$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Sep 29, 2010

Opal Hotel San Francisco

This was a one night stopover in San Fran on our way to Hawaii for our Honeymoon. We thought we would take a day to tour the city. Well for a random Tuesday in September it was IMPOSSIBLE to find a room (there was a conference going on). I booked a 3 star by the hotel and they called me a couple nights before saying they over booked and could only offer me a 2 star roach motel so I went [...] and LUCKILY found a room here. Granted I spent 2x as much as I originally did with the 3 star by the airport... but it turned out being the best thing for us to stay IN the city to bounce around a bit on our short layover.The room was small and not super clean or up to date but FINE for one night and a place to stay. I was kind of skeeved by the bedding being old/not the cleanest. The hotel definitely has charm - I almost felt like I was staying in Europe, slightly because of the old feel. The staff was relatively friendly, I've seen many reviews they were rude but most were cordial to us. When we checked in our carpet was SOAKING wet so I called down to reception. They said they clean it for their guests, which sounded weird. I figured someone spilled something and they HAD to do it, but again we were lucky to get a room so I let a lot of things slide here. But they were nice and offered to send up a fan, etc.The location is pretty convenient. About 30-40$ to the airport and pretty short cab rides to the piers. The best thing by far about our stay was the free continental breakfast. It was simple, but the coffee, OJ and whole wheat toast were super good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gig Harbor, Washington
Sep 24, 2009

We were very happy with the acomidations

WEe were very happy with the whole experience. I would recomend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mfw26
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 4, 2009

Decent

Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 23, 2009

Good hotel in a bad location

The hotel accomodation was fine, but the neighborhood is definitely not nice and totally safe. The hotel parking is quite expensive. The rooms are not so large for 4 people. The breakfast room is defitely too small compared to the number of guests. The breakfast itself is Ok but nothing special. Clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 22, 2009

Van-Ness charm

There was no explanation about the fact that there were quite a few tour groups staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't walk around the area late at night, its dodgy

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somewhere in, New Mexico
Feb 6, 2010

Nice and quiet.

Good location to the cable car. and walking distance from union square. Also close to Michell brother!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Palmetto Traveler
Business
South Carolina
Mar 7, 2011

Good for the price

Considering it was by far the cheapest hotel in downtown San Francisco, it was surprisingly good. If you're on a budget, stay here. But there were negatives: 1. Very slow Internet access -- walls too thick to accommodate wireless, I was told, so only slow Ethernet into rooms 2. A little run down -- top drawer handle came off the first time I pulled it; outlet on lamp didn't work so had to crawl under table to plug in my laptop. 3. No view -- the hotel is U shaped, I got a room inside the U, meaning my view was of a wall 4. Noisy -- in part no doubt due to having a room inside U, street sounds amplified, even up on the 5th floor 5. Parking -- tiny spaces, and I was driving a van. Took 5 minutes to park/pull out. Also very iffy parking out front during registration as it's reserved for buses & cabs. I personally had no problems with homeless. They're all over San Fran, of course, didn't bother me and good hotel security means no one comes in who doesn't belong

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san fransico
Mar 11, 2011

good for Business

this trip was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adria&Colin
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 17, 2010

Vintage Downtown

The parking garage was sold out at the hotel and so they directed us to a city garage that was $22 a night. We wound up parking on the street, 1 block up, which was free for 2 hours starting at 9am- definitely the way to go! Front desk staff was a bit unpleasant and lectured one of the bell boys in front of us. Breakfast was cleaned up by 9am, which was too early for a saturday morning after a late night out. Room was very large and bathroom was nice. The couch was incredibly hard though. Beds were nice. The entire hotel had a very vintage smell- very much like your grandmas house. Overall, a nice place. It was clean and spacious. Did the trick and was a fast walk to bars on Polk Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
De Smet, S.D.
Jun 22, 2009

Opal San Francisco

Staff was very friendly and knowlegeable. Rooms were very clean and neat. Bath was spotless, but shower stream was almost non-existent. We'd stay again because it's convenient to everything in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top