$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
663 out of 663
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DebzKorner
Business
Brentwood, CA
May 21, 2013

A Quick Overnight...

The Opal is a great historic hotel that has been nicely renovated. Our room was clean & the the beds very comfortable. The continental breakfast left much to be desired...it barely qualified as a breakfast of any kind. Overall, not a bad place to stay for a night but not a place to plan a week's vacation around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dominicky
Business
Modesto, California
Jun 4, 2013

Not Bad at all for the price.

The hotel itself is comfortable, as were the beds. While there are few amenities, i.e. extras available, such as a lounge, a bar, etc., for those just looking for a place to hang your hat while spending most of your time out and about, you can't beat the price. Parking is extra, but also very secure and allows for easy entrance and exit throughout your stay at no extra cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maggie3333
Business
Chicago
Jun 20, 2013

Good time

The hotel has a good location. The staff was very nice and very very helpful. The breakfast was great - everyone could find something for yourself. Our room was clean but very small and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
geauxtigers
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Jul 10, 2013

4th Getaway

Not a bad place to stay for one night but not a place to stay for a week vacation. Location seemed far from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tommaso’s for Italian!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jun 5, 2013

Get Away

Room was average room and King Bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MMary
Business
San Antonio, TX
Aug 29, 2013

Not what I expected

Staff was great. Room was clean & appropriate. This is an old hotel, with some updates, and more are in order. Carpet on stairwell was very shabby. The bathroom in my room had been updated, however I could not reach the toilet paper holder from the toilet! My room had windows that open. . .refreshing! The continental breakfast each morning was fine. The biggest surprise was that this was listed as in "Union Square". . .while less than a mile from Union Square, the walk from BART or the walk to Union Square requires travelling through very sketchy neighborhoods. I did not feel safe going out as a single woman at night. This is VERY different from "Union Square".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zyebith
Business
Bay Area, Ca.
Sep 2, 2013

Soccer Tournament

I asked for a double room like the pic showed and they have no such room :( BEWARE!!!!!! What they don't tell you is that there is a $35.00 parking expense for the garage :( This hotel is old and you can not reach the bathroom paper as it is across the bathroom :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
quicktrip75
Business
Petaluma, California
Sep 3, 2013

A little pricey for what you get.

The Opal was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful, but that alone did not justify the price. I had to book last minute so that did not help my bottom line but I feel I over paid for what I got. The room was spacious enough but their was not much in the way of amenities.It does, however, have a decent location in its favor. I would recommend this hotel IF you can book well in advance and get a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gypsygirl9
Business
fair oaks ca
Sep 4, 2013

Fun in San Francisco.

Nothing fancy but it was clean and quiet and well situated in the city. Just a cab ride away from everything cool. I'd stay there again. Just FYI they do charge 30$ for parking and a 50$ deposit on the garage opener. It made the over all price higher, so keep that in mind when budgeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ditte mom
Business
Denmark
Aug 31, 2013

Okay for short stay!

Overall good hotel, but breakfast not good need better and healthy food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top