, 2012

Smelly

Not good, the place is really old and has a strange smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel´s Dinner is highly recomendable

Back to menu Return to top