$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monwalker
Business
Texas
Oct 29, 2013

Good hotel

Hotel is clean but a bit noisy due to traffic. Staff very courteous and friendly. Breakfast okay but after 2 days you will be looking a different breakfast like meat. The hotel is close to so many restaurants and fast foods, delis within a walking distance. Room is a bit small but bed is comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Malcolm Betty
Business
Boston
Nov 2, 2013

Nice place but little expensive

The room I stayed has a nice view and it was clean but the towels were not clean enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was very close to downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissMarni
Business
South of San Jose
Nov 10, 2013

very acceptable

Quaint old place in need of an update. Surprisingly high quality continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mickey Mack
Business
Portland
Oct 30, 2013

Quiet friendly old hotel

The opal is a great place to do a walkabout of S.F. The staff is vell informed and can provide usefull Info on the colorfull area that you can't get from reading the tourist info mags. The hotel is old and needs new carpeting and seats. Visitors wanting a good healthy breakfast will find the Opal to be a great place to stat walking about central S. F. A walk up the hill will take you to St Mary,s Cathedral ,a work of moderne art, and a good place to Take photos of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kulettos and Leftys ,both in the Union Sq.area are still providing good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lou Christine
Business
New York, NY
Nov 24, 2013

Romantic age hotel

Lobby is beautiful. Hotel is reminiscent of Victorian age opulence. Unfortunately, the carpets in our rooms seemed like they were installed during Victorian age. Breakfast is excellent. The staff are not friendly. They are very aloof and dismissive. The only exception is the young lady in the breakfast room. She has warm smile and greets guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friendly Traveler Joan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 11, 2013

Good location at a good price

It is located a few blocks away from Union Square where we were able to access the Big Bus (which was a great buy) to go around the city. The room is pretty decent, but don't expect a flat screen TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ClaynKenzie
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
May 27, 2014

Good location, old hotel

Overall, the hotel was too expensive for what we got out of it. We really just paid $250 a night for a good location and an old hotel. If it was renovated, it would be a better value, but the hotel is past its prime. Also another important note, parking at the hotel costs $30 a day which I found excessive. I wish we would have stayed across the bay in a hotel half the price and much nicer and we still would have paid the same for parking in the city when we came to visit. So really if you stay here you're just paying for a good location but I would recommend somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri'Asia Solange
Business
NJ
May 24, 2014

Good location, friendly staff

The staff is very friendly. The location is great. You can easily walk to Union Square, and those that are fit can easily reach Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. The amenities are basic and it is a clean hotel. They have a wine reception on Wednesdays for 1 hour which was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CitycoutureGirl
Business
San Diego
Jun 5, 2014

City exploring

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had two rooms in the outside area. Yes there is inside rooms and outside rooms. Hotel/motel? Free continental breakfast was simple but better than others I've had. Great location for us to walk the city. Coffee and tea in the lobby available at all times, we loved that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

San Francisco is not very good for bigger parties to dine out. 5 or more, you have to do some searching to find a place that has enough room for everyone to sit together. It is manageable..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GaGaRoo
Business
Tempe, AZ.
Jul 6, 2011

The Opal Hotel

The staff was friendly efficient & courteous. The room (#207) was satisfactory. The bathroom & bed were clean. Could use new/clean carpet and, the bed & desk should be switched to make use of the room the most convenient/efficient. Also, it would have been nice to have a small, cheap microwave & refrigerator near the wall next to the door. But, the secure parking was most appreciated. And, Mel's Diner (adjoining the lobby) was GOOD & VERY convenient !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I enjoyed breakfast, lunch & dinner at Mel's Diner. Something for everyone on the menu. I recommend the chicken pot-pie ;-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top