$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
718 out of 718
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Las tres new city chicas
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 22, 2009

Ummm....not that bad....

Bums roam around The Opal, still that is the case for most of San Francisco. I traveled with two other ladies, we never felt anxiety about traveling around SF. BUT I would not recommend this hotel if you are traveling alone. The Opal is conveniently located around bars, and places to eat. We took several cab rides around SF and on average it cost us $10 (including tip), very convenient when splitting it among three people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take a laptop!! The Opal has free internet! You can look up things to do, including buses and bus fare....Also the folks at the front desk were extremely helpful when we asked about things to do in SF.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gothenburg, Sweden.
Oct 1, 2009

2 nights in SF

Room was ok but the view was to a boring dirty wall. Staff was not really friendly and was almost like they expected a certain type of guests that didnt fit with us. Breakfast was served to late so we didnt get any. Good with a small exercise room and lanudry room. The town buses came just outside, but the hotel was abit to close to the nast areas downtown with all strange wanderers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try out the whale tours, that was really amazing. We saw 15 whales and that was the best thing with our 4 weeks in CA. [...]

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bayarea, ca
Jan 1, 2010

Bring an extra 30 bucks per night!

Hotel is in a excellent location in SF. However there is limited parking so you must show up early. And there is this unmentioned $30.00 per day for parking. I would not have minded the additional charge but I don't like it being sprung on me upon check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peach & Honey
Business
Thailand
Jun 12, 2011

Walk in may be better than reservation

Untrained staffs didn't trusted guests who made a reservation via [...] although we showed the printed confirmation so we had to hang around waiting for the Manager more than one hour in addition to be asked to deposit $50 in cash after checking in. Outside the Opal look common contrary to luxurious lobby and room. Only bread provided for free breakfast with coffee, tea, chocolate & fruits juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoover
Business
New York City, New York, Vereinigte Staaten
Sep 6, 2011

Great location, very nice and clean room, but no extras

Pros: - great location - very nice and clean room - polite and helpful staff Cons: - no Extras: no WIFI ($15/day), breakfast buffet $26 - Lobby seems to be a hangout for young hotel guests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium (Geary St) - Great vegetarian restaurant

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
falconet
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Fun times in San Fran

Breakfast could be better. Employees seem rushed and a bit stressed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TANO
Business
Tucson, Arizona, EEUU
Oct 5, 2011

great location

an old hotel well located good service, we had a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

square market 6 blocks from the hotel

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The SmallTime Traveller
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great time

Overall rating 3. Location great (SF is only 7x7 miles), Staff awesome!! Our original room had just been cleansed and it had a bleach smell to it. I called the front desk asked if we can simply change rooms, not only did theyaccomadate us immediately they gave us an upgrade. They also went out of their way to help find us Alcatraz tickets (tickets were sold out the whole weekend). It was a great stay...no complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi....parking is horrible everywhere. Parking garages are min $25 (no matter how long the stay)

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
une voyageuse
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Oct 17, 2011

convenient location

In San Francisco to take care of some business. We found the staff helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and quiet enough for downtown San Francisco. It is conveniently located. WiFi in the room requires cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an excellent restaurant not too far, and near bus route even, but you can walk too or catch a cheap cab: Absinthe.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tesoro
Business
Northern California
Oct 17, 2011

Good weekend

I was there to run the NWM and only spent one night there. It was noisy, but everywhere in S.F is noisy. It was a warm day and the room did not have air, but it was not a big deal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, but it is an old hotel and there were some things wrong like carpet was all stained, the toilet some times did not work. I think I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I think having luch at Mel's Dinner is a must. The prices are great and the food was great.

Back to menu Return to top