$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romas
Family
Singapore
Jan 2, 2013

Eventful Family Holiday

The hotel provides complimentary breakfast of continental bakery, something which is not common for tourist hotels in America I would say. Hotel location is within walking distance to downtown Union Square and City Hall, which is very convenient for shopping and typical tourist leisure walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Los Angeles
Oct 28, 2010

A great value

I was pleasantly surprised - The lobby is exceptional and the facility for the price was an exceptional value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fort Collins CO
Oct 25, 2010

Good location and a good value

The Opal is an older hotel near the Japantown area that has been updated and offers good service. The room and bathroom were clean with a very comfortable king size bed. The continental breakfast which came with the price of the room offered a limited but tasteful selection, certainly adequate. The area is relatively safe, my wife and I walked to the Union Square park in the downtown area, about 10 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 25, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This hotel had a great centralized location. It was easy to get around to all the sites taking the MUNI. The hotel was clean and had a nice cozy at home feel. The hotel staff was friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy to get around quickly using the MUNI. There are several bus stops right outside the hotel and a cable car is a short walk away.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Oct 18, 2010

Central, clean, comfy, and cheap

I was blown away by the price -- for being downtown SF and so well up-kept. The rooms are right-sized, clean, and the staff very real and relatively friendly. ;) We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Las Vegas, NV
Oct 12, 2010

Great place, great price.

Overall excellent. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Only detraction was no curb side service and stairs to climb with suitcase. Taxi arrangements could be more clear. Otherwise super place for a really reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's just across the street. Great deli type food. Old, recognized establishment.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 7, 2010

opal hotel

courteous and helpful--inside door to Mel's Diner so that you could dine as desired--breakfast wasn't too great (no protein) but otherwise ok--great location next to movie theater and buses that take you anywhere--overall excellent experience for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great transportation system that takes you anywhere for $2. Great city for anything. Excellent convention at Moscone Center.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Sep 29, 2010

Opal Hotel San Francisco

This was a one night stopover in San Fran on our way to Hawaii for our Honeymoon. We thought we would take a day to tour the city. Well for a random Tuesday in September it was IMPOSSIBLE to find a room (there was a conference going on). I booked a 3 star by the hotel and they called me a couple nights before saying they over booked and could only offer me a 2 star roach motel so I went [...] and LUCKILY found a room here. Granted I spent 2x as much as I originally did with the 3 star by the airport... but it turned out being the best thing for us to stay IN the city to bounce around a bit on our short layover.The room was small and not super clean or up to date but FINE for one night and a place to stay. I was kind of skeeved by the bedding being old/not the cleanest. The hotel definitely has charm - I almost felt like I was staying in Europe, slightly because of the old feel. The staff was relatively friendly, I've seen many reviews they were rude but most were cordial to us. When we checked in our carpet was SOAKING wet so I called down to reception. They said they clean it for their guests, which sounded weird. I figured someone spilled something and they HAD to do it, but again we were lucky to get a room so I let a lot of things slide here. But they were nice and offered to send up a fan, etc.The location is pretty convenient. About 30-40$ to the airport and pretty short cab rides to the piers. The best thing by far about our stay was the free continental breakfast. It was simple, but the coffee, OJ and whole wheat toast were super good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Kris
Couples
Central Valley, Ca
Aug 28, 2010

Cheap and it Shows

My boyfriend and I went to the city for the day and last minute decided to stay the night. The opal seemed cheap and convienant, never again will I go for cheap. This hotel was disgusting, we didn't even end up staying the night, we counted our losess and check out early and drove home in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kassanova
Couples
Los Angeles
Aug 24, 2010

Great Location, Friendly staff

It's a great Hotel for the price you are paying. Very friendly and helpful staff. Make sure you ask [...] at the front desk places you want to go, site seeing or Resturants. She is very nice. Hotel is located at the heart of the town, not too quiet and not too noisy, close to every thing. There was only one problem with the location, it's close to a district called Tenderloin area. Trust me, you don't want to walk or be any where close around that area at night, especially, if you are with a family.But, then again, most places in SF has the homeless and drug problem issues just like any other major Metropolitan cities. There is a small area where the Hotel serves Breakfast...it's just too small for all that people. They ought to do something about that.Overall, great experience. Oh yeh, I almost forgot, they only charge $25 per night for car parking, which is one of the cheapest in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You want to eat good food? try North Beach area (Little Italy).

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Aug 15, 2010

The Good and the Bad

This hotel was not very nice at all and not in a great neighborhood. The rooms were small but the were clean. Overall had a very old run down feel. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top