$146 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Chomak
Santa Rosa
Nov 13, 2012

Great Place and not expensive either!

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was perfect for our family of 4. It had two queen beds (which is hard to find in SF) and a queen sofa sleeper in a small sitting area and a large walk in closet!. Lots of room!!!!! As others have said, it is an older hotel so don't expect modern furniture or TV, but TV reception was great. Reason I left a 4 star for cleanliness was because the pillows were sub-par on comfort and they appeared old. The pillow cases were clean though so not to worry! And the blanket in the sofa sleeper was a bit gross, so we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was great! Yogurt, bagels, toast, fruit, mufifins, hot chocolate and good coffee!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying with a car, the meters are free on Sundays. You can also park for free in a yellow zone after 6PM.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2011

Best deal ever

Nice room, amazing price, and awesome location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Veracruz, Mexico
Dec 31, 2010

Opalescence

Small but comfortable room, good breakfast, good location,friendly and helpful personnel. I'm booked for next week also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

I like Perry's for lunch and Pane e Vino for dinner, both on Union Street.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yelinannan
Business
Davis, CA
Dec 31, 2010

It's OK for the price and location

wait too long for check in, room is good, bathroom is large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a bus stop beside the building

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Nov 27, 2010

October Opal Stay

We found the Opal had lots of character (with a couple of antique pianos on the ground floor). Didn't appreciate that there was an extra $30 charge for parking (but all the San Fran hotels seem to do that). It's on the bus line, so getting around town that way is fine. We enjoyed the room (although some might find it small). Service was fine and the breakfast ordinary. If seeing the homeless makes you uncomfortable, you might not want to hang out right outside the hotel. Overall, we found the Opal to be a good price for sight-seeing the beautiful city of San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We highly recommend renting bicycles for getting around the city. There are a number of places to rent bikes for the day (or longer). We biked over the Golden Gate Bridge and through Golden Gate Park and loved it. Be prepared for hills...it is a very hilly city!!! Also, the food next door at the diner was very good and at a reasonable price!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 28, 2010

A great value

I was pleasantly surprised - The lobby is exceptional and the facility for the price was an exceptional value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins CO
Oct 25, 2010

Good location and a good value

The Opal is an older hotel near the Japantown area that has been updated and offers good service. The room and bathroom were clean with a very comfortable king size bed. The continental breakfast which came with the price of the room offered a limited but tasteful selection, certainly adequate. The area is relatively safe, my wife and I walked to the Union Square park in the downtown area, about 10 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 25, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This hotel had a great centralized location. It was easy to get around to all the sites taking the MUNI. The hotel was clean and had a nice cozy at home feel. The hotel staff was friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy to get around quickly using the MUNI. There are several bus stops right outside the hotel and a cable car is a short walk away.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 18, 2010

Central, clean, comfy, and cheap

I was blown away by the price -- for being downtown SF and so well up-kept. The rooms are right-sized, clean, and the staff very real and relatively friendly. ;) We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2010

Great place, great price.

Overall excellent. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Only detraction was no curb side service and stairs to climb with suitcase. Taxi arrangements could be more clear. Otherwise super place for a really reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's just across the street. Great deli type food. Old, recognized establishment.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 7, 2010

opal hotel

courteous and helpful--inside door to Mel's Diner so that you could dine as desired--breakfast wasn't too great (no protein) but otherwise ok--great location next to movie theater and buses that take you anywhere--overall excellent experience for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great transportation system that takes you anywhere for $2. Great city for anything. Excellent convention at Moscone Center.

Back to menu Return to top