$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Kris
Business
Central Valley, Ca
Aug 28, 2010

Cheap and it Shows

My boyfriend and I went to the city for the day and last minute decided to stay the night. The opal seemed cheap and convienant, never again will I go for cheap. This hotel was disgusting, we didn't even end up staying the night, we counted our losess and check out early and drove home in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kassanova
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 24, 2010

Great Location, Friendly staff

It's a great Hotel for the price you are paying. Very friendly and helpful staff. Make sure you ask [...] at the front desk places you want to go, site seeing or Resturants. She is very nice. Hotel is located at the heart of the town, not too quiet and not too noisy, close to every thing. There was only one problem with the location, it's close to a district called Tenderloin area. Trust me, you don't want to walk or be any where close around that area at night, especially, if you are with a family.But, then again, most places in SF has the homeless and drug problem issues just like any other major Metropolitan cities. There is a small area where the Hotel serves Breakfast...it's just too small for all that people. They ought to do something about that.Overall, great experience. Oh yeh, I almost forgot, they only charge $25 per night for car parking, which is one of the cheapest in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You want to eat good food? try North Beach area (Little Italy).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 15, 2010

The Good and the Bad

This hotel was not very nice at all and not in a great neighborhood. The rooms were small but the were clean. Overall had a very old run down feel. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol P
Business
Fairfield, IA
Aug 4, 2010

Very Nice!

I really liked this hotel. It is pretty close to the City Hall and the Union Square. You might hear that this is not a nice neighborhood, but the hotel is not that close the the bad neighborhood. The staff is friendly and helpful and helped me plan my days and find the best ways to visit the places I wanted to. I definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is 6/7 blocks from the Union Square and Macy's, Nike Town, Zara, Victoria's Secret etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington, MI
Aug 1, 2010

Beautiful lobby, room a little small

The Opal is a beautiful hotel. We had a room with a queen bed. The room was a little small. The desk was right next to the bed. The bathroom very large, but also very stark. It only had a shower. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. It was close to the cable car and a variety of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 26, 2010

The Opal in San Francisco

We were in San Francisco to run the SF Marathon. I'm not familiar with the city and the hotel staff was very, very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
andonid
Business
London, UK
Jul 25, 2010

Opal San Francisco

The hotel itself is ok-ish if you don't count how noisy it is, the incredibly cheap breakfast service (just some juice and bagles) and the outdated decoration of the rooms, with a weird mix of tackiness and 70s stuff... Add to this that the parking was full so I had to overpay valet parking in a parking nearby, the entrance door didn't work properly so I had to wait 15 minutes in the SF coldness before someone from reception opened it, and how expensive it was...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sister's getaway
Business
San Francisco
Jul 18, 2010

Great price and location

When we first saw the room, we were a little disappointed, but we were upgraded to a larger more spacious one as there were 4 adults. [...] was excellent. He recommended 2 great restaurants and he booked our seats and boarding passes for our return flight. All the other staff were great as well. They made our stay totally enjoyable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liquorrep
Business
All over the country
Jul 16, 2010

Opal!

Nice Clean Room, friendly service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Tommy'z Joynt. Tremendous!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacob P.
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2010

Terrible, stay at your own risk

Pros: Nice lobby, quick elevator, good shower pressure and warm water Cons: It is very telling that there are more photos of san fran sites than of the hotel. The room we got (two double) was incredibly small, with the beds almost touching each other and spanning from wall to wall. There was one thin window (more like a slit) which was mostly blocked by the shade of the building itself. Everything in the hotel looked like it was from the 1950s, and hadn't been updated in as long. The floors creaked. The complimentary toiletries were a small pouch of shampoo and conditioner so that once you open it, it can't really be used again. Housekeeping almost broke our door down to clean the room the morning ON THE DAY WE WERE CHECKING OUT, whereas every other hotel in the world crosschecks so as to not needlessly clean a room that will be vacated in a couple hours. The staff downstairs was terrible, unhelpful and often rude with snarky comments about how we're lucky to even have a room at all, even though we had had a reservation. The hotel isn't really close to anything and is a good 15-20 minute walk to the nearest train station (civic center). The diner right by is ridiculously overpriced and fantastically slow. There are two waitresses for the whole place, and they have cashier duties too. It takes forever to order, receive, and pay for even a simple meal. The area is not nice, lots of homeless people and beggars, especially at night. STAY FAR FAR AWAY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to civic center train, take it up to powell street stop, where you find the classic cable cars which will take you to fisherman's wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top