$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
663 out of 663
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray Clark
Business
Austin TX
Oct 20, 2009

very good for the money

the staff was super friendly and helpful, the rooms nice and clean as well as quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is on the edge of the Tenderloin District with lots of interesting prostitutes and homeless. We found it's best to keep walks in the area between the hours of 7am-dark. There were several good restaurants, mainly for breakfast, within a block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Co
Oct 20, 2009

San Francisco Baby!!!!

We went to San Francisco for a music festival, so the location of our hotel was essential. The Opal provided us a place with a great ambiance, extremely helpful staff in a central location. I would like to explore other hotels when I visit San Francisco again, however I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Didn't we meet at Mel's??

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ventura, ca
Oct 19, 2009

Old & Friendly

the Opal was quaint. it is an old hotel so it can be loud. i could hear other guests between the walls and the water running loudly from other rooms. the opal parking was sold out so we had to park in an expensive garage across the street. the location is great though and union square is within walkable distance. i was kind of disappointed the bedding. the pillowcases were dingy and the shower in the bathroom leaked. but, for the price, it was pretty good. all the staff that i encountered was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lowdown
Business
Central Coast, CA
Oct 15, 2009

We liked the Opal

While not next door to either, on a nice day the walk to Union Square or Civic Center is nice. Despite location on Van Ness, room was very quiet (has double sash windows that open if you want). Breakfast was average, but, we enjoyed that most of the guests sharing the room were from Europe. We plan to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the renovated City Hall, the new Asian Museum and the gift shop at the Opera - all down Van Ness at the Civic Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Sara
Business
Omaha,NE
Oct 13, 2009

Exelent, very clean and quite.

Very pretty and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beloa
Business
Spain
Oct 11, 2009

The good hotel for the price

The experience was very good. The only thing I can say that it could be better, it's the breakfeast...it should have ham, cheese or sausages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 11, 2009

Cute place

You get what you pay for. Great hotel and location. Nothing fancy. It is a little loud if you're not used to city life, but it's typical to any SF hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's not in the best neighborhood, but altogether we felt pretty safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AAsian
Business
Chico,ca!
Oct 6, 2009

Loves

I went to love fest and the location was amazing! great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George -Sales Mgr
Business
Glendale, CA
Oct 4, 2009

GOOD LOCATION - CLEAN - GOOD VALUE

Went to Palace of Fine Arts - SMUIN BALLET - Close to everything - we did have a car - Dinner at Warf - Lunch in town (Sushi) Our room 227 was exceptionally large 2 queen beds and a sofa bed..Suite. Much larger than our previous room at this hotel, and much more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Palace of Fine Arts - SMUIN BALLET - MEDEA - SINATRA FABULOUS - THRU 10-11-09 Holiday show will begin rehersals in November for December opening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
me and my mom
Business
redding, ca
Oct 1, 2009

fantastic mother/daughter getaway

I suprised my mom with tickets to a Giants game, and I had googled AT&T Park and hotels and the Opal came up. It was about 1.7 miles from the park, and right on Van Ness (hwy 101) running thru San Fransisco which made it extremely convenient. We were able to check in 3 hrs early and were given a free upgrade to a king size bed. The hotel was built in the early 1900's I believe and is very beautiful from the chandeliers in the entry to the stained glass window in the stairwells. Being that old it is a boutique hotel, and so very charming. The staff was warm and friendly. The continental breakfast was nice. There are 2 parking areas at the hotel, self parking with 24 hr a day in and out services. We were able to find parking places both times we left and came in, they are a bit small but you have to realize the location of the hotel. They offer a AAA discount for parking. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, so much so that my mom wondered if they would notice if she snuck a pillow home with her! She didn't try it by the way. I can't think of a single thing that the hotel could have done to make our stay more enjoyable, I highly recommend the Opal to anyone. My mom and I have many wonderful memories from this trip and the Opal is definitely one of them. Oh and the famous Mel's Diner is right next door, there is actually an inside door connecting it and the Opal and they are a 50's style restaurant and serve wonderful burgers, shakes, and fries, as well as a large menu of other items, they are open long hours as well. Anyway, all I can say is do yourself a favor and make part of your San Fransisco vacation a stay at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top