$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
885 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (885)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
885 out of 885
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romas
Singapore
Jan 2, 2013

Eventful Family Holiday

The hotel provides complimentary breakfast of continental bakery, something which is not common for tourist hotels in America I would say. Hotel location is within walking distance to downtown Union Square and City Hall, which is very convenient for shopping and typical tourist leisure walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Collins CO
Oct 25, 2010

Good location and a good value

The Opal is an older hotel near the Japantown area that has been updated and offers good service. The room and bathroom were clean with a very comfortable king size bed. The continental breakfast which came with the price of the room offered a limited but tasteful selection, certainly adequate. The area is relatively safe, my wife and I walked to the Union Square park in the downtown area, about 10 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 25, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This hotel had a great centralized location. It was easy to get around to all the sites taking the MUNI. The hotel was clean and had a nice cozy at home feel. The hotel staff was friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy to get around quickly using the MUNI. There are several bus stops right outside the hotel and a cable car is a short walk away.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Collins CO
Oct 25, 2010

Good location and a good value

The Opal is an older hotel near the Japantown area that has been updated and offers good service. The room and bathroom were clean with a very comfortable king size bed. The continental breakfast which came with the price of the room offered a limited but tasteful selection, certainly adequate. The area is relatively safe, my wife and I walked to the Union Square park in the downtown area, about 10 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Oct 18, 2010

Central, clean, comfy, and cheap

I was blown away by the price -- for being downtown SF and so well up-kept. The rooms are right-sized, clean, and the staff very real and relatively friendly. ;) We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Oct 18, 2010

Central, clean, comfy, and cheap

I was blown away by the price -- for being downtown SF and so well up-kept. The rooms are right-sized, clean, and the staff very real and relatively friendly. ;) We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2010

Great place, great price.

Overall excellent. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Only detraction was no curb side service and stairs to climb with suitcase. Taxi arrangements could be more clear. Otherwise super place for a really reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's just across the street. Great deli type food. Old, recognized establishment.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2010

Great place, great price.

Overall excellent. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Only detraction was no curb side service and stairs to climb with suitcase. Taxi arrangements could be more clear. Otherwise super place for a really reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's just across the street. Great deli type food. Old, recognized establishment.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 7, 2010

opal hotel

courteous and helpful--inside door to Mel's Diner so that you could dine as desired--breakfast wasn't too great (no protein) but otherwise ok--great location next to movie theater and buses that take you anywhere--overall excellent experience for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great transportation system that takes you anywhere for $2. Great city for anything. Excellent convention at Moscone Center.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 7, 2010

opal hotel

courteous and helpful--inside door to Mel's Diner so that you could dine as desired--breakfast wasn't too great (no protein) but otherwise ok--great location next to movie theater and buses that take you anywhere--overall excellent experience for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great transportation system that takes you anywhere for $2. Great city for anything. Excellent convention at Moscone Center.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 29, 2010

Opal Hotel San Francisco

This was a one night stopover in San Fran on our way to Hawaii for our Honeymoon. We thought we would take a day to tour the city. Well for a random Tuesday in September it was IMPOSSIBLE to find a room (there was a conference going on). I booked a 3 star by the hotel and they called me a couple nights before saying they over booked and could only offer me a 2 star roach motel so I went [...] and LUCKILY found a room here. Granted I spent 2x as much as I originally did with the 3 star by the airport... but it turned out being the best thing for us to stay IN the city to bounce around a bit on our short layover.The room was small and not super clean or up to date but FINE for one night and a place to stay. I was kind of skeeved by the bedding being old/not the cleanest. The hotel definitely has charm - I almost felt like I was staying in Europe, slightly because of the old feel. The staff was relatively friendly, I've seen many reviews they were rude but most were cordial to us. When we checked in our carpet was SOAKING wet so I called down to reception. They said they clean it for their guests, which sounded weird. I figured someone spilled something and they HAD to do it, but again we were lucky to get a room so I let a lot of things slide here. But they were nice and offered to send up a fan, etc.The location is pretty convenient. About 30-40$ to the airport and pretty short cab rides to the piers. The best thing by far about our stay was the free continental breakfast. It was simple, but the coffee, OJ and whole wheat toast were super good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top