$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
670 out of 670
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taa3034
Business
Reedley, Ca.
Jul 7, 2009

Fourth of July trip

location located near muni bus stops, which enabled to go to Giants game, Chinatown etc...Wonderful trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

use buses, cable cars were extremely expensive.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 11, 2010

Highly Recommended

I was greeted by a very friendly manager at check-in. He even voluntarily recommended activities and told me what areas to "avoid" on a map. The room and bathroom were very clean. This hotel is charming and located conveniently. The only disadvantage is the expensive parking fee and the lack of street parking in the vicinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park your car on the street - preferably one without street cleaning restrictions and take the bus! Saves you the inconvenience of driving around to look for a parking spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamaica man
Business
MD
May 23, 2009

Great location (& free breakfast!)

I've been here before and enjoyed it. Great location with easy access to public transport. They have free wifi and free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there's a quiznos one block down for a quick lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 23, 2010

Cute Old Hotel

Finding the hotel was the hardest part, mapquest did not send us to the right place so we were pretty mad. I called the hotel and the lady at the front desk helped us out. After that, I enjoyed being there. It was a cute hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't drive, just take the bus which is outside of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Jul 25, 2011

Great hotel for the price

Nice lobby and a very pleasant staff. The rooms are clean and the shower is polished. However, the room smelled like your grandparents house, not sure why... Overall it was a nice and quite hotel and I would recommend it for the barging hunters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Espetus Churrascaria (Brazilian)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SanDiego
Nov 11, 2009

Great value

There are numerous bars,restaurants,banks,bakery's,movie theater,within feet of the front door. The hotel was clean and quiet, there is a baby grand piano in the front area it was nice to hear a talented guest perform one afternoon, The complimentary breakfast was a good value too. The staff was very helpful and professional.I will stay in this hotel again there is nothing really bad to say other than the neighborhood at night is a bit sketchy so just becareful. I walked everynight with a friend and we had no issues but this is not the best neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joynt is great and across the street, Mel'sDiner is attached to hotel. around the corner is Cilantro a Mexican eatery Great!, there is pizza all up and down Polk. There are numerous sushi, and Indian, Thai,all sorts of great places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cajun Cousin
Business
Loiisiana
Nov 11, 2009

Great Location for the Price

The rooms were quiet and sleeping was uneventful. Great location; walking distance to some entertainment and restaurants, on cable car and bus routes, taxies, etc. Great rates for the room and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to all variety of food choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 29, 2007

Affordable but somewhat dissatisfied

The Opal is very close to Fisherman's Wharf which is where we spent most of our time. The hotel itself offers a great price for downtown San Francisco. There are a lot of bums that hang out on the streets in the area though. The rooms are pretty small but very clean. The vending machines didn't have any soda so I had to go to the store or a restaurant to get something to drink (they do put a couple bottles of water in your room though). Mel's diner is downstairs, really good food, open really late. We had a car though and didn't expect to pay $25 a night for parking. It isn't the easiest access for parking. You have to make a u-turn to get into the garage and then you have to get out of your car and push a button for the garage door to open and then hurry to get back in your car before the door closes. Not the best if you have a car. It was pretty easy to catch public transporation. Overall, it wasn't bad but it wouldn't be my first choice if I were to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive or cab ride away is Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 (for shopping), Alcatraz (a must-see!) great restaurants, and the Golden Gate Bridge. You would be better off taking public transporatation than driving. The parking at Fisherman's Wharf is about $4 an hour, no more than $28 per day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glendale
Aug 12, 2008

My review of The Opal

Luckily found this hotel, although not cheap. Parking is a real PROBLEM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Changhui
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 7, 2008

Good and friendly

Save money, and save time. convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top