$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
885 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (885)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
885 out of 885
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
THE SOUTHERN GENTELMAN
BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA
Jul 6, 2012

WOW

The only complant that we had was that they had 3 pillows instead of 4 and no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ON THE CORNER OF POST & LARKIN IS THE BEST LITTLE PLACE "LITTLE HENRY" ITALIAN FOOD. THE FISHERMAN WAS OUR FAVORITE DISH, ASK FOR EXTRA BREAD YOU DON'T WANT TO LEAVE ANY SAUCE ON THE PLATE. JUST TELL HENRY THOSE CRAZY PEOPLE FROM LOUISIANA SENT YOU.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MANDY LOVE <3
LOS ANGELES, CA
Jan 4, 2011

Great for the Price!!!

THE FIRST THING THAT ATTRACTED MY BOYFRIEND AND I TO THE OPAL WAS THE GREAT AND REASONABLE PRICE. THIS WAS NOT OUR FIRST TIME IN S.F. WE HAD STOOD IN HIGHER PRICED HOTEL ON OUR PREVIOUS VISIT AND WE WERE NOT COMPLETELY SATISFIED. SO THIS TIME OUR STAY TOOK PLACE DURING THE NEW YEAR HOLIDAY WEEKEND AND WE WANTED TO LOOK FOR SOMETHING MORE AFFORDABLE. THE OPAL WAS THE RIGHT PRICE AND THE REVIEWS HELP SUPPORT OUR DECISION. DESPITE THE NEIGHBORHOOD BEING A LITTLE SKETCHY EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL. THE HOTEL LOCATION IS NOT THE BEST, BUT WE DID NOT HAVE ONE COMPLAINT. THE HOTEL LOBBY HAS A CLASSIC FEEL THAT MAKES YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE. THE ROOM WAS DECENT SIZE AND VERY CLEAN. THE RESTROOM WAS HUGE BUT A LITTLE PLAIN. THE HOTEL OFFERED FREE CABLE TV AND INTERNET. ALSO, THE OPAL HAS FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EVERYDAY OF THE WEEK.BREAKFAST INCLUDED:TOAST, BAGELS, HARD BOILED EGGS, FRUIT, COFFEE, TEA, AND JUICE (IT'S ENOUGH TO HOLD YOU OVER UNTIL LUNCH.) OVERALL OUR STAY WAS GREAT AND WE WILL DEFINETLY BE STAYING HERE AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yelinannan
Davis, CA
Dec 31, 2010

It's OK for the price and location

wait too long for check in, room is good, bathroom is large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a bus stop beside the building

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Veracruz, Mexico
Dec 31, 2010

Opalescence

Small but comfortable room, good breakfast, good location,friendly and helpful personnel. I'm booked for next week also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

I like Perry's for lunch and Pane e Vino for dinner, both on Union Street.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yelinannan
Davis, CA
Dec 31, 2010

It's OK for the price and location

wait too long for check in, room is good, bathroom is large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a bus stop beside the building

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Veracruz, Mexico
Dec 31, 2010

Opalescence

Small but comfortable room, good breakfast, good location,friendly and helpful personnel. I'm booked for next week also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

I like Perry's for lunch and Pane e Vino for dinner, both on Union Street.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Nov 27, 2010

October Opal Stay

We found the Opal had lots of character (with a couple of antique pianos on the ground floor). Didn't appreciate that there was an extra $30 charge for parking (but all the San Fran hotels seem to do that). It's on the bus line, so getting around town that way is fine. We enjoyed the room (although some might find it small). Service was fine and the breakfast ordinary. If seeing the homeless makes you uncomfortable, you might not want to hang out right outside the hotel. Overall, we found the Opal to be a good price for sight-seeing the beautiful city of San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We highly recommend renting bicycles for getting around the city. There are a number of places to rent bikes for the day (or longer). We biked over the Golden Gate Bridge and through Golden Gate Park and loved it. Be prepared for hills...it is a very hilly city!!! Also, the food next door at the diner was very good and at a reasonable price!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Nov 27, 2010

October Opal Stay

We found the Opal had lots of character (with a couple of antique pianos on the ground floor). Didn't appreciate that there was an extra $30 charge for parking (but all the San Fran hotels seem to do that). It's on the bus line, so getting around town that way is fine. We enjoyed the room (although some might find it small). Service was fine and the breakfast ordinary. If seeing the homeless makes you uncomfortable, you might not want to hang out right outside the hotel. Overall, we found the Opal to be a good price for sight-seeing the beautiful city of San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We highly recommend renting bicycles for getting around the city. There are a number of places to rent bikes for the day (or longer). We biked over the Golden Gate Bridge and through Golden Gate Park and loved it. Be prepared for hills...it is a very hilly city!!! Also, the food next door at the diner was very good and at a reasonable price!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Oct 28, 2010

A great value

I was pleasantly surprised - The lobby is exceptional and the facility for the price was an exceptional value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Oct 28, 2010

A great value

I was pleasantly surprised - The lobby is exceptional and the facility for the price was an exceptional value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 25, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This hotel had a great centralized location. It was easy to get around to all the sites taking the MUNI. The hotel was clean and had a nice cozy at home feel. The hotel staff was friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy to get around quickly using the MUNI. There are several bus stops right outside the hotel and a cable car is a short walk away.

Back to menu Return to top