$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gig Harbor, Washington
Sep 24, 2009

We were very happy with the acomidations

WEe were very happy with the whole experience. I would recomend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Love it!

I loved how friendly and helpful the staff was, the complimentary continental breakfast was very much appreciated, the location was perfect-walking to Union Square plus close cab/bus rides to anywhere, plus the historic look and feel of the hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fog Harbor on Pier 39 on the waterfront was excellent-great views and food! I am from Massachusetts and it was some of the best clam chowder and seafood I have ever had!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frisco Traveler
Business
Central Coast
Sep 22, 2009

Great location, great price, good hotel

The staff was wonderful, very helpful in suggesting restaurants, bars, and guiding us to where we wanted to go. The room was a bit small with a slightly hard bed, but pretty clean. Within walking distance of Chinatown, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf (although that one is a long walk). Decent inexpensive restaurants and bars nearby. The best bang for your buck, other nearby hotels were slightly less expensive but very sketchy-looking, others were much more expensive and looked very comparable at least from the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Love it!

I loved how friendly and helpful the staff was, the complimentary continental breakfast was very much appreciated, the location was perfect-walking to Union Square plus close cab/bus rides to anywhere, plus the historic look and feel of the hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fog Harbor on Pier 39 on the waterfront was excellent-great views and food! I am from Massachusetts and it was some of the best clam chowder and seafood I have ever had!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Sep 15, 2009

wish to cancel

scary neighborhood, street people everywhere, terrible parking even for registration with nortorious SF one-way small alcatraz cell-like room with suffocating no vent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Sep 15, 2009

Charming old place in downtown setting

We chose this hotel for its proximity to downtown SF and the Pier. That came with its own set of 'downtown-type' issues (traffic, vagrants, etc.) The hotel itself was very nice, staff was friendly and professional, room was clean and interesting, though a little small. They did a great job of keeping the outside issues outside. We felt secure & comfortable. There were no real noise problems inside the hotel or our guest room. A decent stay, overall, and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Pier, about 10 min away by taxi or car.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseville, CA
Sep 12, 2009

Nice hotel in San Francisco

Reception was quick and polite, parking was easy, location is good in terms of available transportation, double windows screened out all noise, the overall ambience is charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

We could walk to Union Square or to the music center.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
Sep 12, 2009

reasonably priced and spotless

We arrived on a whim while visiting Pleasanton, CA. The location is great. Very central to everything. We mostly visited Little Japan. The guy at the desk gave us a list of his personal favorite night spots and was very friendly. The room was extremely clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kyoto Sushi a few blocks away on Van Ness. way more reasonably-priced than in Little Japan and they have 99 cent Sapporo on draft all day every day! really good sushi and a nice atmosphere.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Sep 11, 2009

Solid

Clean, quick, cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 11, 2009

The Opal, San Francisco

This hotel is quaint and has charm. The rooms are a bit on the small side but clean and included amenities such as iron and ironing board, blow dryer and T.V. (no mini fridge, though). The staff were very nice and extremely helpful. The hotel is located on a major bus line so it was very convinient to get to the fisherman's wharf. Union square was within walking distance, about 5 blocks. The complimentary breakfast is very basic: toast, cold cereal, bagels, orange juice, tea, and coffee. Although, Mel's Diner is next door and can be accessed directly from the lobby. Over all, I enjoyed my stay and would visit again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top