The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
622 out of 622
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondHoneymoon20
Louisiana
Feb 4, 2014

Great room for price

Nice hotel. About 6 easy walking blocks from the BART. Good free breakfast. Great Staff. 6 Blocks from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 1, 2009

A Good Stay

We went to San Francisco for a fun weekend. Wicked Friday night, Outside Lands concert Saturday, and baseball game and comedy show on Sunday. The Opal was centrally located and was a quick walk or inexpensive cab ride away from all our activities. Maybe not the best neighborhood but not too bad. We had a clean, comfortable room and made the most of the ample complimentary continental breakfast each morning. Overall, this was a good place to stay and well worth the moderate price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario
Aug 27, 2009

Good Hotel for the price

The Opal was a nice hotel. Took advantage of the fitness centre. Rooms were a bit small but the service at the front desk made up for anything that was missing. The staff are so friendly and helpful - suggesting places to see and go for sightseeing and dinner. Can walk to Union Square in about 15 minutes (downhill on the way there) - great price considering the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great continental breakfast service .. always busy so go early if possible.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Aug 27, 2009

The Opal

This hotel is very quaint and cute. The rooms are very small but clean and included amenities such as iron and ironing board, hair blow dryer. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is located on a major bus line so it was very convinient to get to the fisherman's wharf. Union square was within walking distance, about 5 blocks. The only thing I wasn't impressed with was the complimentary breakfast. The menu included- toast, cold cereal, bagels (if you're one of the first people there), orange juice, tea, and coffee. Although, Mel's Drive-in is next door and can be accessed from the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To park in the hotel lots it costs about $28 per night. However, I found it worth it with the amount of traffic, lack of parking, and street meters in San Francisco. Plus, the bus line only costs $2 per person and you can ride and/or transfer buses for several hours.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biki
Business
NYC
Aug 26, 2009

very good for the price

I visited family and friends who lived close by. The room had jus the one chair at the desk. An easy chair would have been nice. Service was extremely good and quick. Continental breakfast was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liam's grandma
Business
Foxboro, MA
Aug 26, 2009

a good value

good location for walking to many attractions. close to transportation. only one working ice-machine for 5 floors. insufficient seating for breakfast during high season. buffet breakfast was adequate. Dest staff was always helpful and courteous. This hotel does not have a lot of amenitities but its location and price make it a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Muni pass is a good deal for someone who plans on taking public transportation to get around San Francisco.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 19, 2009

Creepy

bed bugs. we got the hell outta dodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Almost Retirees
Business
Dallas
Aug 9, 2009

Great Launch Site to SF Explorations

This older hotel with small rooms is NOT plush, but offered all we needed for an excellent price. Our plan was not to relax at the hotel. We learned to take advantage of the close bus stops to see everything on our list in San Francisco. We also walked a great deal during the day (even the very steep hills and we're 63) but made sure we were home or getting off at a close bus stop at night. The distance to sites we wanted to see was a bit more than some would like but we enjoyed our new modes of public transportation. We were glad not to have a car to park at $25 per day. The Hop On and Off 48 hour double decker tour bus pass we bought ($42) allowed us to visit many of the popular sight-seeing locations. We had to walk about 5 blocks to pick it up but the bus driver would let us offer within 2 blocks (not a regular stop.) We also walked another 5 blocks in a different direction to rent a car and drive up through some of the wine and the redwood areas. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts were quite sufficient and offered a means to compare notes or suggestions with other vacationers. There was a wine tasting and piano player in the lobby on Wednesday before dinner time. Really quite pleasant. I would make only two negative comments. The once very nice carpet needed to be replaced. Also there is not a good selection of close places to eat in the evening. Mel's Diner (attached) has great menu but not what you would consider fare for an evening out. We were huffing and puffing often from our climbs up the steep streets but we were smiling all the way and considered this one of our best ever vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We took the 38L bus recommended at the check-in desk to The Cliff House (about 6 miles; 30 minutes)for dinner. This is a historical restaurant that is celebrating their 100 year anniversay by offering a 3 course dinner on Wednesdays in their Bistro restaurant. We had to wait (no reservations allowed) but spent the time well with a glass of wine at a table in the bar by the window overlooking the ocean where we could see the pelicans and seals on a rock island just off the coast. Also there were interesting cliffs and caves that we observed. Our dinner table also overlooked the breath taking views of the ocean sunset. Several days later we returned to explore the caves, cliffs and nearby walking paths through the park to points that offered beautiful views of the Mile Lighthouse and the Golden Gate Bridge - sturdy shoes needed.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bruin girl
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 7, 2009

parking not included

I know it's San Francisco and parking is limited, but had I known parking was not included in my hotel cost, I would have probably stayed somewhere else. Room was also pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 3, 2009

Terrible

We had to ask twice before housekeeping emptied our trash baskets. I had to ask twice for a new ethernet cable because the one in the room was frayed. Front desk waS very rude. Told me to call the AT&T helpdesk. The desk chair in our room did not slide in under the desk, so we kept bumping into it to get to the bathroom. Terrible setup. Terrible overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joynt accross the street had the best brisket we ever had! Delicious

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 29, 2009

Great Hotel and Location for the Money

I just used my room to sleep since I was out in the city all day - the room was clean, had a desk and free internet service. I would recommend staying here to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf

Back to menu Return to top