$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
625 reviews
Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with... See full review

  • TravelerAsia
  • Sep 26, 2014
great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes See full review

  • craiggus
  • Sep 7, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (625)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
625 out of 625
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calibuckeye
San Diego, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic stay!

The Opal has a wonderful and helpful staff and a very old school French feel to the hotel. They even sent me a complimentary bottle of wine to our room for my birthday. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Izunia
Business
chicago
Jul 21, 2009

very good place to stay

this hotel for the price we pay was very good choice. What we are realy like it it was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 20, 2009

Good Location - No view

Location was very good. Close to bus and cable car lines. However, no view of city. Our room was in the back of the hotel and we looked at another building and cat walks in an alley. Room did not have a refrigerator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a muni pass to save money when taking any transportation - bus, cable car, train. Saved us over $90.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
Jul 15, 2009

nothing's worse than a rude "supervisor"

It was a very bad start to my weekend get away. Upon trying to leave my bags (as I arrived early), I was given an extremely rude and condescending "Check in is at 3. WE DON'T HAVE A ROOM" before I could even say a word. I thought I was the paying guest.Needless to say, this extremely rude guest relations person named [...] neglected to take down my name so by the time I came back to check in, the only rooms left were smoking. Even though I had confirmation for a NON-SMOKING room. They "upgraded" me to a bigger room, (smoking) but the entire place was in dire need of renovation and clean up. This place is worn down. Stains on carpet and cracked sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dlt
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 13, 2009

average

Nice hotel but in a part of town that was not very central

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Last min. get out of towners...
Business
Las Vegas, Philly, Newark & Honolulu
Jul 12, 2009

good budget hotel in the heart of it all

SF can be an expensive city to visit, however staying here at the Opal saved us these expenses. Very close to many of SF's public transit systems. Tons of places to eat at and many open late or 24 hours. Hotel rooms were decent, we stayed in what seemed to be an addition, and room 110 was pretty large with 2 double beds, quite, comfy beds, weak water pressure & coffee 24 hours a day in lobby. Bring your own toiletries though, none provided for guest. Safe area, close to many things, cabs are reliable, bout $40 with tip from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

DON'T RENT CAR! Use the public transit systems or cabs. They're easier, cheaper and user friendly too. Parking is minimal & expensive. We're glad that we didn't get a car, made shopping chinatown, pier 39, wharf, Japan town & eating so much easier and faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
France
Jul 12, 2009

fger

something missing during the breakfast, there was no eggs, a few tables and it was in a very little room and it's stop at 9am, it's too early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

trhr

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 10, 2009

Nice hotel but parking is extra

Great spacious bedroom, however bathroom is quite small and there was no room at the sink for your toothbrush, makeup bag etc. *** Also, no where on Cheap Tickets.com does it say that parking is extra at $28.00 per night, imagine our surprise when we were faced with an add'l $100.00 charge for our stay. The hotel lowered our rate to $20.00 per night but it would have been nice to know ahead of time to budget in the money ***

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taa3034
Business
Reedley, Ca.
Jul 7, 2009

Fourth of July trip

location located near muni bus stops, which enabled to go to Giants game, Chinatown etc...Wonderful trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

use buses, cable cars were extremely expensive.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 6, 2009

Very solid hotel; good location

Very good location right downtown, friendly front desk staff, comfortable rooms. Not too noisy, relaxing. Close to BART/Muni, a cheap cab fare from everywhere. Nothing extraordinary, but a good solid value in downtown San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Civic Center BART/Muni station!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Molinos, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price.

We were in San Francisco visiting the de Young Museum. The location of the Opal was perfect for our stay. There were plenty of restaurants located within walking distance. I felt very safe at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's diner is located in the hotel. You can't get more convenient than that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top