$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacifica, CA
Mar 25, 2010

Very nice, very convenient location

Easy access to cabs, bus. very close to a great movies theatre (next door) great restaurants in walking distance, Tommy's joint across the street. House of Prime rib just a few blocks away. Very clean and great old SF atmosphere. Will stay there again. Susanne was very friendly and helpful when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's joint and House of Prime Rib, Tommy joint very, very reasonable with great food, House of Prime Rib more expensive with great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aliso viejo, CA
Mar 12, 2010

good

Very kind staffs, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Artista 49
Business
Conway Arkansas
Mar 3, 2010

San Francisco during the rainy season

Room clean, quite, and comfortable. EVERYONE greeted us with a smile and couldn't have been more helpful. The young lady that took care of the breakfast nook was outstanding. Missed the 'happy hour" but understand from other guests that it was also fine. All telephone calls to the hotel were answered quickly, and provided all the needed information in detail. We ate at the diner adjacent to the hotel and enjoyed every meal. The establishment for eating directly across from the hotel also had delicious and inexpensive food. Public transportation was easy to obtain, could even walk a couple of blocks and catch the California line cable car which went to the Embarcadero. Great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you arrive in San Francisco go to Pier 33 and buy your City Pass with the Alcatraz tour. We went to 5 of the museums etc. and used the transportation pass daily which also includes the $5.00 cable car trips. Convenient to use no hunting for change and more than paid for itself with just two of the included activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LAWFORCE
Business
ENCINO, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Horrible Hotel [...]

Front desk staff on arrival was horribly rude, lied that manager was not present when other staff member later indicated that a manager WAS on site at the time requested, and took hotel GM 3 DAYS to eventually call to address the inexcusable treatment at check-in AND second night of stay, night manager did not address VERYLOUD noise problem in adjoining room at 3:00 a.m. Until about 5:00 a.m. WORST STAY AT ANY HOTEL/MOTEL IN MEMORY FOR OVER 20 years of business travel! [...]DO NOT STAY AT THE OPAL HOTEL [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose california
Feb 19, 2010

greal experience!

we whent to the city to see the ballet and some shoping a very nice and placent 3days stay, the staff make us feel in home very freindly and warm a big thumps up! we will back again and again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the opera house city hall and resturants and shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adria&Colin
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 17, 2010

Vintage Downtown

The parking garage was sold out at the hotel and so they directed us to a city garage that was $22 a night. We wound up parking on the street, 1 block up, which was free for 2 hours starting at 9am- definitely the way to go! Front desk staff was a bit unpleasant and lectured one of the bell boys in front of us. Breakfast was cleaned up by 9am, which was too early for a saturday morning after a late night out. Room was very large and bathroom was nice. The couch was incredibly hard though. Beds were nice. The entire hotel had a very vintage smell- very much like your grandmas house. Overall, a nice place. It was clean and spacious. Did the trick and was a fast walk to bars on Polk Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 11, 2010

Highly Recommended

I was greeted by a very friendly manager at check-in. He even voluntarily recommended activities and told me what areas to "avoid" on a map. The room and bathroom were very clean. This hotel is charming and located conveniently. The only disadvantage is the expensive parking fee and the lack of street parking in the vicinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park your car on the street - preferably one without street cleaning restrictions and take the bus! Saves you the inconvenience of driving around to look for a parking spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hogansville, GA
Feb 8, 2010

Nice for the price

We got to the hotel almost 3 hours before check-in due to flight time, and we were able to check in without any problem. We did switch rooms because we had requested a smoking room and weren't given one. (Note: The smoking rooms are in a seperate building connected by a breezeway. The main building is smoke-free.) The hotel is old, but location is good, there are several restaurants nearby, pharmacy and bus stop just down the street. Super-comfy beds with nice linens and huge, king-size pillows. Our shower drained slowly, but it wasn't a big deal. Make sure you bring your own soap, shampoo, and conditioner. What they provide is minimal. The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired - boiled eggs, toast, cereal - but maybe that's just me. It was nice to have coffee available 24 hours a day, and Mel's Diner (attached to the hotel) had very good food at a reasonable price. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Defintely take the San Francisco tour! The deluxe one through Tower Tours was great. They picked us up at the hotel, we saw a LOT of the city that way, and the bus was clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somewhere in, New Mexico
Feb 6, 2010

Nice and quiet.

Good location to the cable car. and walking distance from union square. Also close to Michell brother!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opinion Hotel
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 6, 2010

Great all around!

I live in the city with roomates and when my boyfriend comes to visit me from out of town we always end up choosing this hotel. It has the best location on Van Ness. Very close to downtown. You could walk there in about 10 min. Just one bus ride to either the mission or even fisherman wharf. It is an older hotel but is kept up really well and most of the staff are really great and very helpful. They always remember my name from the various times I visit. Love Love Love and would recommed to anyone. They have a free continental breakfast that is your average toast, bagels, juice, and coffe and they even have a complimentary cheese and wine reception on Wednesdays with live music. All in all my boyfriend and I call it our home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top