$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
633 reviews
Old SF charm

very nice hotel with old fashioned charm. conveniently located for city transportation..but be... See full review

  • zimeroooni
  • Dec 21, 2014
Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with... See full review

  • TravelerAsia
  • Sep 26, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (633)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
633 out of 633
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calibuckeye
San Diego, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic stay!

The Opal has a wonderful and helpful staff and a very old school French feel to the hotel. They even sent me a complimentary bottle of wine to our room for my birthday. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 17, 2009

Like hotels used to be

Easy to get to on public transportation. The staff were all great, the ambiance European, clientele young and international-student and family. I will stay again when I'm in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy SF Visitor
Business
Boulder, CO
Aug 12, 2009

Absolutely Wonderful in All Dimensions!

This hotel was superb and reasonably priced! The location was delightfully central without being smack in the middle of massive tourist-land; Easy access to public transit (I bought a several-day transit pass, what a great deal!); The old, restored architecture means the rooms are quiet (no shoddy new construction here, never heard my neighbors); The row of restaurants and shops one block away on Polk was easy access to anything needed in a jiffy, including yoga!; Just stay away from the Tenderloin neighborhood directly to the northeast; The staff is super helpful and courteous; The contintental breakfast was a bit dull (mostly bread), but overall, this hotel rocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a several day transit pass from across the street at the gift shop, Cathedral Hill hotel. $11 for single day, $18 for 3 days or $24 for 7 days. Well worth it to get around town as it also includes cable and street cars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed the man
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Good Hotel in a not so great area

Good Hotel, helpfull staff which seemed overworked at times, nevertheless friendly. Continental breakfast was good. Rooms where small but nevertheless well kept. Big downside is location!!! It is located on the edge of a bad neighborhood. But if you can manage great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab. Especially if you have a female companion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Almost Retirees
Business
Dallas
Aug 9, 2009

Great Launch Site to SF Explorations

This older hotel with small rooms is NOT plush, but offered all we needed for an excellent price. Our plan was not to relax at the hotel. We learned to take advantage of the close bus stops to see everything on our list in San Francisco. We also walked a great deal during the day (even the very steep hills and we're 63) but made sure we were home or getting off at a close bus stop at night. The distance to sites we wanted to see was a bit more than some would like but we enjoyed our new modes of public transportation. We were glad not to have a car to park at $25 per day. The Hop On and Off 48 hour double decker tour bus pass we bought ($42) allowed us to visit many of the popular sight-seeing locations. We had to walk about 5 blocks to pick it up but the bus driver would let us offer within 2 blocks (not a regular stop.) We also walked another 5 blocks in a different direction to rent a car and drive up through some of the wine and the redwood areas. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts were quite sufficient and offered a means to compare notes or suggestions with other vacationers. There was a wine tasting and piano player in the lobby on Wednesday before dinner time. Really quite pleasant. I would make only two negative comments. The once very nice carpet needed to be replaced. Also there is not a good selection of close places to eat in the evening. Mel's Diner (attached) has great menu but not what you would consider fare for an evening out. We were huffing and puffing often from our climbs up the steep streets but we were smiling all the way and considered this one of our best ever vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We took the 38L bus recommended at the check-in desk to The Cliff House (about 6 miles; 30 minutes)for dinner. This is a historical restaurant that is celebrating their 100 year anniversay by offering a 3 course dinner on Wednesdays in their Bistro restaurant. We had to wait (no reservations allowed) but spent the time well with a glass of wine at a table in the bar by the window overlooking the ocean where we could see the pelicans and seals on a rock island just off the coast. Also there were interesting cliffs and caves that we observed. Our dinner table also overlooked the breath taking views of the ocean sunset. Several days later we returned to explore the caves, cliffs and nearby walking paths through the park to points that offered beautiful views of the Mile Lighthouse and the Golden Gate Bridge - sturdy shoes needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bruin girl
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 7, 2009

parking not included

I know it's San Francisco and parking is limited, but had I known parking was not included in my hotel cost, I would have probably stayed somewhere else. Room was also pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 3, 2009

Terrible

We had to ask twice before housekeeping emptied our trash baskets. I had to ask twice for a new ethernet cable because the one in the room was frayed. Front desk waS very rude. Told me to call the AT&T helpdesk. The desk chair in our room did not slide in under the desk, so we kept bumping into it to get to the bathroom. Terrible setup. Terrible overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joynt accross the street had the best brisket we ever had! Delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jul 29, 2009

Great Hotel and Location for the Money

I just used my room to sleep since I was out in the city all day - the room was clean, had a desk and free internet service. I would recommend staying here to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Jul 29, 2009

ok

friendly staff. just make sure you have room not facing VAN NESS st. hotel itself is fine. certain area outside hotel u might avoid walking by. of course there is always more than one route to hotel. And lastly, could be 10 to 15 bucks cheaper. Orbitz not always the cheapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

North Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 27, 2009

Friendly staff great value amazing locat

My first trip to San Francisco, the only thing I didn't like was the weather. it was freakishly cold. Great restaurants beautiful parks and friendly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive yourself around it's really easy to navigate this city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 27, 2009

Excellent hotel on a main road

A fine hotel very near public transport on the Van Ness. Not wise to walk to and from the Bart, but a great stay nonetheless. Easy walking distance to Chinatown as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great spots to eat in Chinatown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top