$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
THE SOUTHERN GENTELMAN
Couples
BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA
Jul 6, 2012

WOW

The only complant that we had was that they had 3 pillows instead of 4 and no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ON THE CORNER OF POST & LARKIN IS THE BEST LITTLE PLACE "LITTLE HENRY" ITALIAN FOOD. THE FISHERMAN WAS OUR FAVORITE DISH, ASK FOR EXTRA BREAD YOU DON'T WANT TO LEAVE ANY SAUCE ON THE PLATE. JUST TELL HENRY THOSE CRAZY PEOPLE FROM LOUISIANA SENT YOU.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxjelous
Business
phoenix
Dec 16, 2014

Good Business trip

the hotel is nice and clean. close walk to many markets. local food was very good. On main street and easy access to transportation to take you to the more popular locations. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Supreme traveller
Family
Austin, TX
Dec 2, 2014

Great family hotel in the heart of the city

This Is a geat hotel In the heart of the city. It is close to all major attractions, few minutes away from the Union square and Civic center. Something to watch out for is that this area has a lot of homeless people aroubd, especially at night. This is not unique to this hotel, it is a problem is most of San Francisco. The hotel has done a great job of providing security. The front and back entrance of the hotel can only be opened by using a room key. The parking is connected to the hotel and protected by an automatic gate. However, parking is not free. We got the double twin bed room and it was spacious. Although, the rooms looked old, they were clean. The bathrooms were small but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking at the hotel is normally around $40 a night, but the garage next door has parking for $26. The hotel will give you the same rate of $26, if you ask for it. They will not go any lower but it is a good deal considering the hotel parking is connected to the hotel and the area is unsafe at night.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane latiesse
Couples
Grassvalley, ca
Dec 1, 2014

Nice spot

Pretty good location, easy to get to all areas of the city that we were interested in. Really quiet room, which was appreciated. Clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
centralcoaster
Family
Arroyo Grande, CA
Nov 30, 2014

Great overall value

For a hotel in San Francisco, this is a great value. Once you get over the old feel, it is great because the rooms are updated, fairly large and clean. The staff is very friendly and the hotel has a lot of charm. The continental breakfast is just ok but the eating area is very clean and inviting. I'd stay here again for $100/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KPDP
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 30, 2014

Anniversary trip

My husband and I were celebrating our 15th anniversary in San Francisco. The Opal was a very good value for the money. It has the feel of a aging hotel, that was once probably high-end. Though it feels a bit older, it was still nicely kept, a good location and was reasonably priced. The price included a continental breakfast, which was not fancy but certainly filled us up! I would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If it is raining, there is a nice movie theater right next to The Opal. It came in handy for us one day!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellie26
Business
Buffalo, ny
Nov 28, 2014

San Fran

Nice hotel with a good location. It's very close to the bus line but a distance from the BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natalie04184
Couples
Houston
Nov 26, 2014

Good spot, great price

This hotel is right off the popular path of hwy 101. We got a great deal on a 4 night stay. Our first experience was with the staff. AWESOME! Our check in was not until 3pm. We arrived at 10am and got a room without even asking! The room was clean, neat, and bigger than expected. Even though we stayed right next to the stairs and elevator it wasn't too loud. We took public transportation everywhere so this was a great pick for us. I definitely recommend it and would book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Smiles.
Single
NYC
Nov 23, 2014

Comfortable, Clean, Love Location

The front desk staff was super helpful. Room was clean and bed was so comfortable. Great room, shower, bathroom. Would def stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R2D2Arthur
Mexico City
Nov 19, 2014

Very good for the price

The location is good, but there are a lot of homeless, we got a cab everywhere so we dod not deal with that. hotels in SF are very expensive so i thing this is a good value for a low budget !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

WIFI is good and free

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjm1823
Friends
Burbank, California
Nov 19, 2014

More than your moneys worth!

This is a great location. Staff was very helpful and professional. Girl at the front desk was awesome, her name is Jeannie (I think). Free breakfast that is more than just simple bagels and coffee. Only downside, hotel is outdated and a bit smelly. Nothing worth complaining. Very satisfied and would come here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's is a must

Back to menu Return to top