$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peder the Great Dane
Business
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Feb 1, 2010

unbeatable price for the good location

Very professional staff, always very helpful. The hotel is good situated only few blocks away from Business Center and China Town. If you are looking for a downtown location to a fair price, the Opal hotel is the hotel to go for. Our first time in SFO, but certainly not the last and Opal would be our choice for the next trip too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth´s Chris steak restaurant. Certainly worth to pay a visit. Excellent service, the food extremely good and a place you would bring your loved ones.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 18, 2010

By Antiques they just mean old.

There were quite a few homeless people in the area. Very sad. I did not feel safe. The fitness room is small but the machines were fine. That and the breakfast were pleasant surprises. I do not think I would stay there again but it was inexpensive. Everything was old and run down in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street to go to the best little bar/deli style resturaunt I have ever been to. Can not remember the name but there was a good crowd and everyone only had great things to say about it. Food was awesome.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 18, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Room was too small, bedspread too old. Other than that if was GREAT. Excellent location close to bars. Parking costs $25 per day. The front desk people were very professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Vertigo bar, great atmosphere.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dirt man
Business
Roseville,Ca.
Jan 18, 2010

stuff

Great spot if you like staying at Grandmas house. Great place for a parking ticket $73 just to check in $25 more for their safe parking I spent more in parking than the room. Close to all the bums.and strip joints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

set up parking before hand . so you dont get hammered like me.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Opal Hater
Business
Oakhurst Ca
Jan 12, 2010

***Beware Additional Parking Costs****

Arrived at 9 pm and tried to check in...Hotel Clerk was nice but informed me that I needed to pay another 50 dollar deposit and would only accept a credit card, only brought cash so had to go to the nearest WF ATM to deposit money into account. Finally got checked in around 11 pm. Hotel clerk asked if I would like parking and indicated that it would be another 25 DOLLARS PER NIGHT. I asked where else we could park and she indicated on the street (which is not safe and has many homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk). So I paid the 25 bucks and brought my full size truck around the block to the parking garage, upper parking lot was full so I tried the lower parking lot...which only had a 6 foot clearance...so I called the clerk again and she indicated that I should park in the only spot availble a HC parking spot at the top parking lot...luckily I had the assistance of a local bum to guide to the right location (he was more help than the hotel clerk). Finally got to room and found the elevator would go up but would not go down to the garage. 2 bed room was small with no view... got bit by something during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarieKay
Business
Hesperia, CA
Jan 12, 2010

Teeny Tiny Room

These rooms are teeny tiny, but really, who stays in the room while in San Francisco? We certainly did not. I was expecting a small room when I booked the hotel, so it was no big deal. The room was clean. The staff was efficient, I can't say she was friendly, but in her defense, she was very busy. Parking is an additional charge, and the spots are small. ***The Opal is walking distance to the cable car start at California, and China Town. It is around the corner from restaurants on Polk. This is a very good location for the money. ***I skipped the diner attached to the hotel due to lukewarm reviews, and instead we ate at Tommys Joynt across the street, it's a MUST for hot open faced sandwiches, very good, we ate there twice. ***Overall? I was satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SF- traveller
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 10, 2010

Opal-Strong Smell

It was eeh! It was raining and we were told to park at the AMC parking lot where the price was changed overnight! We ended up paying more that what the hotel had given us. Also, the hotel has a very strong smell...I can't quite describe it...but it is strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

AMC theatre is right next door.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brindley
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 5, 2010

Good hotel with resonable price

Good location and I can go to union square on foot for about ten minutes. Large bed and clean room. However the room is not big enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ten minutes walk to union square

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The once in a moon traveler
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 5, 2010

Super Location, 25 Dollars Parking Fee

Hotel charges a 25 dollars parking fee per day and rooms are small! So be aware. The location is superb tough, can use the public transportation for everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Inspector
Business
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2010

No Hot Water!!!!!

Don't expect the water to be hot for a shower. I'm a building engineer and when the onsite maintenance guy told me that it was from a lot of showers being taken all at once, I snickered at him, since I had already called the front desk 5 minutes prior and they told me that no one else has complained about only having warm water. If this was the case, you will NOT get a hot shower here due to an undersized boiler!!! I have to say that they did offer me another room to shower in, but I denied due to what their maintenance guy told me. I am not recommending this hotel only due the no hot water issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little diner right next door.

Back to menu Return to top