$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete Zahut
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2013

Opal in early June

Excellent value, excellent location, excellent staff...room was clean and spacious (king-size bed, non-smoking, facing south on 4th floor)...staff was highly professional, courteous, and answered all our questions...breakfast was filling and simple (hard-boiled eggs, toast, bagels, cream cheese) and allowed us to save money for a nicer lunch...close to public transportation (including Muni buses and California/Van Ness cable car terminus a few blocks away)...EXTREMELY EASY ACCESS to FIsherman's Wharf, Civic Center/Union Square, and other locations. We were able to go to the wine hour on Wednesdays 5-6 where there were tons of cheese, crackers, and red and white wines (only a handful of people were there and the staff gave us the already opened bottles after the hour ended). As for location, it is indeed on the edge of the Tenderloin, but unlike other guests, we did not see or experience any 'unsavory characters' either during the day or at night (we stayed at Opal mid-week in early June). Absolutely plan to stay there again for our next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of cheap and filling ethnic (Thai, Indian) restaurants a few blocks east in Tenderloin (if you're willing to tolerate the sight of a few homeless people).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AAsian
Business
Chico,ca!
Oct 6, 2009

Loves

I went to love fest and the location was amazing! great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George -Sales Mgr
Business
Glendale, CA
Oct 4, 2009

GOOD LOCATION - CLEAN - GOOD VALUE

Went to Palace of Fine Arts - SMUIN BALLET - Close to everything - we did have a car - Dinner at Warf - Lunch in town (Sushi) Our room 227 was exceptionally large 2 queen beds and a sofa bed..Suite. Much larger than our previous room at this hotel, and much more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Palace of Fine Arts - SMUIN BALLET - MEDEA - SINATRA FABULOUS - THRU 10-11-09 Holiday show will begin rehersals in November for December opening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
me and my mom
Business
redding, ca
Oct 1, 2009

fantastic mother/daughter getaway

I suprised my mom with tickets to a Giants game, and I had googled AT&T Park and hotels and the Opal came up. It was about 1.7 miles from the park, and right on Van Ness (hwy 101) running thru San Fransisco which made it extremely convenient. We were able to check in 3 hrs early and were given a free upgrade to a king size bed. The hotel was built in the early 1900's I believe and is very beautiful from the chandeliers in the entry to the stained glass window in the stairwells. Being that old it is a boutique hotel, and so very charming. The staff was warm and friendly. The continental breakfast was nice. There are 2 parking areas at the hotel, self parking with 24 hr a day in and out services. We were able to find parking places both times we left and came in, they are a bit small but you have to realize the location of the hotel. They offer a AAA discount for parking. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, so much so that my mom wondered if they would notice if she snuck a pillow home with her! She didn't try it by the way. I can't think of a single thing that the hotel could have done to make our stay more enjoyable, I highly recommend the Opal to anyone. My mom and I have many wonderful memories from this trip and the Opal is definitely one of them. Oh and the famous Mel's Diner is right next door, there is actually an inside door connecting it and the Opal and they are a 50's style restaurant and serve wonderful burgers, shakes, and fries, as well as a large menu of other items, they are open long hours as well. Anyway, all I can say is do yourself a favor and make part of your San Fransisco vacation a stay at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gothenburg, Sweden.
Oct 1, 2009

2 nights in SF

Room was ok but the view was to a boring dirty wall. Staff was not really friendly and was almost like they expected a certain type of guests that didnt fit with us. Breakfast was served to late so we didnt get any. Good with a small exercise room and lanudry room. The town buses came just outside, but the hotel was abit to close to the nast areas downtown with all strange wanderers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try out the whale tours, that was really amazing. We saw 15 whales and that was the best thing with our 4 weeks in CA. [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 26, 2009

A fairly good hotel for the price

While the hotel is not in the greatest location, the service was good and the rooms were well maintained. Overall, I think it delivered great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gig Harbor, Washington
Sep 24, 2009

We were very happy with the acomidations

WEe were very happy with the whole experience. I would recomend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Love it!

I loved how friendly and helpful the staff was, the complimentary continental breakfast was very much appreciated, the location was perfect-walking to Union Square plus close cab/bus rides to anywhere, plus the historic look and feel of the hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fog Harbor on Pier 39 on the waterfront was excellent-great views and food! I am from Massachusetts and it was some of the best clam chowder and seafood I have ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frisco Traveler
Business
Central Coast
Sep 22, 2009

Great location, great price, good hotel

The staff was wonderful, very helpful in suggesting restaurants, bars, and guiding us to where we wanted to go. The room was a bit small with a slightly hard bed, but pretty clean. Within walking distance of Chinatown, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf (although that one is a long walk). Decent inexpensive restaurants and bars nearby. The best bang for your buck, other nearby hotels were slightly less expensive but very sketchy-looking, others were much more expensive and looked very comparable at least from the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Sep 15, 2009

wish to cancel

scary neighborhood, street people everywhere, terrible parking even for registration with nortorious SF one-way small alcatraz cell-like room with suffocating no vent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Sep 15, 2009

Charming old place in downtown setting

We chose this hotel for its proximity to downtown SF and the Pier. That came with its own set of 'downtown-type' issues (traffic, vagrants, etc.) The hotel itself was very nice, staff was friendly and professional, room was clean and interesting, though a little small. They did a great job of keeping the outside issues outside. We felt secure & comfortable. There were no real noise problems inside the hotel or our guest room. A decent stay, overall, and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Pier, about 10 min away by taxi or car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top