$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
624 reviews
Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with... See full review

  • TravelerAsia
  • Sep 26, 2014
great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes See full review

  • craiggus
  • Sep 7, 2014
The Opal San Francisco

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (624)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
624 out of 624
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarianaMC
Goldsboro, NC
Apr 27, 2014

Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
okdonk
Business
North Las Vegas, NV
May 6, 2009

Perfect AAA+++

My 2nd visit to San Francisco with family. Great price and good location. Minutes away of walking to bus stations. [...] the receptionist gave me suite room during my stay. Other reviewers complained about the parking. To me, it was alright. I only paid $23.10/ night including Tax. Free breakfast was very nice too. Definitely will come back to stay!! Highly recommended to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

$23.10 including tax to park in the hotel building is a very good deal !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Sil
Business
Heemskerk, Holland
May 4, 2009

The Opal

Opal is a very decent hotel, definitely value for money. The location is oke, however, one block away the neighborhood is pretty skechy. The room is absolutely perfect, a bit small though, but very clean. The thing that kind of bothered us were the thin walls, it sounded like our neighbors were having a conversation in our room. By the way, the breakfast is a rip off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beautiful Route 66, Arizona
Apr 23, 2009

Wonderful Stay in S.F.

We stayed for a week at the Opal, for a combincation business/vacation trip. My husband has walking difficulties, and the location was great for him. The rooms are gorgeous, with large marble walk-in showers. We were moved after the first night to a smoking room, which was apparently a separate hotel at some time. Even so, the rooms were decorated & appointed the same, but not quite as elegant. The front desk staff was very accomodating & knowledgeable, and there were plenty of local maps & travel guides available at no charge. The morning breakfast is simple (coffee, teas, cocoa, milk, 3 kinds of cereal, plain bagels & a flavored bread) but adequate. My only complaint with the hotel is the bathroom amenities. There was no soap dish in either bathroom, and the shampoo comes in a small disposable envelope. No conditioner, and the same small envelope of body lotion. For a hotel of this caliber, they really should provide a soap dish and decent bathroom amenities. The hotel lobby is beautiful and a very pleasant spot to wait for a traveling companion or plan an outing. There are bus stops directly in front of and across the street from this hotel, on all sides. There are good restaurants within alking distance, as well as a great 50's-style diner attached to the hotel (think "American Graffiti"). All in all, a great locaiton, a comfortable room, and a friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Tommy's Joint directly across the street. great drinks, excellent food, and huge servings. Don't be put off by a line out the door - it will disappear within minutes. Also, for something truly unique and unexpected, try "La Fina Estancia" (or something close to that) across Geary on the opposite corner. It offers a combination of Peruvian and Mexican food that is beyond description. It is fairly small, but the decor and staff are sure to please.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chefrey
Business
St.Louis, MO
Apr 22, 2009

San Franciso Visit

Easy check in. Basic Breakfast in the morning. Neighborhood was sketchy after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wayens
Business
Irvine, CA
Apr 22, 2009

A gem of a hotel.

Clerk was helpful in getting me started on traveling SF. Room service was amenable, left a note and they responded in action if not words. Surprised they don't have razors though. Room was comfortable, spacious, and the hotel is indeed a gem as they claimed. ;) Breakfast is complimentary, simple but delicious. Hotel on a main street (Van Ness) that is a short bus drive to city hall, the Piers, and even the Moscone. 20-minute walk to Moscone myself. Had a good time and would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a BART and a MUNI pass. Saves time looking for change and is a good value for a multi-day stay of touring the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PORTERVILLE, CA
Apr 22, 2009

SAN FRANCISCO

PARKING GARAGE WAS SMALL AND VERY EXPENSIVE, HOTEL ROOM HAD ALOT OF MAINTENCE PROBLEMS, TILE IN BATHROOM GROUT WAS MISSING, PRICE WAS GREAT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savage Traveller
Business
Vancouver, B.C.
Apr 22, 2009

Good Value

We were able to travel by bus to all locations very easily. We were close to all transportation. At night when we arrived we should have taken a bus from the Bart. The area we walked through was the Civic Area and it was beautiful during the day, but at night it became a hub for a few prostitutes and seedy looking individuals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would use the Bart to get to the hotel. It was a good deal and buy a Muni Pass. It allowed us to travel to all destinations rather quickly and cheaply.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ck vacation
Business
Colorado
Apr 19, 2009

not that classic

The hotel has been remodeled at some point in the past(the term fix and flip comes to mind- I would not call it CLASSICAL and with the remodel they did not add anything to deal with the issue of sound between rooms- its like being in the same room. If you set up for a shuttle, make sure you confirm the reservation yourself, the desk staff did not call it in- almost made me miss my plane. Hotel room(outside of possible noise) was fine for the price- seemed clean, linens were a little worn but clean, Watch out for homeless, great if you do not have a car(otherwise 28 dollars a day), Wine and Cheese tasting ok to have but not worth making sure you are around for- basic,breakfast stuff,toast, bagel,cereal,fruit,coffee,tang like juice, LOTS of TOUR BUSES,go to breakfast early because later you will be fighting the germans,french,or Japanese,from the tour buses. Get a Bus Pass, eat across Van Ness at the Bar-cash only place. Front Desk crew seemed ok when I checked in(was kinda leary because of previous reviews)-only while I checked out I had problems because of the desk dropping the ball with my reservation for the transport back to the airport. Once Again LOTS Of TOUR BUSES could cause a really long check in, Breakfast AREA WAS CLEAN! Room a Little worn but clean enough for me! The bed I slept on was O.k. Beware of paper thin walls,Tried to keep my tv volume down. Had a outside view, fifth floor, could watch the Homless Insane Guy and Lady Dancing each night on Geary before I went to sleep. Take MUNI buses to get out of area to better parts of town. The buses seemed really full usually from around four to six-thirty. A group of people should have no problem walking around- one or two, be alittle more carefull at night. SHOP AROUND If you get a great price then this Hotel is O.K. and once you are inside the hotel seems to be safe. The Driver who dropped me off had no clue what hotel the opal was, I remembered somebody had called it the old le Quenta Inn he seemed to know were that had been. Once again buy a MUNI bus pass!!! If you do take the shuttle give yourself a extra hr- the can spend forty minutes going around and picking other people up before they head to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

AS you walk, out of the front door, look across the street to the bar on the corner of Geary, and Van Ness, A CASH Only place, but, the portions are huge, and not pricy-- NOT the best, but better than some, and huge portions, Next- Walk down to Powell and Market next to the cable car turnaround and buy a one,three,five,seven, MUNI Pass,This will get you unlimited travel,on the cable cars, and bus system, I would buy a map for three dollars- the map shows more bus routes than the free one, take the 71 to long beach-not as many people on that end of the beach, The five ends within a block of the beach right next to a SAFEWAY (picnic on the beach) The little hole in the wall mexican food place-about a half block east of hotel on Geary,not bad take out(like all small places this could change) But walking back from the theatre,stop in for takeout. You will not need the exercise room, walking around town will keep you thin, Walk the beach from the end of the 71 line on up to the number five, line, beware of walking the golden gate park- its a very, very, long park, use the buses that travel on the north side of park. I started hoping on buses, to see were they would take me, had a great time, saw a lot more of the city.- The Buses are like riding a drunk horse,walking on a ship,so hang on, and try not to back seat drive. Look out the window be flexable-you can always take the bus back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chciago, IL
Apr 10, 2009

5 Day Stay in SF

Do not go here if you plan on driving, or using a car during your stay. Most people's problem with this hotel is the price and lack of parking. You won't need a car from here if you're visiting SF, anyway. Lots of buses are nearby, including the 47 which takes you straight to Fisherman's Wharf.I booked through Orbitz and was upgraded from a queen to a king-sized bed. True, the Opal is not the Ritz or the Hilton, but it's a good deal. It is in a more shady part of SF, but I always felt safe here. You need a key to even get into the building or you have to get buzzed in. Just be aware of your surroundings and you'll be okay.The room itself was clean, except for the carpeting, but nothing too bad. The walls are thin, but nothing ever got too crazy, even though my room was right outside the elevator. They have double windows to drown out the outside noise (it's on a busy street, so this was a big plus!). The fitness room is super tiny, but there was never anyone else in there while I was there, so that was fine.The service was great. Everyone was super nice and helpful, housekeeping did a great job. The complimentary breakfast was a good touch. Remember that it's free, so don't expect bacon and eggs. It's cold cereal, toast, fruit, juices and coffee. If you want more options, check out Mel's diner next door!Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Hula Darling
Business
NYC
Mar 26, 2009

Great value & location! Memorable visit.

Friendly, knowledgable staff. Close to all the sights. Cable car 4 blocks away; rode every day. Didn't need car. Room was a good size with full bath. Pleasantly suprised and pleased with last minute accommodations. I would highly recommend this comfortable, modest hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable car is 4 blocks away on Van Ness/California. Great way to travel like the locals and times' past.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top