$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Combs
Lenoir City, TN
Apr 12, 2014

The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and strived to meet our needs. Would return again and would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Opal is centrally located the major attractions in the downtown area. Very easy to use bus, cable cars to get where you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Stayed here for the New Years 2010

My friend (25) and I (22) stayed here for New Years Eve all the way until the end of the weekend. This was my first time at The Opal and I was a bit skeptical. The times I stayed in S.F., I stayed across the street from this hotel at the "Cathedral Hill" hotel. But they shut down in Oct. 2009. Anyways, I am not that picky and well, the stay was good. The rooms were very clean, Mel's Dine-In was downstairs, Union Square was a long walk (or very short taxi ride) away in which I didn't mind because I ran into many interesting shops and restaurants along the way on Geary Ave. and it was close to everything we needed. We were here in town for partying purposes and this hotel was near clubs and bars. We just needed a decent place to sleep and shower. The hotel is nice and very basic. Nothing fancy. The only thing that caught me off guard was the fact that I had to put down a $100.00 deposit when checking in which was a first for me. I'm still waiting for them to release my deposit back to my account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lappo
Business
Redondo Beach,CA
Jan 3, 2010

good!

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The location was very convenient to go anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bayarea, ca
Jan 1, 2010

Bring an extra 30 bucks per night!

Hotel is in a excellent location in SF. However there is limited parking so you must show up early. And there is this unmentioned $30.00 per day for parking. I would not have minded the additional charge but I don't like it being sprung on me upon check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lmroderick
Business
Carmel Valley, CA
Dec 28, 2009

A great find

The hotel staff was friendly and quick. Our room was very nice and clean. The hotel had been modernized while keeping the period styling, which I loved. The location was a quick drive to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, etc. Our use of the room was just a place to sleep, so we did not check out the amenities, but we thought it was a great hotel for a terrific price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Cruz, CA and Marlton, NJ
Dec 27, 2009

The Opal of San Francisco

The desk clerks were very helpful and provided excellent touring suggestions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located near all the action or means (ie. trolleys) to get to the action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Themis
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 17, 2009

Nice hotel

The hotel was clean and very close to downtown. The staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Woody
Business
laake tahoe
Dec 13, 2009

pet friendly

good fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

movies next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the observer
Business
Sunnyvale,CA
Dec 11, 2009

good location cool breakfast /wine hour

nice location cool continental breakfast cool wine hour housekeeping and front desk could do a better job but nobody really cares anymore nowadays

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy T's is a really good experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Nov 30, 2009

Economical but nice

Travelled to Yosimite National Park,there was theater close by there were ample variety of eating establishments in close proximity.There was public transport available we were only there for two days so cannot comment further on available tourist attractions but we were happy with this hotel as a no nonsense economically priced accomadation i wouldn't hesitate to use it again or to recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Know the area and the public transport system

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
moorpark, ca
Nov 30, 2009

Wonderful visit

The room/suite was fabulous. The staff was very friendly. Great location, 4 blocks from the Cable Car stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top