$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
622 out of 622
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savage Traveller
Business
Vancouver, B.C.
Apr 22, 2009

Good Value

We were able to travel by bus to all locations very easily. We were close to all transportation. At night when we arrived we should have taken a bus from the Bart. The area we walked through was the Civic Area and it was beautiful during the day, but at night it became a hub for a few prostitutes and seedy looking individuals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would use the Bart to get to the hotel. It was a good deal and buy a Muni Pass. It allowed us to travel to all destinations rather quickly and cheaply.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ck vacation
Business
Colorado
Apr 19, 2009

not that classic

The hotel has been remodeled at some point in the past(the term fix and flip comes to mind- I would not call it CLASSICAL and with the remodel they did not add anything to deal with the issue of sound between rooms- its like being in the same room. If you set up for a shuttle, make sure you confirm the reservation yourself, the desk staff did not call it in- almost made me miss my plane. Hotel room(outside of possible noise) was fine for the price- seemed clean, linens were a little worn but clean, Watch out for homeless, great if you do not have a car(otherwise 28 dollars a day), Wine and Cheese tasting ok to have but not worth making sure you are around for- basic,breakfast stuff,toast, bagel,cereal,fruit,coffee,tang like juice, LOTS of TOUR BUSES,go to breakfast early because later you will be fighting the germans,french,or Japanese,from the tour buses. Get a Bus Pass, eat across Van Ness at the Bar-cash only place. Front Desk crew seemed ok when I checked in(was kinda leary because of previous reviews)-only while I checked out I had problems because of the desk dropping the ball with my reservation for the transport back to the airport. Once Again LOTS Of TOUR BUSES could cause a really long check in, Breakfast AREA WAS CLEAN! Room a Little worn but clean enough for me! The bed I slept on was O.k. Beware of paper thin walls,Tried to keep my tv volume down. Had a outside view, fifth floor, could watch the Homless Insane Guy and Lady Dancing each night on Geary before I went to sleep. Take MUNI buses to get out of area to better parts of town. The buses seemed really full usually from around four to six-thirty. A group of people should have no problem walking around- one or two, be alittle more carefull at night. SHOP AROUND If you get a great price then this Hotel is O.K. and once you are inside the hotel seems to be safe. The Driver who dropped me off had no clue what hotel the opal was, I remembered somebody had called it the old le Quenta Inn he seemed to know were that had been. Once again buy a MUNI bus pass!!! If you do take the shuttle give yourself a extra hr- the can spend forty minutes going around and picking other people up before they head to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

AS you walk, out of the front door, look across the street to the bar on the corner of Geary, and Van Ness, A CASH Only place, but, the portions are huge, and not pricy-- NOT the best, but better than some, and huge portions, Next- Walk down to Powell and Market next to the cable car turnaround and buy a one,three,five,seven, MUNI Pass,This will get you unlimited travel,on the cable cars, and bus system, I would buy a map for three dollars- the map shows more bus routes than the free one, take the 71 to long beach-not as many people on that end of the beach, The five ends within a block of the beach right next to a SAFEWAY (picnic on the beach) The little hole in the wall mexican food place-about a half block east of hotel on Geary,not bad take out(like all small places this could change) But walking back from the theatre,stop in for takeout. You will not need the exercise room, walking around town will keep you thin, Walk the beach from the end of the 71 line on up to the number five, line, beware of walking the golden gate park- its a very, very, long park, use the buses that travel on the north side of park. I started hoping on buses, to see were they would take me, had a great time, saw a lot more of the city.- The Buses are like riding a drunk horse,walking on a ship,so hang on, and try not to back seat drive. Look out the window be flexable-you can always take the bus back.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chciago, IL
Apr 10, 2009

5 Day Stay in SF

Do not go here if you plan on driving, or using a car during your stay. Most people's problem with this hotel is the price and lack of parking. You won't need a car from here if you're visiting SF, anyway. Lots of buses are nearby, including the 47 which takes you straight to Fisherman's Wharf.I booked through Orbitz and was upgraded from a queen to a king-sized bed. True, the Opal is not the Ritz or the Hilton, but it's a good deal. It is in a more shady part of SF, but I always felt safe here. You need a key to even get into the building or you have to get buzzed in. Just be aware of your surroundings and you'll be okay.The room itself was clean, except for the carpeting, but nothing too bad. The walls are thin, but nothing ever got too crazy, even though my room was right outside the elevator. They have double windows to drown out the outside noise (it's on a busy street, so this was a big plus!). The fitness room is super tiny, but there was never anyone else in there while I was there, so that was fine.The service was great. Everyone was super nice and helpful, housekeeping did a great job. The complimentary breakfast was a good touch. Remember that it's free, so don't expect bacon and eggs. It's cold cereal, toast, fruit, juices and coffee. If you want more options, check out Mel's diner next door!Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 30, 2008

A little out of the way, but good

The Opal is convenient only to the theatre district. If that's not what you're after, you'll have a good walk or bus ride wherever you're going. There's a lot of San Fran charm to the place, though, and the upside of its location is that it's a great deal. With these rates, however, you can find yourself having to deal with some noisy folks occasionally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa
Dec 29, 2008

very friendly

The room is small but very comfortable. The staff in front desk is so friendly and very helpful. Free internet and local phone is useful for froeigner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

next door is a theater, there are several restaurant within 5mins walk. The other side of the road are some luxury car sellers, there has some really good and amazing cars!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Placerville
Dec 27, 2008

This is a very old hotel right in San Francisco.

The mattress was a wonderfull pillow top . Very cozy. Im staying there evry time I can. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Movie theater right next door. And a resterant right in the same building.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 23, 2008

great for the price

the walls were quite thin and you could hear everything but its a well kept hotel and i enjoyed my night there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

union square,

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wolcottville
Dec 18, 2008

great business amenities, close to all transit

The Opal was a very quaint hotel. Beautiful decor and very clean. Room was somewhat small, but a great value. Hotel check-in was quick and easy. Very friendly staff. Had a nice continental breakfast bar with plenty of seating space. The breakfast bar could have had more fuit or yogert instead of only apples. Noticed lots of business people staying here. Had a nice internet business center for hotel guest, and a nice workout facility. Great location, near all transit lines made getting around San Francisco easy. Mel's Diner next door was very convenient, and Tommys restaurant across the street was excellent. Both restaurants had great service and reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend The Opal and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything close by, within a short drive.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Dec 9, 2008

Great Location

The Opal Hotel's location was perfect for my daughter and I. We were in walking distance or on main bus lines to really enjoy our first visit to San Francisco. The Fifties Diner right off the main lobby was great. The room was comfortable and clean,the elevator was very quick and the staff was very helpful. The 20 screen movie theater in a historic building next door and everything you would ever need within a few blocks walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tommy's across the street had the best dinner plates we had ever had.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mckinney
Dec 1, 2008

Heart of SFO

You cant get a better hotel at a cheaper price in the heart of SFO. The layout of the hotel is such that it is utilizing maximum available space still it does not look congested. There were a large number of guests during the thanks giving stay that I was there, it shows the hotel is sought after. Parking is $28 a day extra. It offers free wired internet connection in the room is free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top