$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 21, 2009

Very nice hotel

Older hotel with lots of character. Nice room and location for us. About 4 blocks from cable car to Nob Hill area. Had problem with coffee maker - called front desk and within 2 minutes, someone was at our door to see about it. Good service and decent breakfast bar. Rooms were adequate size and bed was comfortable. It's an older hotel in a busy urban area, so there is some noise, both from inside and out. Parking was OK but expensive, but most parking in the city is pricy. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable cars are convenient, fun way to get around if you're heading to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown or downtown. We drove around town the last time we were in SF and spent a fortune on parking. We left the car at the hotel this time and saved a lot of time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gran, Granny, Mom, whatever works.
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 22, 2009

A charming environment to relax in

This was a fast trip to meet up with family members for an outing. The hotel was charming. Continental breakfast could have been better if fresh fruit and pastries were provided. I spent very little time in the hotel but I found the room very comfortable, clean and perfect for my trip. Staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

California Academy of Sciences and de Young Museum well worth the trip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacifica, CA
Mar 25, 2010

Very nice, very convenient location

Easy access to cabs, bus. very close to a great movies theatre (next door) great restaurants in walking distance, Tommy's joint across the street. House of Prime rib just a few blocks away. Very clean and great old SF atmosphere. Will stay there again. Susanne was very friendly and helpful when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's joint and House of Prime Rib, Tommy joint very, very reasonable with great food, House of Prime Rib more expensive with great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Niagara Falls,On
Mar 20, 2011

"Great place to stay in San Francisco"

This hotel was a very comfortable and clean place to stay while visiting San Francisco. The hotel front desk staff were very kind, helpful and knowledgeable regarding directions to various locations and other information asked of them. The lobby is very lovely and the rooms are a fair size. There are bus stops everywhere so getting on the MUNI is easy and within walking distance. Local calls are free so if you need to use the phone it is very convenient. The free breakfast includes toast, bagels, orange and apple juice, hard boiled eggs, apples and oranges, and coffee and tea. It is sufficient and well stocked at all times and is enough for a good head start in the morning and very convenient. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay again when visiting San Francisco. Thank you Opal Hotel for a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Haight/Ashbury experience is great for those who love vintage shopping. It is a very quaint area full of great vintage store and nice little cafe's. We took the MUNI buses to get there and it is fun traveling through the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Apr 5, 2011

Great value!

This was a very nice, comfortable hotel at a very reasonable price with nice staff. The only issue is that it's in a sketchy part of town...but walking 10-15 minutes will get you to nicer areas. We got the CityPass and several buses stopped near the hotel which was convenient. If you're willing to do a little walking and you're a smart traveler, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burmese Kitchen and Napoli Pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Slidell, La.
Apr 9, 2011

A good experience for the money

The room was clean but the a/c would not work correctly. We changed rooms and still could not get the a/c to work. We had to open a window to cool off the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I just think it was a fluke about the a/c. They offered us another room, but we did not feel like moving again. I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend the Catamaran sunset cruise on the bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in Asia
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2009

An Excellent Value

I'm in San Francisco often for work. I had been staying in the suburbs to save money on the hotel, and then traveling into the city on BART. But I decided to try again to find an inexpensive but decent hotel in the city. I spent a lot of time reading reviews and comparing prices, and settled on the Opal. It seemed that everything else was either too expensive or too sleazy I was not disappointed. The room was big enough to be comfortable and very clean. It was also very quiet. I never heard any noise from surrounding rooms (maybe they were empty?). The mattress was firm, but comfortable. The pillows were more firm than usual, which I like, but you may not. The breakfast buffet was good for this price range: toast (white and wheat bread), bagels with cream cheese, croissants, hard-boiled eggs, Cheerios and Raisin Bran, etc. The neighborhood is not the best, but is safe enough. The hotel is on Van Ness, a very busy street even at night, so I felt safe outside even late at night, as long as I didn't wander down any quiet streets. The fitness center is very small, but no one else was there the two times I went there. It has dumbbells up to 50 pounds, which will allow me to stay in shape while working in San Francisco. The worst thing about the Opal was the slow internet connection. I ran speed tests at various times. The speeds were always around 250 kbps, which is only 5 times dial-up speed, which is fast enough for text-based work, such as reading and e-mail, but too slow for video and fast picture viewing. I paid $66 plus tax for my room. In the suburbs, I was paying $60 plus tax plus the cost of the BART to get into the city. For appoximately the same cost, I'll be staying at the Opal from now on, and walk 5 or 10 minutes to my work at the Civic Center. Yea, I get to sleep in longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The attached diner, Mel's Diner, was okay, but a bit expensive and nothing special. It seemed to be more about image than substance. The cheeseburger was too ordinary, but the quality of the meat was good. The fries were above average. I found an excellent Burmese restaurant a few blocks away: the Larkin Express, also known as the Burmese Kitchen. I ate there three times, and ate three excellent meals. The Tea Leaf Salad was especially good. If you like Thai food, you'll like Burmese food, which is similar. I've travelled in Southeast Asia, although not in Burma. The food at this restaurant seemed to be authentic, and up there with the best restaurants I ate at in Southeast Asia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pratheep
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

Good hotel, open to improvements

The rooms are comfortable, well maintainted,good internet facility - fast and uninterrupted. The breakfast options were minimal, with few items to chose from. Allocating the parking lots need to be improved. We had to park in an open lot for one night,even though we were allocated a parking lot - someone else had parked in the lot. However, we were able to park the next night in our lot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

1) Good hotels nearby - walkable distance 2) Short drive to Golden Gate,Union Square,China Town,Fisherman's Wharf and other major attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 21, 2007

BEWARE OF HIDDEN COST

WE WERE TOTALLY SUPPRISE THAT WE HAD TO PAY $25 PER DAY TO PARK AT THE HOTEL. ALL OTHER HOTELS IN THE NEIGBORHOOD WERE FREE INCLUDING THE ONE NEXT DOOR. WE HAD END UP TO PAID OVER $100 FOR THE PARKING AT THE HOTEL. I THINK THAT NOT RIGHT FOR CUSTOMER TO PAY THAT MUCH FOR THE PARKING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Nov 30, 2009

Economical but nice

Travelled to Yosimite National Park,there was theater close by there were ample variety of eating establishments in close proximity.There was public transport available we were only there for two days so cannot comment further on available tourist attractions but we were happy with this hotel as a no nonsense economically priced accomadation i wouldn't hesitate to use it again or to recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Know the area and the public transport system

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top