$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
630 out of 630
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dirt man
Couples
Roseville,Ca.
Jan 18, 2010

stuff

Great spot if you like staying at Grandmas house. Great place for a parking ticket $73 just to check in $25 more for their safe parking I spent more in parking than the room. Close to all the bums.and strip joints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

set up parking before hand . so you dont get hammered like me.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Opal Hater
Family
Oakhurst Ca
Jan 12, 2010

***Beware Additional Parking Costs****

Arrived at 9 pm and tried to check in...Hotel Clerk was nice but informed me that I needed to pay another 50 dollar deposit and would only accept a credit card, only brought cash so had to go to the nearest WF ATM to deposit money into account. Finally got checked in around 11 pm. Hotel clerk asked if I would like parking and indicated that it would be another 25 DOLLARS PER NIGHT. I asked where else we could park and she indicated on the street (which is not safe and has many homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk). So I paid the 25 bucks and brought my full size truck around the block to the parking garage, upper parking lot was full so I tried the lower parking lot...which only had a 6 foot clearance...so I called the clerk again and she indicated that I should park in the only spot availble a HC parking spot at the top parking lot...luckily I had the assistance of a local bum to guide to the right location (he was more help than the hotel clerk). Finally got to room and found the elevator would go up but would not go down to the garage. 2 bed room was small with no view... got bit by something during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarieKay
Couples
Hesperia, CA
Jan 12, 2010

Teeny Tiny Room

These rooms are teeny tiny, but really, who stays in the room while in San Francisco? We certainly did not. I was expecting a small room when I booked the hotel, so it was no big deal. The room was clean. The staff was efficient, I can't say she was friendly, but in her defense, she was very busy. Parking is an additional charge, and the spots are small. ***The Opal is walking distance to the cable car start at California, and China Town. It is around the corner from restaurants on Polk. This is a very good location for the money. ***I skipped the diner attached to the hotel due to lukewarm reviews, and instead we ate at Tommys Joynt across the street, it's a MUST for hot open faced sandwiches, very good, we ate there twice. ***Overall? I was satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SF- traveller
Couples
Denver, Colorado
Jan 10, 2010

Opal-Strong Smell

It was eeh! It was raining and we were told to park at the AMC parking lot where the price was changed overnight! We ended up paying more that what the hotel had given us. Also, the hotel has a very strong smell...I can't quite describe it...but it is strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

AMC theatre is right next door.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brindley
Couples
Boston, MA
Jan 5, 2010

Good hotel with resonable price

Good location and I can go to union square on foot for about ten minutes. Large bed and clean room. However the room is not big enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ten minutes walk to union square

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The once in a moon traveler
Couples
Miami, FL
Jan 5, 2010

Super Location, 25 Dollars Parking Fee

Hotel charges a 25 dollars parking fee per day and rooms are small! So be aware. The location is superb tough, can use the public transportation for everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Inspector
Friends
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2010

No Hot Water!!!!!

Don't expect the water to be hot for a shower. I'm a building engineer and when the onsite maintenance guy told me that it was from a lot of showers being taken all at once, I snickered at him, since I had already called the front desk 5 minutes prior and they told me that no one else has complained about only having warm water. If this was the case, you will NOT get a hot shower here due to an undersized boiler!!! I have to say that they did offer me another room to shower in, but I denied due to what their maintenance guy told me. I am not recommending this hotel only due the no hot water issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little diner right next door.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Stayed here for the New Years 2010

My friend (25) and I (22) stayed here for New Years Eve all the way until the end of the weekend. This was my first time at The Opal and I was a bit skeptical. The times I stayed in S.F., I stayed across the street from this hotel at the "Cathedral Hill" hotel. But they shut down in Oct. 2009. Anyways, I am not that picky and well, the stay was good. The rooms were very clean, Mel's Dine-In was downstairs, Union Square was a long walk (or very short taxi ride) away in which I didn't mind because I ran into many interesting shops and restaurants along the way on Geary Ave. and it was close to everything we needed. We were here in town for partying purposes and this hotel was near clubs and bars. We just needed a decent place to sleep and shower. The hotel is nice and very basic. Nothing fancy. The only thing that caught me off guard was the fact that I had to put down a $100.00 deposit when checking in which was a first for me. I'm still waiting for them to release my deposit back to my account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lappo
Couples
Redondo Beach,CA
Jan 3, 2010

good!

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The location was very convenient to go anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lmroderick
Family
Carmel Valley, CA
Dec 28, 2009

A great find

The hotel staff was friendly and quick. Our room was very nice and clean. The hotel had been modernized while keeping the period styling, which I loved. The location was a quick drive to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, etc. Our use of the room was just a place to sleep, so we did not check out the amenities, but we thought it was a great hotel for a terrific price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top