$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
879 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (879)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
879 out of 879
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Chomak
Santa Rosa
Nov 13, 2012

Great Place and not expensive either!

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was perfect for our family of 4. It had two queen beds (which is hard to find in SF) and a queen sofa sleeper in a small sitting area and a large walk in closet!. Lots of room!!!!! As others have said, it is an older hotel so don't expect modern furniture or TV, but TV reception was great. Reason I left a 4 star for cleanliness was because the pillows were sub-par on comfort and they appeared old. The pillow cases were clean though so not to worry! And the blanket in the sofa sleeper was a bit gross, so we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was great! Yogurt, bagels, toast, fruit, mufifins, hot chocolate and good coffee!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying with a car, the meters are free on Sundays. You can also park for free in a yellow zone after 6PM.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
coral springs, florida
Jul 10, 2011

great staff, but terrible area

The hotel staff was very helpful, but the room was shabby and the neighborhood felt unsafe. We were approached twice by drunk men, and at breakfast one morning there were two obviously homeless people eating, in spite of the fact that the door is kept locked and a hotel key is needed to enter. This was our second stay in two weeks {we were in Reno in between} and our room the first time had badly stained carpet and no counter in the bathroom. Between the shabbiness and the neighborhood, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Dirty Rooms

Front desk was not very friendly. Did not offer or asked if we wanted a second room key. The room was very dark. The carpet was old and very dirty. The sheets and blankets had mendings done once too many. They should have been replaced. After the first night, my 3 yr old son's pillow was missing. We had it placed in our bags to ensure it would not be misplaced. It was gone that evening. We had called front desk to inquire if they had found a child's pillow and neither housekeeping nor front desk was helpful. We had explained it to the manager that it was placed in our bags and it had disappeared. The pillows were hand made for my little ones and one was missing from our bags. They did nothing about it. It was nice to have the continental breakfast. Dining area was too small to accommodate all the guests (both inside and outside near front desk). We came home with hives from dirty bed sheets and blankets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Japantown is 5 blocks away. Good walk. Chinatown is easy access to by bus or 14 blocks by foot. Short cab ride to the Pier and Wharf. Mel's dinner is next door and has entrance access in hotel.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 18, 2011

The bad and the ugly

We went to San Francisco to attend my cousin's graduation.We stayed in the The Opal hotel its so frustating when we got to the room because the room is so small the carpet is so dirty. The toilet is not even functioning, so I called the front desk if we can move us to a bigger room, so they did moved us to a different room which is a bigger room I guess, on our second day I can't really stand the carpet is so dirty I called [...]if we can checkout earlier because we are not happy with the hotel, they called the hotel if it's possible for us to checkout earlier. Unfortunately, we cannot because of the hotel policy, they cannot refund us our money. So they advised me to go the front desk and talk to the manager instead if we can checkout earlier. I called the front desk many times to ask for the manager, the manager's office always on a voice mail so I left messages for him to call me back regarding our situation in the hotel. The manager did not call me at all. I'm so frustated. So I will not recommend this hotel to any of my relatives and friends. This hotel is so disgusting. We always travel but this is the worse dirtiest hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave's World
Business
Lake Tahoe, NV
Nov 7, 2013

Who Thinks this Hotel is Three Stars?

Over the years, I have stayed at this hotel and its service and quality grow worse with each stay. This stay lasted about 30 minutes before I checked out and found a decent hotel. This is the problem with the booking website is pre-pay because it doesn't give you the ability to demand a refund when the hotel is profoundly inferior compared to how it is represented on the site. Keep that in mind. Issues -- room smelled like a latrine. Television in the room was small, CRT, had to be at least 20 years old. The hotel locks the entry doors so arrival at 700p required being buzzed in. The front desk person, Maria, saw me at the door and didn't open it until I yelled to get her attention. She then chastised me for yelling. Great hospitality attitude by her and others. Parking is a disaster -- hard to find, you need a clicker provided by the desk. Be sure not to ask Maria where parking can be found or how to get there. English as a second language spoken very fast makes her incomprehensible, and when asked to speak slower, she actually did the opposite. If you'd like to enjoy San Francisco as if camping in an outhouse, this is the place for you. Otherwise, pay a few dollars more and select a branded hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxi's at the Opera House plaza is a great, reasonably priced restaurant.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacob P.
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2010

Terrible, stay at your own risk

Pros: Nice lobby, quick elevator, good shower pressure and warm water Cons: It is very telling that there are more photos of san fran sites than of the hotel. The room we got (two double) was incredibly small, with the beds almost touching each other and spanning from wall to wall. There was one thin window (more like a slit) which was mostly blocked by the shade of the building itself. Everything in the hotel looked like it was from the 1950s, and hadn't been updated in as long. The floors creaked. The complimentary toiletries were a small pouch of shampoo and conditioner so that once you open it, it can't really be used again. Housekeeping almost broke our door down to clean the room the morning ON THE DAY WE WERE CHECKING OUT, whereas every other hotel in the world crosschecks so as to not needlessly clean a room that will be vacated in a couple hours. The staff downstairs was terrible, unhelpful and often rude with snarky comments about how we're lucky to even have a room at all, even though we had had a reservation. The hotel isn't really close to anything and is a good 15-20 minute walk to the nearest train station (civic center). The diner right by is ridiculously overpriced and fantastically slow. There are two waitresses for the whole place, and they have cashier duties too. It takes forever to order, receive, and pay for even a simple meal. The area is not nice, lots of homeless people and beggars, especially at night. STAY FAR FAR AWAY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to civic center train, take it up to powell street stop, where you find the classic cable cars which will take you to fisherman's wharf.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Opal Hater
Oakhurst Ca
Jan 12, 2010

***Beware Additional Parking Costs****

Arrived at 9 pm and tried to check in...Hotel Clerk was nice but informed me that I needed to pay another 50 dollar deposit and would only accept a credit card, only brought cash so had to go to the nearest WF ATM to deposit money into account. Finally got checked in around 11 pm. Hotel clerk asked if I would like parking and indicated that it would be another 25 DOLLARS PER NIGHT. I asked where else we could park and she indicated on the street (which is not safe and has many homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk). So I paid the 25 bucks and brought my full size truck around the block to the parking garage, upper parking lot was full so I tried the lower parking lot...which only had a 6 foot clearance...so I called the clerk again and she indicated that I should park in the only spot availble a HC parking spot at the top parking lot...luckily I had the assistance of a local bum to guide to the right location (he was more help than the hotel clerk). Finally got to room and found the elevator would go up but would not go down to the garage. 2 bed room was small with no view... got bit by something during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pn2do
León, gto. México
Dec 26, 2012

Very bad experience to stay in SF

I was thiking to surprise to my wife, but was a very bad experience. The neiborhood is very dangerous, we had a very bad experience. The parking in the hotel is very expensive, they never told us about some charge for parking, and when we left the room, they tell us that we need pay 30 dollars per day, Very bad...I don´t want to tell more about the hotel, but definitly I don´t recommend for nothing this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
linzi
san diego, ca
Jul 18, 2012

Not worth it

Did not feel safe in the hotel location, very small and simple room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go out walking near this hotel at night

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Draper, UT
Apr 28, 2010

Opal

When we arrived at the hotel the front desk informed us that there is a $50 deposit per night, up to $200. This is not mentioned on [...] or the Opal's website. The staff was completely unwilling to take anything but credit for the deposit and was also unwilling to hold my card number for two hours while we made arrangements to move money around. There was also a $25 +tax charge per night for parking. The front desk staff was snooty and rude to us our entire stay. Stay away from this hotel. After all the charges we could have stayed somewhere nicer and had a much better time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy a city pass, it's about $60 for adults and around $35 for kids. It gets you into about 6 attractions including the aquarium and the science museum plus lets you ride any muni bus or trolly for 9 days for free. We didn't have to drive our car at all. The public trans runs for about 18 hours every day and can take you anywhere in San Francisco.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yays
Oregon
Apr 11, 2014

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling and the drier worked.

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling, that one day, and the drier worked, it may actually be a very good hotel, especially for the price and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top