$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
709 out of 709
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sylmar
Jul 6, 2010

very good location for the price

The check-in took longer than necessary. I can judge since I myself worked at the front desk in many good hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Jun 28, 2010

Pretty Good Value Over All

Room was a pretty good and bed was comfortable. My room was on Van Ness and I didn't hear any traffic noise. Continental breakfast is OK, i.e. toast, hardboiled eggs, bagels, coffee and OJ. Front desk folks were very nice. The hotel borders the Tenderloin District (quite rough) and a methadone clinic is a couple blocks away. I parked my car in an alley 2 blocks from the hotel and, of course, it was broken into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Chinese food, the famous Gourmet Carousel restuarant is at the corner of Franklin and Pine, a 4 block away walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Museum mavin Maureen
Business
Palm Desert calif.
Jun 25, 2010

a great value/ unbeatable location

Staff was helpful from the minute we walked in the door. We loved the wine and cheese in the lobby on Wed. evening with entertainment as well. It gave us a chance to meet other travelers and just relax. We used the bus system and the staff helped us with bus line info. each day. VEry clean rooms, quiet and great beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nashville, tennessee
Jun 20, 2010

Most convienient to access the city

Hotel is excellent location for access to all of city. It was kept very clean by a very hospitible staff. Will definitely use it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent access to all public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego Business
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 16, 2010

Nice Place to Stay

Hotel is classic and style is original.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakdale, Ca
Jun 15, 2010

A good place to stay

The rooms were clean, the staff was nice, and I was pretty close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jun 13, 2010

The Opal

Near bus transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 11, 2010

San Francisco Value

Repeat visit. Still the same. Rooms and service similar to Hampton but with aura of vintage hotel. Reserved two suites but one not available upon arrival. Staff quickly upgraded second room and comped parking. Location is OK (Car, Bus or Taxi) but a few seedy joints a few blocks over. We don't stay there to stay in that neighborhood. We use it as a hub to get to Fishermans Warf or the Haight or to down town. Over all Good Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 23, 2010

Cute Old Hotel

Finding the hotel was the hardest part, mapquest did not send us to the right place so we were pretty mad. I called the hotel and the lady at the front desk helped us out. After that, I enjoyed being there. It was a cute hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't drive, just take the bus which is outside of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ukiah, Ca
May 18, 2010

An Awesome Trip to San Francisco

The room was small but perfect for what we needed and the price was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top