$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacob P.
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2010

Terrible, stay at your own risk

Pros: Nice lobby, quick elevator, good shower pressure and warm water Cons: It is very telling that there are more photos of san fran sites than of the hotel. The room we got (two double) was incredibly small, with the beds almost touching each other and spanning from wall to wall. There was one thin window (more like a slit) which was mostly blocked by the shade of the building itself. Everything in the hotel looked like it was from the 1950s, and hadn't been updated in as long. The floors creaked. The complimentary toiletries were a small pouch of shampoo and conditioner so that once you open it, it can't really be used again. Housekeeping almost broke our door down to clean the room the morning ON THE DAY WE WERE CHECKING OUT, whereas every other hotel in the world crosschecks so as to not needlessly clean a room that will be vacated in a couple hours. The staff downstairs was terrible, unhelpful and often rude with snarky comments about how we're lucky to even have a room at all, even though we had had a reservation. The hotel isn't really close to anything and is a good 15-20 minute walk to the nearest train station (civic center). The diner right by is ridiculously overpriced and fantastically slow. There are two waitresses for the whole place, and they have cashier duties too. It takes forever to order, receive, and pay for even a simple meal. The area is not nice, lots of homeless people and beggars, especially at night. STAY FAR FAR AWAY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to civic center train, take it up to powell street stop, where you find the classic cable cars which will take you to fisherman's wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 10, 2010

Very good location on a major street

We got a free upgrade from a deluxe double bed to a suite because they ran out of the deluxe double bed room. We thought wow that's great. In a way we were really glad, because we weren't too impressed with the suite and were wondering what the deluxe room would have been like. In the suite, there's no fridge or microwave like what you normally would expect. The restroom door didn't have a lock on. The hotel is old and in need of renovation, I think. Parking is an additional $20 a night. The best thing is the location. It's on Van Ness which is like the main street that runs through the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

AMC Theatre is right next door. Lots of restaurants and shops on the same street. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylmar
Jul 6, 2010

very good location for the price

The check-in took longer than necessary. I can judge since I myself worked at the front desk in many good hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jun 28, 2010

Pretty Good Value Over All

Room was a pretty good and bed was comfortable. My room was on Van Ness and I didn't hear any traffic noise. Continental breakfast is OK, i.e. toast, hardboiled eggs, bagels, coffee and OJ. Front desk folks were very nice. The hotel borders the Tenderloin District (quite rough) and a methadone clinic is a couple blocks away. I parked my car in an alley 2 blocks from the hotel and, of course, it was broken into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Chinese food, the famous Gourmet Carousel restuarant is at the corner of Franklin and Pine, a 4 block away walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Museum mavin Maureen
Business
Palm Desert calif.
Jun 25, 2010

a great value/ unbeatable location

Staff was helpful from the minute we walked in the door. We loved the wine and cheese in the lobby on Wed. evening with entertainment as well. It gave us a chance to meet other travelers and just relax. We used the bus system and the staff helped us with bus line info. each day. VEry clean rooms, quiet and great beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nashville, tennessee
Jun 20, 2010

Most convienient to access the city

Hotel is excellent location for access to all of city. It was kept very clean by a very hospitible staff. Will definitely use it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent access to all public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego Business
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 16, 2010

Nice Place to Stay

Hotel is classic and style is original.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakdale, Ca
Jun 15, 2010

A good place to stay

The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, and I was pretty close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jun 13, 2010

The Opal

Near bus transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jun 13, 2010

The Opal

Near bus transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top