$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete Zahut
Couples
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2013

Opal in early June

Excellent value, excellent location, excellent staff...room was clean and spacious (king-size bed, non-smoking, facing south on 4th floor)...staff was highly professional, courteous, and answered all our questions...breakfast was filling and simple (hard-boiled eggs, toast, bagels, cream cheese) and allowed us to save money for a nicer lunch...close to public transportation (including Muni buses and California/Van Ness cable car terminus a few blocks away)...EXTREMELY EASY ACCESS to FIsherman's Wharf, Civic Center/Union Square, and other locations. We were able to go to the wine hour on Wednesdays 5-6 where there were tons of cheese, crackers, and red and white wines (only a handful of people were there and the staff gave us the already opened bottles after the hour ended). As for location, it is indeed on the edge of the Tenderloin, but unlike other guests, we did not see or experience any 'unsavory characters' either during the day or at night (we stayed at Opal mid-week in early June). Absolutely plan to stay there again for our next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of cheap and filling ethnic (Thai, Indian) restaurants a few blocks east in Tenderloin (if you're willing to tolerate the sight of a few homeless people).

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Woody
Couples
laake tahoe
Dec 13, 2009

pet friendly

good fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

movies next door

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the observer
Couples
Sunnyvale,CA
Dec 11, 2009

good location cool breakfast /wine hour

nice location cool continental breakfast cool wine hour housekeeping and front desk could do a better job but nobody really cares anymore nowadays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy T's is a really good experience

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Australia
Nov 30, 2009

Economical but nice

Travelled to Yosimite National Park,there was theater close by there were ample variety of eating establishments in close proximity.There was public transport available we were only there for two days so cannot comment further on available tourist attractions but we were happy with this hotel as a no nonsense economically priced accomadation i wouldn't hesitate to use it again or to recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Know the area and the public transport system

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
moorpark, ca
Nov 30, 2009

Wonderful visit

The room/suite was fabulous. The staff was very friendly. Great location, 4 blocks from the Cable Car stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mother / Daughter Combo
Family
Austin , TX
Nov 27, 2009

Fab

Wonderful surprize, jem of a place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dottorf83
Couples
Torino, Italy
Nov 26, 2009

Very bad district, parking charge

The hotel was nice, we booked it at a very good price,less than 60$/night but...when we arrived there they told us that the parking was not free but was 30$/day more! so our good deal went to the hell, we had to pay 90$ a day for a very very bad located hotel, in the most dangerous district of San Francisco. The room was clean, the personal was quite freindly and the breakfast good. Just we were searching for a cheap hotel and this was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwest trveler
Family
WI and MI
Nov 20, 2009

good value

When we requested more towels and coffee for our room, the staff could not have responded faster. They advertised 2 queen rooms but we got 2 doubles. Clean, helpful staff, smallish rooms, internet does not work in room due to weak signel but did work in lobby, continental breakfast adequate. Staff VERY busy at check in, but did well under great stress. Only one person at desk doing it all. Walking distance to many good inexpensive resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluskier
Single
Calgary, Alta
Nov 20, 2009

Opal Hotel

Clean,bright rooms, front desk staff were friendly and accomodating, all in all a very pleasant surprise. Would recommend earplugs as the traffic noise is a little ditracting. Mel's Diner great stick to your ribs food!!!! Just what you need after walking up and down hills all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suseldor
Friends
Germany
Nov 19, 2009

good hotel for sightseeing

We were just there for 4 nights to do some sightseeing in SF. Therefore the location was awesome. You could walk to mostly every place. The hotel was good for the price and the stuff were very helpful and friendly. The breakefast wasn't special and everyday the same but still okay. The good thing was the free coffee the whole day. All in all it was really good for our trip and we would go back anytimes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hanford, Ca
Nov 17, 2009

Just okay

A pleasant walk to Union Square and a great location to public transportation if going anywhere else in this great city! If you get a room on the same side of the movie house it can get noisy. Although this hotel is clean it is need of new carpet in rooms and new mattress's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top