$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Chomak
Santa Rosa
Nov 13, 2012

Great Place and not expensive either!

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was perfect for our family of 4. It had two queen beds (which is hard to find in SF) and a queen sofa sleeper in a small sitting area and a large walk in closet!. Lots of room!!!!! As others have said, it is an older hotel so don't expect modern furniture or TV, but TV reception was great. Reason I left a 4 star for cleanliness was because the pillows were sub-par on comfort and they appeared old. The pillow cases were clean though so not to worry! And the blanket in the sofa sleeper was a bit gross, so we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was great! Yogurt, bagels, toast, fruit, mufifins, hot chocolate and good coffee!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying with a car, the meters are free on Sundays. You can also park for free in a yellow zone after 6PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yays
Business
Oregon
Apr 11, 2014

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling and the drier worked.

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling, that one day, and the drier worked, it may actually be a very good hotel, especially for the price and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 28, 2008

ok

it was fine... the price was great. it's old though. there were very small elevators. it reminded me of a cheap bed and breakfast in europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's diner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
Jul 15, 2009

nothing's worse than a rude "supervisor"

It was a very bad start to my weekend get away. Upon trying to leave my bags (as I arrived early), I was given an extremely rude and condescending "Check in is at 3. WE DON'T HAVE A ROOM" before I could even say a word. I thought I was the paying guest.Needless to say, this extremely rude guest relations person named [...] neglected to take down my name so by the time I came back to check in, the only rooms left were smoking. Even though I had confirmation for a NON-SMOKING room. They "upgraded" me to a bigger room, (smoking) but the entire place was in dire need of renovation and clean up. This place is worn down. Stains on carpet and cracked sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
power shopper
Business
Seattle, Wa
Oct 17, 2011

Girls shopping trip to Union Square

Union Square is NOT within walking distance. It is within HIKING distance. And the hotel borders the Tenderloin, so not a safe area to be walking about at night. The staff were wonderful, but somehow, when I've booked a room through Orbitz I ALWAYS get the one with the view of the room and air/heat conditioning units or a tiny window overlooking the fire escape. So far 2 for 2. Makes me wonder if paying a little more wouldn't be worth getting a larger room with a better view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DINK's
Business
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Dec 19, 2011

VERY WELL LOCATED

The hotEl is quite old, with little confort: no frigidaire in rooms, showers do not work properly, the garage service not only is not free but quite expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy hour
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 16, 2012

Night out in the city

We were looking for a nice, conveniently located place for a night out in San Francisco. Although the Wednesday Wine Social was a definite plus from 5-6pm, the room definitely needs to be updated and did not have a sense that it was very clean. I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
talk a lot
Business
stockton
Mar 22, 2012

bueaty and the beast

when we arived they printed a voucher for our tour which was great. the beasty thing was they gave away one of our 3 rooms . they gave us another room thank fully . my sons 2 rooms were good but our room had a bleach spot on the carpet. we did not have a microwave but we could use mels diner the room also had a mold smell like a musty smell and the sheets made me itch i have algeries i figure maybe their laundry soap the contental breakfast was not so good we ate at mel julie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PB Duluth
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Grand daugthers birthday trip

Great location. Continental breakfast adequate; no microwave or cereals in breakfast room. Ask for an interior room to avoid night noise from Van Ness Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner with access through hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reina216
Business
Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Good Price, A Little Sacrifice

San Francisco being the city that it is, I could not expect to get a decent price on a hotel room without a little sacrifice. The hotel was old and out-dated. Carpets were stained throughout the hallways and room. Our room was a little muggy with a slight odor, but was tolerable with the window open. Besides, most of our time was spent out and about and the room just a place to sleep. Therefore it was a clean enough place even though I typically would prefer a nicer environment. In addition, the room had no fridge which is a major negative for our family. We paid the additional price to have parking every evening. Well worth the money. The staff was very friendly and quick to respond to any requests. Being that I had two children with me (ages 2 and 4) it is nice when you do not have to wait very long when you need something. Location was great. Not very far from anything we had planned to do or see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mimi and Pappap
Business
San Fransicso CA
Aug 2, 2012

Was not what I expected

The bedroom was very small but clean although the bathroom quite large. Breakfast was horrible. We did not eat at the hotel and had to pay for our breakfast somewhere else. There was a fee to use the hotel computer and the parking fee was very high. The air conditioner blew directly on the bed and although we tried to change directions of the air, we could not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 39. Lots of places to eat and shop, fresh fruit and vegetables available for purchase. Alcatraz Island cruise available here as well as many other attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top