$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 21, 2009

Great!

It was overall great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Japanese food on the north end of the street. About two blocks up just after AMC theater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Izunia
Business
chicago
Jul 21, 2009

very good place to stay

this hotel for the price we pay was very good choice. What we are realy like it it was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 20, 2009

Good Location - No view

Location was very good. Close to bus and cable car lines. However, no view of city. Our room was in the back of the hotel and we looked at another building and cat walks in an alley. Room did not have a refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a muni pass to save money when taking any transportation - bus, cable car, train. Saved us over $90.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
Jul 15, 2009

nothing's worse than a rude "supervisor"

It was a very bad start to my weekend get away. Upon trying to leave my bags (as I arrived early), I was given an extremely rude and condescending "Check in is at 3. WE DON'T HAVE A ROOM" before I could even say a word. I thought I was the paying guest.Needless to say, this extremely rude guest relations person named [...] neglected to take down my name so by the time I came back to check in, the only rooms left were smoking. Even though I had confirmation for a NON-SMOKING room. They "upgraded" me to a bigger room, (smoking) but the entire place was in dire need of renovation and clean up. This place is worn down. Stains on carpet and cracked sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dlt
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 13, 2009

average

Nice hotel but in a part of town that was not very central

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Last min. get out of towners...
Business
Las Vegas, Philly, Newark & Honolulu
Jul 12, 2009

good budget hotel in the heart of it all

SF can be an expensive city to visit, however staying here at the Opal saved us these expenses. Very close to many of SF's public transit systems. Tons of places to eat at and many open late or 24 hours. Hotel rooms were decent, we stayed in what seemed to be an addition, and room 110 was pretty large with 2 double beds, quite, comfy beds, weak water pressure & coffee 24 hours a day in lobby. Bring your own toiletries though, none provided for guest. Safe area, close to many things, cabs are reliable, bout $40 with tip from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DON'T RENT CAR! Use the public transit systems or cabs. They're easier, cheaper and user friendly too. Parking is minimal & expensive. We're glad that we didn't get a car, made shopping chinatown, pier 39, wharf, Japan town & eating so much easier and faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
France
Jul 12, 2009

fger

something missing during the breakfast, there was no eggs, a few tables and it was in a very little room and it's stop at 9am, it's too early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

trhr

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 10, 2009

Nice hotel but parking is extra

Great spacious bedroom, however bathroom is quite small and there was no room at the sink for your toothbrush, makeup bag etc. *** Also, no where on Cheap Tickets.com does it say that parking is extra at $28.00 per night, imagine our surprise when we were faced with an add'l $100.00 charge for our stay. The hotel lowered our rate to $20.00 per night but it would have been nice to know ahead of time to budget in the money ***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taa3034
Business
Reedley, Ca.
Jul 7, 2009

Fourth of July trip

location located near muni bus stops, which enabled to go to Giants game, Chinatown etc...Wonderful trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

use buses, cable cars were extremely expensive.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Molinos, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price.

We were in San Francisco visiting the de Young Museum. The location of the Opal was perfect for our stay. There were plenty of restaurants located within walking distance. I felt very safe at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's diner is located in the hotel. You can't get more convenient than that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top