$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondHoneymoon20
Louisiana
Feb 4, 2014

Great room for price

Nice hotel. About 6 easy walking blocks from the BART. Good free breakfast. Great Staff. 6 Blocks from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 11, 2010

San Francisco Value

Repeat visit. Still the same. Rooms and service similar to Hampton but with aura of vintage hotel. Reserved two suites but one not available upon arrival. Staff quickly upgraded second room and comped parking. Location is OK (Car, Bus or Taxi) but a few seedy joints a few blocks over. We don't stay there to stay in that neighborhood. We use it as a hub to get to Fishermans Warf or the Haight or to down town. Over all Good Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 23, 2010

Cute Old Hotel

Finding the hotel was the hardest part, mapquest did not send us to the right place so we were pretty mad. I called the hotel and the lady at the front desk helped us out. After that, I enjoyed being there. It was a cute hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't drive, just take the bus which is outside of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ukiah, Ca
May 18, 2010

An Awesome Trip to San Francisco

The room was small but perfect for what we needed and the price was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guest from Germany
Business
Germany
May 16, 2010

good American standard

I recommed the hotel to everyone, who wants to visit San Francisco. It is next to the center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Loris Diner is a really good burger restaurant. It is in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque NM
May 13, 2010

Central location; accommodating staff

Desk staff very personable, helpful. Great with directions for whatever we needed. The hotel has certainly seen better days, but overall, it is a bargain, particularly if it is primarily a point of departure and return after partaking of any of the many features of this delightful city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield, CA
May 10, 2010

SF Weekend

Hotel wasn't too bad. Small rooms, a good place to stay and sleep. Not too far from Japan Town. Had some bars a few blocks down. Had a very small breakfast, just toast and bagles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
May 6, 2010

Good hotel, not so good neighborhood

The hotel is OK, the complementary breakfast makes a huge difference when traveling. It is located very close to bus stops (what is good), however it is not a great place to walk around, specially in the night, felt very insecure in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Draper, UT
Apr 28, 2010

Opal

When we arrived at the hotel the front desk informed us that there is a $50 deposit per night, up to $200. This is not mentioned on [...] or the Opal's website. The staff was completely unwilling to take anything but credit for the deposit and was also unwilling to hold my card number for two hours while we made arrangements to move money around. There was also a $25 +tax charge per night for parking. The front desk staff was snooty and rude to us our entire stay. Stay away from this hotel. After all the charges we could have stayed somewhere nicer and had a much better time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy a city pass, it's about $60 for adults and around $35 for kids. It gets you into about 6 attractions including the aquarium and the science museum plus lets you ride any muni bus or trolly for 9 days for free. We didn't have to drive our car at all. The public trans runs for about 18 hours every day and can take you anywhere in San Francisco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana Ibsel
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Apr 27, 2010

Good location

The staff was very friendly, I was new traveling by myself, they took the time to help know how to get around. It's a good location, you can get the main buses that will take you to the mail locations of attranction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right accross from this hotel there is a place called Jimmy's joint I believe, and its a bar with a great selection of beres, great food, cheap, you can sit at the bar, eat and watch some sports.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Apr 24, 2010

Great price unless you need to park.

Nice to have breakfast included. Enjoyed the lounge area in front of the check-in desk and the free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the bus route or walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top