$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calibuckeye
San Diego, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic stay!

The Opal has a wonderful and helpful staff and a very old school French feel to the hotel. They even sent me a complimentary bottle of wine to our room for my birthday. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellie26
Business
Buffalo, ny
Nov 28, 2014

San Fran

Nice hotel with a good location. It's very close to the bus line but a distance from the BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natalie04184
Business
Houston
Nov 26, 2014

Good spot, great price

This hotel is right off the popular path of hwy 101. We got a great deal on a 4 night stay. Our first experience was with the staff. AWESOME! Our check in was not until 3pm. We arrived at 10am and got a room without even asking! The room was clean, neat, and bigger than expected. Even though we stayed right next to the stairs and elevator it wasn't too loud. We took public transportation everywhere so this was a great pick for us. I definitely recommend it and would book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Smiles.
Business
NYC
Nov 23, 2014

Comfortable, Clean, Love Location

The front desk staff was super helpful. Room was clean and bed was so comfortable. Great room, shower, bathroom. Would def stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R2D2Arthur
Business
Mexico City
Nov 19, 2014

Very good for the price

The location is good, but there are a lot of homeless, we got a cab everywhere so we dod not deal with that. hotels in SF are very expensive so i thing this is a good value for a low budget !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

WIFI is good and free

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjm1823
Business
Burbank, California
Nov 19, 2014

More than your moneys worth!

This is a great location. Staff was very helpful and professional. Girl at the front desk was awesome, her name is Jeannie (I think). Free breakfast that is more than just simple bagels and coffee. Only downside, hotel is outdated and a bit smelly. Nothing worth complaining. Very satisfied and would come here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda's is a must

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rockky
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 19, 2014

Below than average

There were no bath tub in bathroom. They have provided room which had bathroom for handicapped persons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Murphydog
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Nov 17, 2014

Good Value

The hotel is in a good location and close to a lot of sites. The value is great in comparison to other hotels. Check your sheets upon checking in. They have new sheets, but for some reason housekeeping used old pilly pillow cases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DrOpie
Business
Hughson
Nov 15, 2014

no recommendation here.

Was woken up several times by noisy elevator in a hotel. The beds were terrible. Parking was excessive.The hotel staff was very accommodating and and a pleasure to work with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's diner was a great spot for a quick meal. They have excellent service and the food was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Democritus
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Nov 10, 2014

Great!

Not fancy but clean and nice rooms, right next door to a theater and diner, and across the street from a cafeteria-style restaurant with an awesome beer selection. Centrally-located in the city so anywhere in SF should just be a short cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiwi G
Business
New Zealand
Nov 9, 2014

San Fran Adventure

The hotel location of the hotel is the major downside with a large number of homeless people in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's diner next door, serves great meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top