$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Couples
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
san jose california
Feb 19, 2010

greal experience!

we whent to the city to see the ballet and some shoping a very nice and placent 3days stay, the staff make us feel in home very freindly and warm a big thumps up! we will back again and again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the opera house city hall and resturants and shops

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adria&Colin
Friends
Portland, Oregon
Feb 17, 2010

Vintage Downtown

The parking garage was sold out at the hotel and so they directed us to a city garage that was $22 a night. We wound up parking on the street, 1 block up, which was free for 2 hours starting at 9am- definitely the way to go! Front desk staff was a bit unpleasant and lectured one of the bell boys in front of us. Breakfast was cleaned up by 9am, which was too early for a saturday morning after a late night out. Room was very large and bathroom was nice. The couch was incredibly hard though. Beds were nice. The entire hotel had a very vintage smell- very much like your grandmas house. Overall, a nice place. It was clean and spacious. Did the trick and was a fast walk to bars on Polk Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 11, 2010

Highly Recommended

I was greeted by a very friendly manager at check-in. He even voluntarily recommended activities and told me what areas to "avoid" on a map. The room and bathroom were very clean. This hotel is charming and located conveniently. The only disadvantage is the expensive parking fee and the lack of street parking in the vicinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park your car on the street - preferably one without street cleaning restrictions and take the bus! Saves you the inconvenience of driving around to look for a parking spot.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Hogansville, GA
Feb 8, 2010

Nice for the price

We got to the hotel almost 3 hours before check-in due to flight time, and we were able to check in without any problem. We did switch rooms because we had requested a smoking room and weren't given one. (Note: The smoking rooms are in a seperate building connected by a breezeway. The main building is smoke-free.) The hotel is old, but location is good, there are several restaurants nearby, pharmacy and bus stop just down the street. Super-comfy beds with nice linens and huge, king-size pillows. Our shower drained slowly, but it wasn't a big deal. Make sure you bring your own soap, shampoo, and conditioner. What they provide is minimal. The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired - boiled eggs, toast, cereal - but maybe that's just me. It was nice to have coffee available 24 hours a day, and Mel's Diner (attached to the hotel) had very good food at a reasonable price. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Defintely take the San Francisco tour! The deluxe one through Tower Tours was great. They picked us up at the hotel, we saw a LOT of the city that way, and the bus was clean and comfortable.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Somewhere in, New Mexico
Feb 6, 2010

Nice and quiet.

Good location to the cable car. and walking distance from union square. Also close to Michell brother!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opinion Hotel
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Feb 6, 2010

Great all around!

I live in the city with roomates and when my boyfriend comes to visit me from out of town we always end up choosing this hotel. It has the best location on Van Ness. Very close to downtown. You could walk there in about 10 min. Just one bus ride to either the mission or even fisherman wharf. It is an older hotel but is kept up really well and most of the staff are really great and very helpful. They always remember my name from the various times I visit. Love Love Love and would recommed to anyone. They have a free continental breakfast that is your average toast, bagels, juice, and coffe and they even have a complimentary cheese and wine reception on Wednesdays with live music. All in all my boyfriend and I call it our home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peder the Great Dane
Couples
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Feb 1, 2010

unbeatable price for the good location

Very professional staff, always very helpful. The hotel is good situated only few blocks away from Business Center and China Town. If you are looking for a downtown location to a fair price, the Opal hotel is the hotel to go for. Our first time in SFO, but certainly not the last and Opal would be our choice for the next trip too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth´s Chris steak restaurant. Certainly worth to pay a visit. Excellent service, the food extremely good and a place you would bring your loved ones.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 18, 2010

By Antiques they just mean old.

There were quite a few homeless people in the area. Very sad. I did not feel safe. The fitness room is small but the machines were fine. That and the breakfast were pleasant surprises. I do not think I would stay there again but it was inexpensive. Everything was old and run down in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street to go to the best little bar/deli style resturaunt I have ever been to. Can not remember the name but there was a good crowd and everyone only had great things to say about it. Food was awesome.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Diego, CA
Jan 18, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Room was too small, bedspread too old. Other than that if was GREAT. Excellent location close to bars. Parking costs $25 per day. The front desk people were very professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Vertigo bar, great atmosphere.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dirt man
Couples
Roseville,Ca.
Jan 18, 2010

stuff

Great spot if you like staying at Grandmas house. Great place for a parking ticket $73 just to check in $25 more for their safe parking I spent more in parking than the room. Close to all the bums.and strip joints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

set up parking before hand . so you dont get hammered like me.

Back to menu Return to top