$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
624 reviews
Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with... See full review

  • TravelerAsia
  • Sep 26, 2014
great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes See full review

  • craiggus
  • Sep 7, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (624)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
624 out of 624
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete Zahut
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2013

Opal in early June

Excellent value, excellent location, excellent staff...room was clean and spacious (king-size bed, non-smoking, facing south on 4th floor)...staff was highly professional, courteous, and answered all our questions...breakfast was filling and simple (hard-boiled eggs, toast, bagels, cream cheese) and allowed us to save money for a nicer lunch...close to public transportation (including Muni buses and California/Van Ness cable car terminus a few blocks away)...EXTREMELY EASY ACCESS to FIsherman's Wharf, Civic Center/Union Square, and other locations. We were able to go to the wine hour on Wednesdays 5-6 where there were tons of cheese, crackers, and red and white wines (only a handful of people were there and the staff gave us the already opened bottles after the hour ended). As for location, it is indeed on the edge of the Tenderloin, but unlike other guests, we did not see or experience any 'unsavory characters' either during the day or at night (we stayed at Opal mid-week in early June). Absolutely plan to stay there again for our next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of cheap and filling ethnic (Thai, Indian) restaurants a few blocks east in Tenderloin (if you're willing to tolerate the sight of a few homeless people).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elenarose
Business
Seattle
Nov 16, 2009

Clean, good location, friendly, basic

The Opal staff - at the desk, in the breakfast room,and on the floor - were consistently helpful and friendly. Being a single woman, I appreciated their tips to get around San Francisco in a safe way. The room was basic, clean, quiet. One more bedside lamp would have been perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

En route to Chinatown in the mornings, you can stop by Grace Cathedral to walk the outside labryinth and sit in the green park facing it where women are practicing their T'ai Chi and Quigong. Exhilerating on a sunny day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miz Marv
Business
Markham, Ontario
Nov 12, 2009

Great Experience

I arrived on the red-eye from Honolulu about 5am. I got to the hotel about 6am with the intention of storing my bags until the 3pm check in time. I explained to the front desk clerk, I believe her name is [...], that my flight arrived very early and asked if I could store my luggage. She checked me in early, gave me an upgraded room and invited me to have complimentary breakfast. She asked what I wanted to do in San Francisco and arranged a couple of tours for me. This was my first trip to San Francisco and based on that experience alone, it won't be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SanDiego
Nov 11, 2009

Great value

There are numerous bars,restaurants,banks,bakery's,movie theater,within feet of the front door. The hotel was clean and quiet, there is a baby grand piano in the front area it was nice to hear a talented guest perform one afternoon, The complimentary breakfast was a good value too. The staff was very helpful and professional.I will stay in this hotel again there is nothing really bad to say other than the neighborhood at night is a bit sketchy so just becareful. I walked everynight with a friend and we had no issues but this is not the best neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joynt is great and across the street, Mel'sDiner is attached to hotel. around the corner is Cilantro a Mexican eatery Great!, there is pizza all up and down Polk. There are numerous sushi, and Indian, Thai,all sorts of great places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cajun Cousin
Business
Loiisiana
Nov 11, 2009

Great Location for the Price

The rooms were quiet and sleeping was uneventful. Great location; walking distance to some entertainment and restaurants, on cable car and bus routes, taxies, etc. Great rates for the room and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to all variety of food choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 9, 2009

Nice hotel for a good price

Very nice hotel in a convenient location, easy accessible public transportation, very clean room and spotless bathroom, great/real breakfast and a nice atmosphere created by international guests. Internet included and wonderful help from the service with printing reservations made online. The neighborhood requires caution after dusk, but it is nothing surprising after visiting other big cities around the world. Great deal for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is easy accessible from this place using public transportation, 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Downtown; I would say this is a tourist place -- if you want to stay with tourists it is your place, if you are looking for 5 star hotel with all that pampering required -- pay for it somewhere else and no one will miss you there. This place is cute and nice and exceeded our expectations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hman
Business
Reno, NV
Nov 3, 2009

Nice Place

staff was super helpful, and helped us switch room when there was a problem with our original room. Overall very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Great American Music Hall is a short distance south of the hotel and on O'Farrel st. It is a nice and mostly inexpensive venue for a concert and many new and exciting bands play there. Further south is of course the performing arts and opera centers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 27, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel location is excellent. It is walking distance to all the attractions. The staff was very helpful and the continental breakfast was very convenient. We were pleased until we found bed bugs. Even though this hotel is clean, they still have the infestation which is hard to get rid of. The hotel staff did their best to get us a new room (upgraded to a suite) but it was still disturbing. The area outside the hotel at night is very sketchy...we saw prostitutes only two streets down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You will walk a lot in San Francisco no matter what. This hotel was in a GREAT location, close city hall, the Painted ladies, North Beach, Lombard Street, we even walked to the Full House, house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Oct 22, 2009

It was ok! 5 mins to Fisherman's warf

It was an ok experience. I chose this hotel as it was close to everything. It is a 5 mins less than 7 dollar cab ride to fisherman's warf. It is 10 blocks (1 mile) to civic centre. it is uphill and so if you have to carry luggage and walk it is impossible. The hotel had bf which was good. The rooms are neat but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in Asia
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2009

An Excellent Value

I'm in San Francisco often for work. I had been staying in the suburbs to save money on the hotel, and then traveling into the city on BART. But I decided to try again to find an inexpensive but decent hotel in the city. I spent a lot of time reading reviews and comparing prices, and settled on the Opal. It seemed that everything else was either too expensive or too sleazy I was not disappointed. The room was big enough to be comfortable and very clean. It was also very quiet. I never heard any noise from surrounding rooms (maybe they were empty?). The mattress was firm, but comfortable. The pillows were more firm than usual, which I like, but you may not. The breakfast buffet was good for this price range: toast (white and wheat bread), bagels with cream cheese, croissants, hard-boiled eggs, Cheerios and Raisin Bran, etc. The neighborhood is not the best, but is safe enough. The hotel is on Van Ness, a very busy street even at night, so I felt safe outside even late at night, as long as I didn't wander down any quiet streets. The fitness center is very small, but no one else was there the two times I went there. It has dumbbells up to 50 pounds, which will allow me to stay in shape while working in San Francisco. The worst thing about the Opal was the slow internet connection. I ran speed tests at various times. The speeds were always around 250 kbps, which is only 5 times dial-up speed, which is fast enough for text-based work, such as reading and e-mail, but too slow for video and fast picture viewing. I paid $66 plus tax for my room. In the suburbs, I was paying $60 plus tax plus the cost of the BART to get into the city. For appoximately the same cost, I'll be staying at the Opal from now on, and walk 5 or 10 minutes to my work at the Civic Center. Yea, I get to sleep in longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The attached diner, Mel's Diner, was okay, but a bit expensive and nothing special. It seemed to be more about image than substance. The cheeseburger was too ordinary, but the quality of the meat was good. The fries were above average. I found an excellent Burmese restaurant a few blocks away: the Larkin Express, also known as the Burmese Kitchen. I ate there three times, and ate three excellent meals. The Tea Leaf Salad was especially good. If you like Thai food, you'll like Burmese food, which is similar. I've travelled in Southeast Asia, although not in Burma. The food at this restaurant seemed to be authentic, and up there with the best restaurants I ate at in Southeast Asia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray Clark
Business
Austin TX
Oct 20, 2009

very good for the money

the staff was super friendly and helpful, the rooms nice and clean as well as quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is on the edge of the Tenderloin District with lots of interesting prostitutes and homeless. We found it's best to keep walks in the area between the hours of 7am-dark. There were several good restaurants, mainly for breakfast, within a block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top