$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bui Thanh Trung
Business
Dallas, TX
Mar 28, 2010

excellent location in San for travel...

very near all the center: Civic center, Little Saigon, City Hall, Park, Golden Gate Bridge, Fisherman's Warf... go by bus or taxi. However the long distance rate is rather high, so pls call by card or using internet for cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bruin girl
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 7, 2009

parking not included

I know it's San Francisco and parking is limited, but had I known parking was not included in my hotel cost, I would have probably stayed somewhere else. Room was also pretty small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OR
Mar 27, 2011

Not quite Union Square

The hotel is pretty good. Friendly staff for the most part. Parking is a bit shady. If you like old school style hotels this is the place for you. if you like modern you're out of like at this location. My biggest complaint is that it's not quite union square. It's not too far of a walk and Van Ness is a nice street but right behind the hotel is a sketchy neighborhood. If you want something modern in the heart of union square this is NOT your cup of tea

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
City Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 9, 2011

Adequate and Useful, but...

Went on a leisure trip to explore the city. The Opal was good price, nicely situated (during the daytime at least, pretty safe), easy to get to busses, and had some good food places around it. The furnishings were a bit old and scuffed up, but the room was pretty clean and the beds were VERY comfortable. The service is a bit slow (asked for towels three times, until finally receiving them 25 minutes later) but the people at the desk were very nice and compatible. I think it's a good hotel for the deal they give you, and a good place to just get some sleep if you're running around the city, but if you're staying at the hotel for a longer period of time or spending a lot of time IN the hotel, find somewhere else. p.s. Continental breakfast is NOT their forte. Only bagels. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Street fairs! Free! Fun! Bus-ride accessible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Takeitfromme
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 12, 2011

Though classy, kinda outdated.

My friend and I stayed at the Opal for one night so we could run in the US Half Marathon. While the price was reasonable, it did have some drawbacks. 1) You must pay $31 for parking/night and it's in an underground garage that's only accessible by stairs. You need to drive down a "bum" alley to get there too. 2) Hallways are very narrow and if you're claustrophobic, that may bother you. 3) Amenities are few and far between, no pool but they do offer free Internet, fitness room, and breakfast. 4) No shuttle services to anywhere in town; thus, my friend and I had to walk all the way to Ghiradelli Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of clubs on Broadway, a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico
May 4, 2011

Good location

Average room, a bit over priced, but great location in San Fran. They add on 3 different charges and you can't have back until a week later. Can't find the vending machine anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 8, 2009

Okay budget place

Hotel was decent and historic, aesthetically pleasing except for the stained carpet in the rooms and odd smells in the hallway. But bed and bathroom were clean, so it was passable. Was slightly noisy being on Van Ness Avenue, but being from NYC that didn't keep me awake. Staff were fair but didn't go out of their way. Still, a great bargain for the location. 3 buses right outside the hotel and a short walk to the California streetcar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely take a wine-tasting tour to wine country and to Muir Woods (redwoods). Stunning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Alright value for it's price

This hotel is okay for it's age, you can tell that the building it old, so don't expect nice smell or shiny furniture. But the location is great, customer service was also great. The bathroom is renovated and clean which is a plus. This is a downtown location so parking is a pain. They offer hotel parking for a couple of tens of dollars a day :( For the most part this hotel provides very decent value for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
May 6, 2010

Good hotel, not so good neighborhood

The hotel is OK, the complementary breakfast makes a huge difference when traveling. It is located very close to bus stops (what is good), however it is not a great place to walk around, specially in the night, felt very insecure in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 21, 2011

Noisy street, clean room

We were visiting family, so spent very little time at the hotel. It was a windy, rainy night and our room was nice and quiet. It was pretty clean, but also felt a little old, but not really in a cute way (worn carpet, sheets were clean but had seen better days, some dust in the baseboards). The "breakfast" left something to be desired, but with Mels diner right next door, that's no problem. Location was decent. Close enough to my family's place who we were visiting. I would recommend to someone who wasn't going to stay long or spend much time in the hotel and was looking for something not too expensive according to San Francisco prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top