$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebGal
Lancaster, Pa
Jun 23, 2013

great place

Nice old building, great location, and Brad was so helpful with things to see and do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Golden Gate national Park

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Jan 18, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

not as small as i expected. VERY good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tommy's joynt

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the babusos in Europe
Business
Arcata,CA
Jan 18, 2011

All you need to sleep and go

I went on a 6 day SFO vacation, the hotel room had an average size, it was clean, the rooms are heated and the carpet was fairly clean, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is only bread, like bagels and cream cheese but it gets you started, and they always have fresh coffee at the lobby. The only downside is that the hotel is about 10 blocks from union square and there are too may homeless people near, so it made it a little bit uncomfortable to go out alone at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Attached to the hotel there is a Mels restaurant with a steak and eggs all day serve breakfast for 6.99.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akascarlett
Business
Templeton, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Pleasantly Suprised

I was in the bay area for my Uncle's funeral. It was an emotionally draining day and I was exhausted. I worried that I'd be in a rough neighborhood and that I'd fight for parking. Neither happened. The neighborhood was fine and I found parking easily. The lobby was pretty and inviting and checking in was a breeze. The Opal was ready for me. I had brought a nice bottle of wine with me and I was able to borrow a bottle opener for my stay. My room was small and modest, but it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. My room was really quiet too. The first thing I did was open that bottle of wine and take a hot bath. Later that night I took a cab the 2 miles to SOMA to my favorite place called Heaven's Dog. It's on Mission. I highly recommend it. The braised pork belly in clam buns is outrageously delicious. The bartenders are true mixologists. Have them custom make a drink for you. Back to the hotel, it's location was awesome. The next day at check out I was able to store my luggage. I walked to the SFMOMA for a wine exhibit and stopped in China town for Dim Sum. It was very convenient. All of that was within 2 miles one way. Usually I stay with a friend who lives in San Francisco. If I am in need of a hotel again I will go back to The Opal. It's no frills place and I was happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego,c a
Jan 14, 2011

ok for the price

The room was a little small, has the weirdest odor in the room and hallway. The stairs make so much noise. The front desk people were really nice and helpful. They also have a breakfast buffet which includes; boiled eggs, oranges, apples, orange juice, apple juice, coffee, bagels, and toast. The shower is horrible, it could not stay the right temperature and the shower head was spraying everywhere. Overall, it was ok for the price but bad location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harris was amazing, we took the muni that was right next to our hotel all way down and it was right there.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GB Packer fan
Business
Madison, WI
Jan 13, 2011

Dated, but fine.

My stay at the Opal was fine. The cost was very reasonable and the hotel is in a great location. That said, the room I had was very small, the TV did not work, and the decor of the room and the rest of the hotel is dated. That said, internet and a good contential breakfast are included in the price, so overall I would consider the value to be exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sonoma County, CA
Jan 13, 2011

High Class at affordable rates

Wonderful Customer Service in a very nice and comfortable hotel with rates I could not believe were affordable. They love pets so if you do too, this is your place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Haight Ashbury

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 13, 2011

Pleasantly Surprised

I had read the other reviews, so it was not without some hesitation that I booked a room at the Opal. We stayed for 5 nights and I will say that it was a very pleasant experience. The bathroom and bed were clean and the room was a good size and came with free LAN internet (wifi is available in the lobby). Our shower had the regular, non-water saving shower-heads, which I prefer. Contrary to earlier reviews there was an iron in the room, and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, although I only really spoke with them at check-in for sightseeing tips. In general the hotel reminded me of staying at a friend's house, comfortable and clean but not immaculate. So if you need all the wallpaper seams perfect, don't stay here. If you want a centrally located hotel (roughly equidistant to the Mission, Fisherman's wharf and Golden gate park) at a good price, this is it. It's about a 15 min walk from the nearest BART station. I will conclude by saying I have stayed at several highly rated hotels in San Francisco (the W twice and the Renaissance) and in terms of the comfort/cost ratio, I will stay at the Opal in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japantown has some good restaurants and is close by. But don't eat at Seoul Garden, the worst Korean food I've ever had

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zunyu
Business
Claremont, CA
Jan 10, 2011

good for the budget

the condition in Opal hotel can just satisfy your needs. but the restroom has no van, and you need to open window slightly. but for the hotel's location is safe and convient,(has a bus station nearby).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2011

Best deal ever

Nice room, amazing price, and awesome location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MANDY LOVE <3
Business
LOS ANGELES, CA
Jan 4, 2011

Great for the Price!!!

THE FIRST THING THAT ATTRACTED MY BOYFRIEND AND I TO THE OPAL WAS THE GREAT AND REASONABLE PRICE. THIS WAS NOT OUR FIRST TIME IN S.F. WE HAD STOOD IN HIGHER PRICED HOTEL ON OUR PREVIOUS VISIT AND WE WERE NOT COMPLETELY SATISFIED. SO THIS TIME OUR STAY TOOK PLACE DURING THE NEW YEAR HOLIDAY WEEKEND AND WE WANTED TO LOOK FOR SOMETHING MORE AFFORDABLE. THE OPAL WAS THE RIGHT PRICE AND THE REVIEWS HELP SUPPORT OUR DECISION. DESPITE THE NEIGHBORHOOD BEING A LITTLE SKETCHY EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL. THE HOTEL LOCATION IS NOT THE BEST, BUT WE DID NOT HAVE ONE COMPLAINT. THE HOTEL LOBBY HAS A CLASSIC FEEL THAT MAKES YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE. THE ROOM WAS DECENT SIZE AND VERY CLEAN. THE RESTROOM WAS HUGE BUT A LITTLE PLAIN. THE HOTEL OFFERED FREE CABLE TV AND INTERNET. ALSO, THE OPAL HAS FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EVERYDAY OF THE WEEK.BREAKFAST INCLUDED:TOAST, BAGELS, HARD BOILED EGGS, FRUIT, COFFEE, TEA, AND JUICE (IT'S ENOUGH TO HOLD YOU OVER UNTIL LUNCH.) OVERALL OUR STAY WAS GREAT AND WE WILL DEFINETLY BE STAYING HERE AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top