$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
630 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (630)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
630 out of 630
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondHoneymoon20
Louisiana
Feb 4, 2014

Great room for price

Nice hotel. About 6 easy walking blocks from the BART. Good free breakfast. Great Staff. 6 Blocks from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Jul 29, 2009

Great Hotel and Location for the Money

I just used my room to sleep since I was out in the city all day - the room was clean, had a desk and free internet service. I would recommend staying here to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northville, MI
Jul 29, 2009

ok

friendly staff. just make sure you have room not facing VAN NESS st. hotel itself is fine. certain area outside hotel u might avoid walking by. of course there is always more than one route to hotel. And lastly, could be 10 to 15 bucks cheaper. Orbitz not always the cheapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

North Beach

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Canada
Jul 27, 2009

Friendly staff great value amazing locat

My first trip to San Francisco, the only thing I didn't like was the weather. it was freakishly cold. Great restaurants beautiful parks and friendly people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and drive yourself around it's really easy to navigate this city.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jul 27, 2009

Excellent hotel on a main road

A fine hotel very near public transport on the Van Ness. Not wise to walk to and from the Bart, but a great stay nonetheless. Easy walking distance to Chinatown as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many great spots to eat in Chinatown.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wrick
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2009

Stay at The OPAL for a nice experience

I was there at SFO for a conference and stayed at The Opal for 4 nights. It was a very nice experience. The price was right and so the was the staff. I stayed in a double queen bed room. It was decent enough for a single person though I thought it would have been a little small for two people. There was a huge rush of tourists in the hotel and the staff maintained the hotel very nicely. Overall a value for money Hotel and yeah they have a free breakfast every morning and there is a diner which is open till late on the 1st floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Run to a nice hotel
San Francisco, CA
Jul 25, 2009

Not a good stay

I was expecting a four star hotel and this one is maybe a two. It's old with a room that did not provide a view. Everything in the room was old. They offered no return on our funds. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. They are plenty of nice hotel within blocks of this location. I ended up going to the Hilton up the street on my own dime. I would not stay at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at a nice hotel in this area. There are plenty of them including the Hilton.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kukitina
seattle,WA
Jul 23, 2009

good enough for the price such a deal!

the location is perfect!! everything is close!! I love that! all the touristic areas such as fisherman wharf(<-I love this place), downtown(hippie area haha)..banks, restaurant, pubs and so on.etc etc very close.Transportation everywhere!!wow!! taxis are super cheap, but if you want to save even more money, you can take public transportation for $2 w/transfer!! such a deal!!Don't forget to bring a sweater because San Francisco has unexpected crazy weather!..they call Indian Summer! windy windy! one day was 70ºF and the next day was 58ºF (<- I am talking about this !)..Hotel..check in at 3pm, check out at noon :P the people is so friendly and helpful! Don't be shy ask them anyquestion they will help you out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego Way
Business
San Diego
Jul 23, 2009

San Francisco Charm

Orbitz could not possibly have been better to me than they were when I checked into this hotel. The checking in process was difficult with The Opal, but the hotel was very charming and staff very polite. The maid service was fantastic! Every night my bed was turned down and had fresh sheets. My room was spotless. The only two small things are first, this hotel is an historic old building, so the elevator is VERY slow. Second, the air conditioning isn't as efficient due to small rooms and arrangement of furniture - even in the hallways the air doesn't feel on even though it is. The temp outside is around 65-70 degrees so, just open the window and let the nice SF Bay breeze cool the room. Then it's all fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous places for evening entertainment literally right next to the hotel. Just bring a friend at night because the area on one side of the street is scary and on the other is nice.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Las tres new city chicas
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 22, 2009

Ummm....not that bad....

Bums roam around The Opal, still that is the case for most of San Francisco. I traveled with two other ladies, we never felt anxiety about traveling around SF. BUT I would not recommend this hotel if you are traveling alone. The Opal is conveniently located around bars, and places to eat. We took several cab rides around SF and on average it cost us $10 (including tip), very convenient when splitting it among three people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take a laptop!! The Opal has free internet! You can look up things to do, including buses and bus fare....Also the folks at the front desk were extremely helpful when we asked about things to do in SF.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gran, Granny, Mom, whatever works.
Los Angeles
Jul 22, 2009

A charming environment to relax in

This was a fast trip to meet up with family members for an outing. The hotel was charming. Continental breakfast could have been better if fresh fruit and pastries were provided. I spent very little time in the hotel but I found the room very comfortable, clean and perfect for my trip. Staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

California Academy of Sciences and de Young Museum well worth the trip

Back to menu Return to top

Change search