$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Mar 5, 2011

Great!

Its just what you are looking if you want to visit SF. The location, the room, good breakfast included! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the hotel there is in and out parking 24/7 with good prices.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elenarose
Business
Seattle
Nov 16, 2009

Clean, good location, friendly, basic

The Opal staff - at the desk, in the breakfast room,and on the floor - were consistently helpful and friendly. Being a single woman, I appreciated their tips to get around San Francisco in a safe way. The room was basic, clean, quiet. One more bedside lamp would have been perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

En route to Chinatown in the mornings, you can stop by Grace Cathedral to walk the outside labryinth and sit in the green park facing it where women are practicing their T'ai Chi and Quigong. Exhilerating on a sunny day.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 6, 2009

Very solid hotel; good location

Very good location right downtown, friendly front desk staff, comfortable rooms. Not too noisy, relaxing. Close to BART/Muni, a cheap cab fare from everywhere. Nothing extraordinary, but a good solid value in downtown San Fran.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Civic Center BART/Muni station!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fari
Business
San Diego
Aug 2, 2011

Good

Hotel is in heart of City and very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilee the gourmet
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Jun 10, 2011

Don't park on the street

Very busy hotel/mini UN. Guests were from all over the globe. Pleasant decor from another age. Room was small but very clean and pleasant (upgrade available for + $20). Bathroom probably wouldn't accommodate an obese guest. One small cramped mirror in bathroom. One small sliver of soap for shower and sink. Bed was good. Great central location for everything a tourist might want take in. Car was vandalized while we ate dinner; window smashed, but nothing missing from inside the car. Hotel has secure parking available, but $27/night. Some delay in check-in as heavy concierge advice took staff time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joint is the real deal. In same location for almost 100 years. Hof Brau food, quick, good. Lots of unique atmosphere. It's just across the street from The Opal Hotel. House of Prime Rib is "old SF", excellent food, not cheap, needs reservations.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ashes the random
Business
Reno, Nevada
Feb 10, 2011

The Random Getaway

it was a great experience. i will be looking forward to returning soon. thank you for everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

fishermans wharf

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 25, 2011

Amazing value & service

A gem of an hotel when it comes to price and service; our room was not fully ready when we checked in so we were upgraded to a larger room without even asking for it. The keys to the new room did not work at first so we had to return to the front desk to get them "recoded". Within 5 minutes of being settled in, a staff member showed up with an excellent bottle of Cabernet (from Napa), two glasses, a bottle opener, and a small note of apologies from the concierge...! Granted the location is a bit noisy (but the hotel has done a fine job at sound-proofing the windows and traffic from Van Ness Avenue was not an issue. There are a three very good Sushi restaurants within three blocks as well as an excellent Indian restaurant. Last (but bot least) is the fact that the hotel is attached to Mel's, a 50's/60's style restaurant that is open very late. Breakfast is OK if one enjoys 1) toast, 2) cream cheese/jelly, 3) apples/oranges, and 4) boiled eggs, as these are the only supplies available (besides coffee/tea/juice). Those who need more can go to Mel's... The workout room is very basic (OK, below basic) but maybe that's because SF is a walking city? Who needs a treadmill when one has California Street?! Guest laundry is fine; one load of wash + dry + soap is under $5.00. Free internet is cable inside the rooms but Wi-Fi works downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast lines can be quite long... they got 5 toasters, each with 4 slots, and it's still a wait. Go to Mel's next door

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miz Marv
Business
Markham, Ontario
Nov 12, 2009

Great Experience

I arrived on the red-eye from Honolulu about 5am. I got to the hotel about 6am with the intention of storing my bags until the 3pm check in time. I explained to the front desk clerk, I believe her name is [...], that my flight arrived very early and asked if I could store my luggage. She checked me in early, gave me an upgraded room and invited me to have complimentary breakfast. She asked what I wanted to do in San Francisco and arranged a couple of tours for me. This was my first trip to San Francisco and based on that experience alone, it won't be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Sep 15, 2009

Charming old place in downtown setting

We chose this hotel for its proximity to downtown SF and the Pier. That came with its own set of 'downtown-type' issues (traffic, vagrants, etc.) The hotel itself was very nice, staff was friendly and professional, room was clean and interesting, though a little small. They did a great job of keeping the outside issues outside. We felt secure & comfortable. There were no real noise problems inside the hotel or our guest room. A decent stay, overall, and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Pier, about 10 min away by taxi or car.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee
Business
Michigan
Aug 15, 2011

Family vacation

Staff was very helpful. Liked the atmosphere-not another chain. It had character. Visited the sites in the city. Was able to get around easily from this hotel. Was a little nervous about location after reading reviews on-line, but I'm not sure what those comments were based on. The area was not rough at all. Just a big city with all that entails.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top