$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
THE SOUTHERN GENTELMAN
BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA
Jul 6, 2012

WOW

The only complant that we had was that they had 3 pillows instead of 4 and no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ON THE CORNER OF POST & LARKIN IS THE BEST LITTLE PLACE "LITTLE HENRY" ITALIAN FOOD. THE FISHERMAN WAS OUR FAVORITE DISH, ASK FOR EXTRA BREAD YOU DON'T WANT TO LEAVE ANY SAUCE ON THE PLATE. JUST TELL HENRY THOSE CRAZY PEOPLE FROM LOUISIANA SENT YOU.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cirujano
Business
mexico city
Nov 4, 2014

good for bussines

well situated, the attention on desk very good, the complimentary breakfast ok. Definitively recomende

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJoJo
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 3, 2014

The Opal

It was good. The room was good, bigger than expected. Only downside is that there were so few electrical outlets and the walls were thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gsndrs
Business
Coquille, OR
Oct 31, 2014

Adequate digs for the conference

The room and bathroom were clean, but with a bit of a "faded glory" ambience. Staff were very courteous. The breakfast was a bit disappointing for someone who wants to eat "whole foods, plant based." Adequate, but not amazing. Close to many ethnic restaurants, which I enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Venice
Business
Venice, CA
Oct 10, 2014

Definitely a solid overall choice

The positives of The Opal include the very helpful and friendly staff, the overall value proposition of the place, and the free Wi-Fi. A decent if not terribly exciting continental breakfast is also worthy of a thumbs up. While small, the room my girlfriend and I stayed in was quite clean. It was also surprisingly quiet, which was a definite plus. One unexpected positive was a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour on Wednesday afternoon. We didn't ask if that's a regular feature, but at any rate it was appreciated. The flipside is that the location might be a little edgy for some. One other relatively minor downside was that the bathroom in our room had no fan. All in all, a good choice for the budget-minded traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rangergirl5
Business
California
Oct 8, 2014

Under amenities parking was listed, however it was an additional $41 (plus $50 deposit for remote)

Sketchy block, annex room outside A/C didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Continental breakfast free offered, is dented fruit, stale bread and boiled eggs. Luckily there is a Mel's diner attached to the hotel, but they charge $12 for an omelet.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 1, 2014

Great for sensitive people

This hotel is 100% smoke and fragrance free. I was a bit nervous when I threw a stinky item in the trash. They even have no smell soap and shampoo, so if you are fragrance sensitive, this hotel is for you! I did have a temperature issue with the shower and couldn't use it. The location is wonderful! Get the free map of San Francisco and ride the city bus! there is a few near the hotel! Many conveniences are walking distance, as well as some of the best food places in town! OH, if you like fun houses as I do, you should use the stairs! I wish I though to try it earlier! The elevators are very nice, but the stairs is fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the city bus! They are very helpful to get you to the sights you want, like china town, Fisherman's wharf, the golden gate bridge, and the large park with all the great museums and gardens! There is even a trolley ride a short walk from the hotel. Nice, even at night!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerAsia
Business
SFO
Sep 26, 2014

Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with variety of tea bags. Hotel would need renovation soon to keep up with other hotels. Staffs were nice, beds were comfortable. Sofa bed was not very comfortable but it was sofa bed so no surprise there. It was quiet as well at room 123.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bar bob
Business
Pa
Sep 18, 2014

Nice hotel, terrible location

The Opal Hotel was a pretty nice hotel just was in a terrible location. The staff was nice and the hotel was clean. However it is located in what is known as the "tenderloin" district. Basically what this means is you are surrounded by drug dealers, prostitites, and homeless people. This is not an area you want to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
linzi
Business
san diego, ca
Sep 16, 2014

Decent

Great value but questionable hotel location and room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Small room

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crochetsmith
Business
Oceanside, CA
Sep 13, 2014

A Pleasant Stay

This is a nice hotel in a very good location. The room was not spacious, but the bed was very comfortable. Mel's Diner next door has good food and the hotel is in walking distance from many other good restaurants as well as from the opera house where we were headed each night. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner is literally right next door.

Back to menu Return to top