$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tawnster
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 2, 2013

New Year's

Hotel was nice, clean, quiet. Located just two miles from Pier 39, parking averaged around 30$ though. But AMC theater was next door, along with some diners and cafes. :) overall a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sledgehammer
Business
Buffalo
Jan 2, 2013

Not Great!!!

Except the location nothing else was good. The queen size bed was really small. The rooms are small. Dont bother about the continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlos Ruben Traveller
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
Jan 15, 2013

Wonderfull.

I enjoyed this hotel. I recomende it. Its a good hotel and is very cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to the Union Square where you can buy everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllanY
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 28, 2013

For overnight stays

not bad. Its an old hotel, so temper your expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZTCD
Business
Fresno, California
Feb 11, 2013

Great location for the price

Hotel is located on Van Ness and Geary...not a great place in the city, but easy to get to everything else by cab. Reasonable parking located just next door on O'Farrell Street. Staff very friendly. Room was very clean, but very small, although they do have larger rooms. For the price this hotel is hard to beat. I will stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
infrequent travelers
Business
boston
Mar 26, 2013

simple option for

good stay, nice front staff, decent breakfast. the room was clean and bathroom functional for the space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AnnieChan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 4, 2013

Haunted Hotel in the Tenderloin

The hotel itself is decent, historical and in a nice part of the Tenderloin away from the Civic Center sketchy area. However, my friend and I stayed on the 4th floor only to find on our first night there that it was haunted! My friend saw a female ghost the first night who was wearing a white dress eerily similar to a painting of a girl and her family that was in the room. Our next night strange things kept happening...if you don't mind friendly ghosts then this is a good place..if they freak you out like they did my friend and I, then stay away! Other than that the hotel comes with free breakfast, tea and coffee all day, and its secure with only key access to get in the front door. Its close to buses and the rooms are decent for San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fillmore area for good restaurants and bars, take the bus, its faster!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KJ the cool kid
Business
Tacoma, Wa
Apr 8, 2013

Spring Break

Great stay. The staff were excellent and very helpful. I would stay here again. The only problem I would say is the location of the hotel was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ugkale
Business
Morgantown, WV
May 1, 2013

Good deal

Had a conference in downtown, which was 8-9 blocks away. Could walk in 20 min, but when in rush, took the bus. Good deal and friendly staff members. Small room, big bed, clean bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DebzKorner
Business
Brentwood, CA
May 21, 2013

A Quick Overnight...

The Opal is a great historic hotel that has been nicely renovated. Our room was clean & the the beds very comfortable. The continental breakfast left much to be desired...it barely qualified as a breakfast of any kind. Overall, not a bad place to stay for a night but not a place to plan a week's vacation around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top