$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devonair
Couples
Los Angeles
Jul 1, 2011

AWESOME SERVICE

STAYED FOR PRIDE GOOD LOCATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Loves to Vacation
Couples
Houston, TX
Sep 4, 2011

Great getaway

The Opal was a nice hotel. We enjoyed the amenities and the location. It was connected to Mel's Drive-In which was convenient at night. The Opal is located on Van Ness Ave which is right on the city bus line and within walking distance of many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
USA
Jun 25, 2008

Close to the city

Compared to other options just outside of San Francisco, this is much closer and is very nice. Situated in a somewhat ghetto neighborhood, there is ideal security to the building and the decor was rather elegant. Parking costs a fortune and is very minimal, but definitely worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's Diner next door. Fun and hip for the kids.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chula Vista
Jul 7, 2008

great location

The opal was a very good hotel. The hotel does need to be remodeled. There was breakfast every morning which consisted of toast, bagel, coffee, jucies and ceral. The room was comfortable, the bathroom was very large. I liked the location and the price for the hotel. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again. Overall the hotel was good. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

A restaurant is in the hotel, it was good. I ate there twice

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Mobile, AL
Sep 12, 2009

reasonably priced and spotless

We arrived on a whim while visiting Pleasanton, CA. The location is great. Very central to everything. We mostly visited Little Japan. The guy at the desk gave us a list of his personal favorite night spots and was very friendly. The room was extremely clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kyoto Sushi a few blocks away on Van Ness. way more reasonably-priced than in Little Japan and they have 99 cent Sapporo on draft all day every day! really good sushi and a nice atmosphere.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mn85
Single
Seattle,WA
Feb 23, 2011

No Complains

The Hotel is very nice and clean, the staff is very helpful and the hotel is easily accesible through public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Santa Cruz, CA
Sep 11, 2009

Solid

Clean, quick, cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Mar 1, 2008

thanks Opal!

Our first room was so smoky you could barely see through it. I aksed to move and they were so friendly about it. I think they were also a little perplexed because apparently it was a non-smoking room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

near mission, theaters, and city hall

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Salt Lake City, UT
Feb 10, 2008

Great Value for the money

Very nice. Very central location. The rooms were very clean. For the price it was great! We walked to the Warf, China town and Union square from our hotel. It took a while but definately doable if you like to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 28, 2008

Clean and comfortable

The Opal is graet find for the price. The hotel is charming and the staff friendly. Our room overlooked Van Ness Ave. and was kinda noisy,but it was part of the city experience. The location was good, both close to Fishermans Warf and Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommys across the street, good comfort food.

Back to menu Return to top