$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
663 out of 663
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarianaMC
Goldsboro, NC
Apr 27, 2014

Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Jul 29, 2009

ok

friendly staff. just make sure you have room not facing VAN NESS st. hotel itself is fine. certain area outside hotel u might avoid walking by. of course there is always more than one route to hotel. And lastly, could be 10 to 15 bucks cheaper. Orbitz not always the cheapest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

North Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sister's getaway
Business
San Francisco
Jul 18, 2010

Great price and location

When we first saw the room, we were a little disappointed, but we were upgraded to a larger more spacious one as there were 4 adults. [...] was excellent. He recommended 2 great restaurants and he booked our seats and boarding passes for our return flight. All the other staff were great as well. They made our stay totally enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liquorrep
Business
All over the country
Jul 16, 2010

Opal!

Nice Clean Room, friendly service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Tommy'z Joynt. Tremendous!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hogansville, GA
Feb 8, 2010

Nice for the price

We got to the hotel almost 3 hours before check-in due to flight time, and we were able to check in without any problem. We did switch rooms because we had requested a smoking room and weren't given one. (Note: The smoking rooms are in a seperate building connected by a breezeway. The main building is smoke-free.) The hotel is old, but location is good, there are several restaurants nearby, pharmacy and bus stop just down the street. Super-comfy beds with nice linens and huge, king-size pillows. Our shower drained slowly, but it wasn't a big deal. Make sure you bring your own soap, shampoo, and conditioner. What they provide is minimal. The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired - boiled eggs, toast, cereal - but maybe that's just me. It was nice to have coffee available 24 hours a day, and Mel's Diner (attached to the hotel) had very good food at a reasonable price. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Defintely take the San Francisco tour! The deluxe one through Tower Tours was great. They picked us up at the hotel, we saw a LOT of the city that way, and the bus was clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peder the Great Dane
Business
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Feb 1, 2010

unbeatable price for the good location

Very professional staff, always very helpful. The hotel is good situated only few blocks away from Business Center and China Town. If you are looking for a downtown location to a fair price, the Opal hotel is the hotel to go for. Our first time in SFO, but certainly not the last and Opal would be our choice for the next trip too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth´s Chris steak restaurant. Certainly worth to pay a visit. Excellent service, the food extremely good and a place you would bring your loved ones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 18, 2010

Central, clean, comfy, and cheap

I was blown away by the price -- for being downtown SF and so well up-kept. The rooms are right-sized, clean, and the staff very real and relatively friendly. ;) We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 14, 2011

Good location, Great price, Nice hotel

Good location to go any place you want to go. Nice hotel for a great price, and the stuff just polite. No wonder, the hotel looks busy with a lot travelers, mostly from French. Rooms big, bathroom clean, and you feel safe in the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

different places for fun, business, or shopping are so close to the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 7, 2010

opal hotel

courteous and helpful--inside door to Mel's Diner so that you could dine as desired--breakfast wasn't too great (no protein) but otherwise ok--great location next to movie theater and buses that take you anywhere--overall excellent experience for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great transportation system that takes you anywhere for $2. Great city for anything. Excellent convention at Moscone Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2010

Great place, great price.

Overall excellent. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Only detraction was no curb side service and stairs to climb with suitcase. Taxi arrangements could be more clear. Otherwise super place for a really reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's just across the street. Great deli type food. Old, recognized establishment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 3, 2007

Nice hotel for the money

The night staff was friendly. One bad thing about this hotel was the $25 parking per night. The room was okay but small. In addition, we got one that was considered to be a bigger room. (Handicapped facilities) but the only thing that was big was the bathroom, which smelled bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a movie theatre and a diner right next door. We called in the order and had our teen children pick up the order.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top