$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 19, 2009

Creepy

bed bugs. we got the hell outta dodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 17, 2009

Like hotels used to be

Easy to get to on public transportation. The staff were all great, the ambiance European, clientele young and international-student and family. I will stay again when I'm in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 17, 2009

Like hotels used to be

Easy to get to on public transportation. The staff were all great, the ambiance European, clientele young and international-student and family. I will stay again when I'm in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy SF Visitor
Business
Boulder, CO
Aug 12, 2009

Absolutely Wonderful in All Dimensions!

This hotel was superb and reasonably priced! The location was delightfully central without being smack in the middle of massive tourist-land; Easy access to public transit (I bought a several-day transit pass, what a great deal!); The old, restored architecture means the rooms are quiet (no shoddy new construction here, never heard my neighbors); The row of restaurants and shops one block away on Polk was easy access to anything needed in a jiffy, including yoga!; Just stay away from the Tenderloin neighborhood directly to the northeast; The staff is super helpful and courteous; The contintental breakfast was a bit dull (mostly bread), but overall, this hotel rocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a several day transit pass from across the street at the gift shop, Cathedral Hill hotel. $11 for single day, $18 for 3 days or $24 for 7 days. Well worth it to get around town as it also includes cable and street cars.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy SF Visitor
Business
Boulder, CO
Aug 12, 2009

Absolutely Wonderful in All Dimensions!

This hotel was superb and reasonably priced! The location was delightfully central without being smack in the middle of massive tourist-land; Easy access to public transit (I bought a several-day transit pass, what a great deal!); The old, restored architecture means the rooms are quiet (no shoddy new construction here, never heard my neighbors); The row of restaurants and shops one block away on Polk was easy access to anything needed in a jiffy, including yoga!; Just stay away from the Tenderloin neighborhood directly to the northeast; The staff is super helpful and courteous; The contintental breakfast was a bit dull (mostly bread), but overall, this hotel rocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a several day transit pass from across the street at the gift shop, Cathedral Hill hotel. $11 for single day, $18 for 3 days or $24 for 7 days. Well worth it to get around town as it also includes cable and street cars.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed the man
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Good Hotel in a not so great area

Good Hotel, helpfull staff which seemed overworked at times, nevertheless friendly. Continental breakfast was good. Rooms where small but nevertheless well kept. Big downside is location!!! It is located on the edge of a bad neighborhood. But if you can manage great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab. Especially if you have a female companion.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed the man
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Good Hotel in a not so great area

Good Hotel, helpfull staff which seemed overworked at times, nevertheless friendly. Continental breakfast was good. Rooms where small but nevertheless well kept. Big downside is location!!! It is located on the edge of a bad neighborhood. But if you can manage great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab. Especially if you have a female companion.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Almost Retirees
Business
Dallas
Aug 9, 2009

Great Launch Site to SF Explorations

This older hotel with small rooms is NOT plush, but offered all we needed for an excellent price. Our plan was not to relax at the hotel. We learned to take advantage of the close bus stops to see everything on our list in San Francisco. We also walked a great deal during the day (even the very steep hills and we're 63) but made sure we were home or getting off at a close bus stop at night. The distance to sites we wanted to see was a bit more than some would like but we enjoyed our new modes of public transportation. We were glad not to have a car to park at $25 per day. The Hop On and Off 48 hour double decker tour bus pass we bought ($42) allowed us to visit many of the popular sight-seeing locations. We had to walk about 5 blocks to pick it up but the bus driver would let us offer within 2 blocks (not a regular stop.) We also walked another 5 blocks in a different direction to rent a car and drive up through some of the wine and the redwood areas. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts were quite sufficient and offered a means to compare notes or suggestions with other vacationers. There was a wine tasting and piano player in the lobby on Wednesday before dinner time. Really quite pleasant. I would make only two negative comments. The once very nice carpet needed to be replaced. Also there is not a good selection of close places to eat in the evening. Mel's Diner (attached) has great menu but not what you would consider fare for an evening out. We were huffing and puffing often from our climbs up the steep streets but we were smiling all the way and considered this one of our best ever vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We took the 38L bus recommended at the check-in desk to The Cliff House (about 6 miles; 30 minutes)for dinner. This is a historical restaurant that is celebrating their 100 year anniversay by offering a 3 course dinner on Wednesdays in their Bistro restaurant. We had to wait (no reservations allowed) but spent the time well with a glass of wine at a table in the bar by the window overlooking the ocean where we could see the pelicans and seals on a rock island just off the coast. Also there were interesting cliffs and caves that we observed. Our dinner table also overlooked the breath taking views of the ocean sunset. Several days later we returned to explore the caves, cliffs and nearby walking paths through the park to points that offered beautiful views of the Mile Lighthouse and the Golden Gate Bridge - sturdy shoes needed.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bruin girl
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 7, 2009

parking not included

I know it's San Francisco and parking is limited, but had I known parking was not included in my hotel cost, I would have probably stayed somewhere else. Room was also pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 3, 2009

Terrible

We had to ask twice before housekeeping emptied our trash baskets. I had to ask twice for a new ethernet cable because the one in the room was frayed. Front desk waS very rude. Told me to call the AT&T helpdesk. The desk chair in our room did not slide in under the desk, so we kept bumping into it to get to the bathroom. Terrible setup. Terrible overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joynt accross the street had the best brisket we ever had! Delicious

Back to menu Return to top