$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondHoneymoon20
Louisiana
Feb 4, 2014

Great room for price

Nice hotel. About 6 easy walking blocks from the BART. Good free breakfast. Great Staff. 6 Blocks from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The once in a moon traveler
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 5, 2010

Super Location, 25 Dollars Parking Fee

Hotel charges a 25 dollars parking fee per day and rooms are small! So be aware. The location is superb tough, can use the public transportation for everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Inspector
Business
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2010

No Hot Water!!!!!

Don't expect the water to be hot for a shower. I'm a building engineer and when the onsite maintenance guy told me that it was from a lot of showers being taken all at once, I snickered at him, since I had already called the front desk 5 minutes prior and they told me that no one else has complained about only having warm water. If this was the case, you will NOT get a hot shower here due to an undersized boiler!!! I have to say that they did offer me another room to shower in, but I denied due to what their maintenance guy told me. I am not recommending this hotel only due the no hot water issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little diner right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Stayed here for the New Years 2010

My friend (25) and I (22) stayed here for New Years Eve all the way until the end of the weekend. This was my first time at The Opal and I was a bit skeptical. The times I stayed in S.F., I stayed across the street from this hotel at the "Cathedral Hill" hotel. But they shut down in Oct. 2009. Anyways, I am not that picky and well, the stay was good. The rooms were very clean, Mel's Dine-In was downstairs, Union Square was a long walk (or very short taxi ride) away in which I didn't mind because I ran into many interesting shops and restaurants along the way on Geary Ave. and it was close to everything we needed. We were here in town for partying purposes and this hotel was near clubs and bars. We just needed a decent place to sleep and shower. The hotel is nice and very basic. Nothing fancy. The only thing that caught me off guard was the fact that I had to put down a $100.00 deposit when checking in which was a first for me. I'm still waiting for them to release my deposit back to my account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lappo
Business
Redondo Beach,CA
Jan 3, 2010

good!

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The location was very convenient to go anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bayarea, ca
Jan 1, 2010

Bring an extra 30 bucks per night!

Hotel is in a excellent location in SF. However there is limited parking so you must show up early. And there is this unmentioned $30.00 per day for parking. I would not have minded the additional charge but I don't like it being sprung on me upon check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bayarea, ca
Jan 1, 2010

Bring an extra 30 bucks per night!

Hotel is in a excellent location in SF. However there is limited parking so you must show up early. And there is this unmentioned $30.00 per day for parking. I would not have minded the additional charge but I don't like it being sprung on me upon check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lmroderick
Business
Carmel Valley, CA
Dec 28, 2009

A great find

The hotel staff was friendly and quick. Our room was very nice and clean. The hotel had been modernized while keeping the period styling, which I loved. The location was a quick drive to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, etc. Our use of the room was just a place to sleep, so we did not check out the amenities, but we thought it was a great hotel for a terrific price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA and Marlton, NJ
Dec 27, 2009

The Opal of San Francisco

The desk clerks were very helpful and provided excellent touring suggestions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located near all the action or means (ie. trolleys) to get to the action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Themis
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 17, 2009

Nice hotel

The hotel was clean and very close to downtown. The staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Themis
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 17, 2009

Nice hotel

The hotel was clean and very close to downtown. The staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top