$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
663 out of 663
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Combs
Lenoir City, TN
Apr 12, 2014

The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and strived to meet our needs. Would return again and would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Opal is centrally located the major attractions in the downtown area. Very easy to use bus, cable cars to get where you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somewhere in, New Mexico
Feb 6, 2010

Nice and quiet.

Good location to the cable car. and walking distance from union square. Also close to Michell brother!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opinion Hotel
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 6, 2010

Great all around!

I live in the city with roomates and when my boyfriend comes to visit me from out of town we always end up choosing this hotel. It has the best location on Van Ness. Very close to downtown. You could walk there in about 10 min. Just one bus ride to either the mission or even fisherman wharf. It is an older hotel but is kept up really well and most of the staff are really great and very helpful. They always remember my name from the various times I visit. Love Love Love and would recommed to anyone. They have a free continental breakfast that is your average toast, bagels, juice, and coffe and they even have a complimentary cheese and wine reception on Wednesdays with live music. All in all my boyfriend and I call it our home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peder the Great Dane
Business
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Feb 1, 2010

unbeatable price for the good location

Very professional staff, always very helpful. The hotel is good situated only few blocks away from Business Center and China Town. If you are looking for a downtown location to a fair price, the Opal hotel is the hotel to go for. Our first time in SFO, but certainly not the last and Opal would be our choice for the next trip too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth´s Chris steak restaurant. Certainly worth to pay a visit. Excellent service, the food extremely good and a place you would bring your loved ones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 18, 2010

By Antiques they just mean old.

There were quite a few homeless people in the area. Very sad. I did not feel safe. The fitness room is small but the machines were fine. That and the breakfast were pleasant surprises. I do not think I would stay there again but it was inexpensive. Everything was old and run down in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street to go to the best little bar/deli style resturaunt I have ever been to. Can not remember the name but there was a good crowd and everyone only had great things to say about it. Food was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 18, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Room was too small, bedspread too old. Other than that if was GREAT. Excellent location close to bars. Parking costs $25 per day. The front desk people were very professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Vertigo bar, great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dirt man
Business
Roseville,Ca.
Jan 18, 2010

stuff

Great spot if you like staying at Grandmas house. Great place for a parking ticket $73 just to check in $25 more for their safe parking I spent more in parking than the room. Close to all the bums.and strip joints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

set up parking before hand . so you dont get hammered like me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Opal Hater
Business
Oakhurst Ca
Jan 12, 2010

***Beware Additional Parking Costs****

Arrived at 9 pm and tried to check in...Hotel Clerk was nice but informed me that I needed to pay another 50 dollar deposit and would only accept a credit card, only brought cash so had to go to the nearest WF ATM to deposit money into account. Finally got checked in around 11 pm. Hotel clerk asked if I would like parking and indicated that it would be another 25 DOLLARS PER NIGHT. I asked where else we could park and she indicated on the street (which is not safe and has many homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk). So I paid the 25 bucks and brought my full size truck around the block to the parking garage, upper parking lot was full so I tried the lower parking lot...which only had a 6 foot clearance...so I called the clerk again and she indicated that I should park in the only spot availble a HC parking spot at the top parking lot...luckily I had the assistance of a local bum to guide to the right location (he was more help than the hotel clerk). Finally got to room and found the elevator would go up but would not go down to the garage. 2 bed room was small with no view... got bit by something during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarieKay
Business
Hesperia, CA
Jan 12, 2010

Teeny Tiny Room

These rooms are teeny tiny, but really, who stays in the room while in San Francisco? We certainly did not. I was expecting a small room when I booked the hotel, so it was no big deal. The room was clean. The staff was efficient, I can't say she was friendly, but in her defense, she was very busy. Parking is an additional charge, and the spots are small. ***The Opal is walking distance to the cable car start at California, and China Town. It is around the corner from restaurants on Polk. This is a very good location for the money. ***I skipped the diner attached to the hotel due to lukewarm reviews, and instead we ate at Tommys Joynt across the street, it's a MUST for hot open faced sandwiches, very good, we ate there twice. ***Overall? I was satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SF- traveller
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 10, 2010

Opal-Strong Smell

It was eeh! It was raining and we were told to park at the AMC parking lot where the price was changed overnight! We ended up paying more that what the hotel had given us. Also, the hotel has a very strong smell...I can't quite describe it...but it is strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

AMC theatre is right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brindley
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 5, 2010

Good hotel with resonable price

Good location and I can go to union square on foot for about ten minutes. Large bed and clean room. However the room is not big enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ten minutes walk to union square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top