$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
615 reviews
Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with... See full review

  • TravelerAsia
  • Sep 26, 2014
great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes See full review

  • craiggus
  • Sep 7, 2014
The Opal San Francisco

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (615)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
615 out of 615
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebGal
Lancaster, Pa
Jun 23, 2013

great place

Nice old building, great location, and Brad was so helpful with things to see and do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Golden Gate national Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Oct 22, 2009

It was ok! 5 mins to Fisherman's warf

It was an ok experience. I chose this hotel as it was close to everything. It is a 5 mins less than 7 dollar cab ride to fisherman's warf. It is 10 blocks (1 mile) to civic centre. it is uphill and so if you have to carry luggage and walk it is impossible. The hotel had bf which was good. The rooms are neat but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in Asia
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2009

An Excellent Value

I'm in San Francisco often for work. I had been staying in the suburbs to save money on the hotel, and then traveling into the city on BART. But I decided to try again to find an inexpensive but decent hotel in the city. I spent a lot of time reading reviews and comparing prices, and settled on the Opal. It seemed that everything else was either too expensive or too sleazy I was not disappointed. The room was big enough to be comfortable and very clean. It was also very quiet. I never heard any noise from surrounding rooms (maybe they were empty?). The mattress was firm, but comfortable. The pillows were more firm than usual, which I like, but you may not. The breakfast buffet was good for this price range: toast (white and wheat bread), bagels with cream cheese, croissants, hard-boiled eggs, Cheerios and Raisin Bran, etc. The neighborhood is not the best, but is safe enough. The hotel is on Van Ness, a very busy street even at night, so I felt safe outside even late at night, as long as I didn't wander down any quiet streets. The fitness center is very small, but no one else was there the two times I went there. It has dumbbells up to 50 pounds, which will allow me to stay in shape while working in San Francisco. The worst thing about the Opal was the slow internet connection. I ran speed tests at various times. The speeds were always around 250 kbps, which is only 5 times dial-up speed, which is fast enough for text-based work, such as reading and e-mail, but too slow for video and fast picture viewing. I paid $66 plus tax for my room. In the suburbs, I was paying $60 plus tax plus the cost of the BART to get into the city. For appoximately the same cost, I'll be staying at the Opal from now on, and walk 5 or 10 minutes to my work at the Civic Center. Yea, I get to sleep in longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The attached diner, Mel's Diner, was okay, but a bit expensive and nothing special. It seemed to be more about image than substance. The cheeseburger was too ordinary, but the quality of the meat was good. The fries were above average. I found an excellent Burmese restaurant a few blocks away: the Larkin Express, also known as the Burmese Kitchen. I ate there three times, and ate three excellent meals. The Tea Leaf Salad was especially good. If you like Thai food, you'll like Burmese food, which is similar. I've travelled in Southeast Asia, although not in Burma. The food at this restaurant seemed to be authentic, and up there with the best restaurants I ate at in Southeast Asia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray Clark
Business
Austin TX
Oct 20, 2009

very good for the money

the staff was super friendly and helpful, the rooms nice and clean as well as quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is on the edge of the Tenderloin District with lots of interesting prostitutes and homeless. We found it's best to keep walks in the area between the hours of 7am-dark. There were several good restaurants, mainly for breakfast, within a block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Co
Oct 20, 2009

San Francisco Baby!!!!

We went to San Francisco for a music festival, so the location of our hotel was essential. The Opal provided us a place with a great ambiance, extremely helpful staff in a central location. I would like to explore other hotels when I visit San Francisco again, however I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Didn't we meet at Mel's??

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ventura, ca
Oct 19, 2009

Old & Friendly

the Opal was quaint. it is an old hotel so it can be loud. i could hear other guests between the walls and the water running loudly from other rooms. the opal parking was sold out so we had to park in an expensive garage across the street. the location is great though and union square is within walkable distance. i was kind of disappointed the bedding. the pillowcases were dingy and the shower in the bathroom leaked. but, for the price, it was pretty good. all the staff that i encountered was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lowdown
Business
Central Coast, CA
Oct 15, 2009

We liked the Opal

While not next door to either, on a nice day the walk to Union Square or Civic Center is nice. Despite location on Van Ness, room was very quiet (has double sash windows that open if you want). Breakfast was average, but, we enjoyed that most of the guests sharing the room were from Europe. We plan to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the renovated City Hall, the new Asian Museum and the gift shop at the Opera - all down Van Ness at the Civic Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Sara
Business
Omaha,NE
Oct 13, 2009

Exelent, very clean and quite.

Very pretty and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beloa
Business
Spain
Oct 11, 2009

The good hotel for the price

The experience was very good. The only thing I can say that it could be better, it's the breakfeast...it should have ham, cheese or sausages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 11, 2009

Cute place

You get what you pay for. Great hotel and location. Nothing fancy. It is a little loud if you're not used to city life, but it's typical to any SF hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's not in the best neighborhood, but altogether we felt pretty safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AAsian
Business
Chico,ca!
Oct 6, 2009

Loves

I went to love fest and the location was amazing! great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top